We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bypass this #1 ranking!”
Review of Soldanella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soldanella
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bypass this #1 ranking!”
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Though tripadvisor.com has been a wonderful tool for us in travelling, I must say that this is the first time that I disagree with its #1 choice. In fairness, I do not know about any of the other hotels in St. Moritz but we were rather disappointed.

Prior to arrival, I had a few difficulties in email miscommunications, Then, we pre-paid the large sum to be met at the train station but had to wait, and finally call, before we were picked up (by someone who did not understand a word of English - unusual in a resort village). Other than in our room, the hotel was old and dark (looking as though it has long since past it's days of probable elegance) and the personnel were uninterested. We arrived on a Sunday and I think they were less than 10% occupied - which may be why no one seemed to care if we were there or not. (I should mention the worn and tattered life-sized stuffed polar bear in the reception area which seemed a bit more welcoming...!)

On the positive side, we had a room overlooking the lake with a lovely view, the room was clean and bright, and the breakfast was decent. (However, even the breakfast staff was disappointingly unfriendly.)

I don't intend to be unkind. I value the advice of tripadvisor travellers and want to share our experiences with those in the planning stages of their vacation. (My other reviews have been much more complimentary...even of those facilites which were much less expensive.)

I would recommend bypassing this hotel's #1 ranking if you care about service and atmosphere. But, If you just want a clean room - and even one with a very nice view, this hotel is adaquate and acceptable.

  • Liked — The view of the lake from our room
  • Disliked — The uninterested, unfriendly personnel. (P.S. Their computer was inoperable when we were there in Aug. 07.)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Their_Grandmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    77
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
88
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

If a room with a view is important to you, I don't think you can do better than the Soldanella, especially if you score a SE facing corner room. The town, the lake and the surrounding mountains are unobstructed from these rooms, and town is a short walk from the hotel. But that's pretty much where it ends. St. Moritz is expensive and trying to regain its former status as an exclusive resort, and the Soldanella may still be a bargain from a price point of view if one's expectations are not too high, but its days of glory, save a major restoration, are over. I'm a little puzzled by some of the glowing reviews I have seen here that led me to book this room. Of the five places I've stayed in St. Moritz over the years, except for the view, this was the least impressive.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BriggsHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

This was our favorite hotel of a two week trip. We had a room overlooking the lake. The window opened up, and I took several pictures out the window of the gorgeous view. Even though we were only staying one night, the front desk gave us plenty of information on what to do in the area. We did not particularly enjoy dinner at the restaurant downstairs although the breakfast (included) was decent.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSM2858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent,England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

I can't really add much to the other descriptions of this hotel.
It was comfortable,had lots of character,service was good and the views amazing.We only went to St Moritz to take The Glacier Express to Zermatt (That was great too) but I would love to stay at Soldanella again.

  • Liked — Everything was great
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2006

This hotel was fantastic. We had a double room overlooking the lake which gave us a phenomenal view. The room was clean with comfortable, warm, cozy beds and I got a very good night's sleep there.

Breakfast was great with assorted meats, cheeses, cereals and pastries. The waiter was wearing a tuxedo.

There is a bar and restaraunt in house but I did not utilize these services except for the breakfast buffet.

The desk clerk was helpful in finding a restaurant in our price range and gave good directions to a nearby grocery store.

This hotel is within reasonable walking distance from the train station.

If you stay here you will be very happy.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewName123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We stayed here in mid-September, followinfg a week in Paris, a week on a barge in the Burgundy area, and a few days in Murren, Switzerland. The Hotel Soldanella proved a great choice. It was a short cab ride from the St Moritz train station. It is a relatively short walk to the main upper-end shopping area, to the lakeside, to restaurants, and to other sights in St Moritz. The rooms ourselves and our friends enjoyed were very very nice...lake side; great beds; nice sitting areas by the large windows looking down on the lake; seperate large bathrooms, and double sinks; in-room mini-fridge. The hotel is well maintained, while retaining its 102 year old charm. The restaurant served a quality dinner. The breakfasts were at no extra charge, and offered quality cheeses, breads and rolls, jams, cerials, juices and coffee. The bar containing much Cresta memorabilia was comfortable and warm. Most all of the staff were very, very good, gracious and helpful. The only exception was the young lady at the front desk during the evenings. She seemed distracted and too busy worrying about her looks. All in all....a great place to stay in St Moritz!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoMembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

Our trip to St. Moritz this past July was obviously not to try out the Ski Lifts or to sip Hot Cocoa. Rather, we wanted to visit a part of Switzerland that we were told would be radically different from the better known western part.

As so called "Baby Boomers" who spent much of our childhood summers in the mountains north of New York City among wooden buildings with wide front porches over looking pristine lakes and streams, St. Moritz in the summer was like a "time warp", bringing us back to those quieter days.

Our stay at the Hotel Soldanella helped make our brief visit all the more pleasant. This quaint 100+ year old Hotel with a "period" decor to match its age, afforded us all the delights that St. Moritz itself personified...tranquility, beauty, friendliness.
Our room alone was something to "write home about". Ultra comfortable bed, plenty of space and a unique layout that cannot be written about but should be experienced...but only if one gets a room whose number ends in "6".

Their dining room served a traditional breakfast but we also opted for the very good , reasonably priced Prix Fix Dinner served by Antonio, the waiter who was extremely courteous.

We were truly "sold" on this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncleirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soldanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldanella

Property: Soldanella
Address: Via Somplaz 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#14 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Soldanella 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Soldanella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soldanella St Moritz
Soldanella Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing