We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Soldanella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soldanella
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Soldanella is a lovely family run hotel, which operates in an entirely different way from most St Moritz hotels: it is small, charming and staffed by helpful and friendly staff. You might be justified to criticise the staff in some other St Moritz hotels for being too proud or the hotels themselves for being too swanky.
At the Soldanella what you see is what you get: low key, relaxed, informal, welcoming.

Room Tip: Second or third floor overlooking the lake, corner room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grantski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 195 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We arrived from Zurich by train, and the hotel sent their van to pick us up - nice touch as it is quite an uphill walk. The hotel is on the edge of town, but has a nice view from its large deck of the (frozen) lake. The staff are all fantastic. I had a small double room (44) as I was on my own (although visiting with friends to try the Cresta Run). Fairly comfy bed, desk, minibar, wardrobe with safe. Small TV and tiny shower room. The shower itself was amazing (one of only two in the hotel I was told). As a previous reporter says - multi shower heads, LCD screen with temperature and so on. Really fantastic and worth booking this room for this alone. However the room was far too hot and I left the window open for the duration of my three day stay. The breakfast room is spacious and the food spread was yummy. The centre of town is a 5 minute walk on level ground, with the Cresta Run a further 5 minutes up the hill. In the evening, the Soldanella's bar comes alive with that days Cresta Run activities being shown on the TV. The place is packed and the atmosphere is wonderful, whether you've been tobogganing or not. Price was fair. If I could, I'd give this 3.5 score as it is slightly better than 'average' but not quite 'very good'!!

Room Tip: 44 has a great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a place you can relax and enjoy a fantastic view of Lake St. Moritz. You can walk to the local Co-Op, and enjoy good shopping at reasonable prices. From this hotel, you can walk to all the sights of downtown St. Moritz. Their morning buffet's are very good and the management is very supportive of guests and friendly.

You may enjoy the personable lounge at night and this hotel has a lot of "Regulars", who frequent this fine place a lot. The rooms are comfortable and peaceful, the prices are not as high as many of the famous places in town. You can park free in a nearby parking lot and enjoy many interesting places close by!

Room Tip: Book in advance, if going around Christmas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jerrycoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This place is a bit dated decor wise in the lobby and public areas, but it had updates where it counted in the guest room. Mine had an updated bathroom with an awesome shower with an LCD screen control and 7 shower heads; 6 along the sides and 1 large one on the ceiling. It was nice to take a long, hot shower after a day of snowboarding.

The included breakfast was good and was standard European buffet breakfast. The concierge was friendly enough and helpful when I needed them.

Overall I had a nice time and would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intl-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Soldanella is a real gem in St Moritz , with old world furnishings, lovely breakies and dinners and open to assist us ( with vouchers for the trip to Piz Nair). Only drawbacks were the expense of some items (Like Laundry) and the request to pay for intenret/ wifi which i would have thought to be part of the package. A pleasant 3 day stay for the Bernina Express albeit a little costly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed 2 nights B&B rooms very clean and beds very comfortable. Lovely views of the lake and St. Moritz from the hotel. Staff helpful and friendly. Food was good but the drinks were expensive - 2 Vodkas & coke 30 francs. Lots of memorabilia. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA53DJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent one night here in September 2011. Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view of the lake. We ate in the dining room and there are huge windows to enjoy the view. It is worth wandering around the hotel to see the antiques and decorations. Very charming!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationFunintheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.9 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Reine Victoria
Hotel Reine Victoria
#21 of 33 in St. Moritz
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soldanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldanella

Address: Via Somplaz 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#13 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: $180 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soldanella 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Soldanella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soldanella St Moritz
Soldanella Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing