We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay here made St. Moritz even more wonderful”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
12/4/2011
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Our stay here made St. Moritz even more wonderful”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We found everything here that we could ever want. The location, lake view, spaciousness and cleanliness of our suite, daily complimentary helpings from the minibar, beautiful view and array of food at breakfast, peace and quiet...who could ask for more? We were always glad to see Sarah at the front desk, always happy to give us patient and helpful advice for the day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    88
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
102
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is set very centrally and is of a decent standard Rooms are small and little dated but this is partially compensated for by central setting and good mix of bars and entertainment in house Restaurant is above average but we were here on a cycle trip at a time when the town itself was void of any activity and so it's hard to measure the quality of food and general atmosphere against a backdrop of skeletal staff and inactivity with the hotel less than 30% occupied Worth considering for a winter break bit if going in summer it's almost the only option available at this time of year as pretty much everything else was shut Even the nightlife was lively in the bar downstairs considering how few people were around I'd imagine it could be quite fun at apres ski time in the heart of the inter season Staff were fine if uninspiring

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AntRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at St Moritz by the Glacier Express and as per our request there was a Hotel Car waiting to pick us up from the train station.
A very smooth check-in. The hotel actually gives you that old world feeling.
Rooms are quite spacious and clean and comfortable. Bathrooms very neat with a Bath Tub.
They have a complimentary Mini Bar with Mineral & Sparkling Water, Soft Drinks, Beer & Chocolates which are replenished daily.

The view from the Room balcony is amazing as we were in the 4th floor. Staff very friendly.
Breakfast is very good with Eggs made to order. I think I had one if the Best Omelettes here.
A Perfect place to be in when you visit St Moritz.
Our only regret with St Moritz is that since it is the Off Season now, the town more or less resembled a ghost town and we had a feel as if we are the only people in town since all the shops, cafés and other establishments are totally closed at this time except one here an there.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goyalanup2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

St. Mortiz is an expensive place to visit, but the ski is great and the area gets a lot of sunshine, so it's worth checking for hotel deals. I got such a deal on a single room at Schweizerhof for an extended weekend (Saturday-Tuesday) and I wasn't disappointed.

I was picked up at the train station along with my gear which was stored for the in the ski room. My sunny single room was as big as many double rooms in large European cities (say, Paris...) and had plenty of storage space. The design may not have been the most modern, but everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was Swiss chocolate as a welcome gift. I also appreciated the carafe with the little card indicating that the local water tastes very good, there is really no reason to drink bottled water in St. Moritz. The bathroom was small and, again, perhaps not very modern (fabric shower curtain in 2014?), but it was clean and the shower offered good water pressure, a must after a day on the slopes.

The excellent breakfast buffet is served in the main restaurant which has a grand, classical air to it. I only had dinner there on the second night, and I regret not having taken the half-board for the entire stay as the food was excellent and the price was good value compared to what can be found elsewhere in St. Moritz. Next time, I'll know better! There is also a nice bar by the dining room where you can enjoy a prosecco before dinner. There is at least one other bar and another restaurant, but I haven't tried them. There is also a souvenir shop. Of all the wellness facilities I only used the massage service, which I can recommend to soothe sore muscles after an active day.

You get your own locker in the ski room which is in the basement. On downside of the hotel is that you're not directly by the lifts; the funicular is not that far, but it's an uphill walk and with ski boots on and skis on your shoulder it's not that comfy. I wouldn't do it with my 5-year old. I couldn't see any racks to lock my skis by the lifts like in Zermatt, so I had to carry them back and forth every day.

Everyone at the hotel was courteous and friendly, and I felt welcome in this beautiful setting even when I came back all sweaty from my day outside. Given that far from all the guests are there for skiing, this is actually significant, as a solo traveller I could easily have felt out of place but thanks to the staff I didn't.

Overall an excellent stay, and I will gladly stay again at this hotel if I go back to St. Moritz, the only exception being if I was to travel to ski with the little one, because of the distance from the lifts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Perfect location for end-of-season ski trip. Front desk staff was very helpful. Rooms were well appointed and we enjoyed sitting on our second floor balcony enjoying the view of the lake. Our only criticism is that the double bed was not very comfortable and one of us would always end up in the gap between the two mattresses pushed together to form a double/queen bed.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAmericatoEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

One word to describe Schweizerhof hotel SUPERB,We stayed Easter weekend before boarding the Glaizer Express,The staff were friendly and polite and the rooms and food excellent,breakfeast on Easter Sunday was magical in the panoramic dinning room over looking lake St Mortiz and snow capped mountains,it was like being in a snow globe,we had presents of Easter eggs on our table What a wonderful hote right in the heart of St Mortiz,they also provide a free shuttle to and from the station

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

It is lovely, friendly and sophisticate place. We stayed in the junior suite - bright, roomy with big windows and beautiful view on the lake and mountains. Bed is comfy and big, bathroom comfortable and clean, equipped with bathrobes and even a scale. There is complimentary mini bar (water, beer, soft drinks) and espresso machine (nespresso) as well as tea making facilities. Good size wardrobe. Breakfast was delicious with eggs cook to order and nice selection of cold cuts. Dinners very tasty and not repetitive, good wines. There is a smoking room next to the bar - good option for smokers. All staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. There is also good restaurant for lunch on-site and surprising roof terrace with perfect view. Very, very good hotel owned by a family - not a chain hotel and you can feel it.
We recommend this place and will be back.

Room Tip: Room 509 is very good and has great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zawsze-w-drodze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Bagn, Via dal 54 | Dorf, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hotel Schweizerhof" is located at the very heart of St. Moritz. Open all year, with a superior ranking and it is family-owned. Our guests are seeking relaxation, they are nature and golf lovers, like to bike and hike as well as business travelers.

Our 82 rooms and junior suites are modern, bright and friendly on 5 floors with a fantastic view. The seminar and banquet rooms offer contemporary comfort and feature the latest technology and equipment. Our specialty restaurant, "Acla" and the garden terrace, "Acla Giardino" are the place to go for gourmets and lovers of the classic Wiener Schnitzel. Good entertainment and nightlife are guaranteed at our very popular bars with live music. And our mountain cabin Clavadatsch provides you with a delightful view and local dishes during the day in winter and can be turned into the party location for you all year round. All our rooms are non smoking rooms. Smokers are welcome at the smoking room "Library", the "Piano Bar", the "Stübli" and in winter at the "Muli Bar" as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel St. Moritz
Schweizerhof St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing