We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, albeit a bit old”
Review of Hotel Steffani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Steffani
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location, right bang in the middle of St Moritz (main town, not the Bad) where the main roundabout is as you come up from the Palace Gallery. The hotel was comfortable but very outdated. The furnishings and interior were not old nor dusty nor did they convey any sense that they were neglected. The hotel was very well maintained and kept, clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.

We are more aware of the Stübli bar in the hotel and the restaurants than the hotel rooms, but I cannot complain about the amenities at all. They could refurbish the bathrooms a bit so it's less WWII style and more modern though. I had stayed in a single room as well as a deluxe one before and even in the single room, it was very spacious.
Unfortunately, the only bad thing is just it's not modernised and the rooms, the bathrooms, are just not modern.
But the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imajesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Steffani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 226 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Steffani is everything one could want in a hotel. As it is run by a family the service is much more personal than the larger hotels in St. Moritz and this filters down across all of the wonderful staff who work there. The rooms are kept spotless and the hotel is very comfortable, a highlight being the new spa facilities. The hotel has a number of bars and restaurants ensuring that the atmosphere is always vibrant. I really can't recommend this place enough!

I should say that I've been staying at the hotel every year for the last 15 years, and as such have become friends with many of the people there.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benbrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Steffani isn't one of those St Moritz hotels that look like a wedding cake from the outside - rather, it is a very comfortable, well managed 4+ Star hotel in the best Swiss tradition, smack bang in the middle of town. The rooms are well appointed and the restaurant one of the best in town. The staff truly do whatever they can to make an enjoyable stay. All in all you can't ask for more

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been at Hotel Stefani in January. The hotel has a very convenient and central position. I must admit that both inside and outside the hotel is a bit outdated and old-fashioned, and it needs more modernity. The standard of the hotel is still very high. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The spa and pool are very nice.
There are also restaurants, very good, but the prices are expensive.
I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy relaxation in a privileged position.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel rooms have just been refurbished to a high standard in a typical ski resort style...pale wood. Very attractive. Plenty of room to move too with a separate shower room and bath in another area. Room was bright with big doors that opened up onto a pretty balcony.
Service is very good and for breakfast there was a very good selection. You won't be disappointed in the hotel although food wasn't cheap in the restaurant. Its perfectly positioned in the centre of town ( without the noise) so its easy to eat out.

Room Tip: If you choose a high room at the front of the hotel you will see the lake.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Flyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good place right in the heart of St. Moritz, so no need for car. Free transfer to the train station is a great bonus. Good choice for breakfast. Excellent level of service that puts to shame some of the big name hotels in St. Moritz. Definitely can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Hotel Steffani cannot be faulted. We stayed for only one night but would have loved to have stayed longer because it was so good. The hotel was easy to find and was only a short walk from the train station. At check in they said they would have happily collected us if we wanted, and the next day they drove us to the train station. We had to leave before breakfast time so the girl at reception (Katrina) arranged two packed lunches for us, which were very generous and much appreciated.

The room was very clean and had a great view. Every aspect of the accommodation was excellent. We highly reccommend the Hotel Steffani to anyone staying in St. Moritz.

Many thanks to all at the hotel for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Therese_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Steffani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steffani

Address: Sonnenplatz 1, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#12 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: $124 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Steffani 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1869, The Steffani is a traditional, family-owned and run boutique hotel located in the heart of St. Moritz. The Märky family runs The Steffani in the 4th generation and welcomes you in their home 365 days a year. The hotel features a spa centre including a swimming pool, as well as three bars and three fine restaurants, such as the famous "Lapin Bleu", which is St.Moritz first and oldest Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Steffani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Moritz
Steffani Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing