We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our tour group back in May 2013. The hotel is a little dated, especially the washroom. You had to use an actual key to open the door. Room was clean and beds were somewhat comfortAble. The Internet reception was horrible. Good selection at breakfast. All the stores were closed when we were in St. Moritz so the only highlight of our stay was the dinner in the hotel. Overall we had a comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ttc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear ttc_8

Thank you very much for your comment about your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry for your feeling about the standart of our hotel. Every year we spend time and money in renovation of our proprety. To have an actual key to open the door of the rooms was decided two years ago. We had the idea to give the guests the real feeling of a key in a traditional hotel.

Thank you very much for your compliment about the food and the breakfast. Unfortunatly not all of the shop's in St. Moritz have the idea of a public service an be open the hole year. We are sorry for this.

Best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    85
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
97
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
618 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Firstly, the checking in procedure was bizarre! We were travelling on a group tour and the hotel requested that we stay on the coach until our Tour Leader had collected cards from Reception which showed our room number - they didn't want us to come in and crowd the Reception area. We were handed our cards, then promptly all trooped into Reception to collect our keys anyway.

Our room was small and the bathroom very cosy. However, the room was very clean and the bed comfortable and fortunately an opening window, which provided relief from the over heated room.

We decided on a drink in the bar prior to dinner - what a joke! The barman was so slow, it was painful to watch him. He didn't seem to know where anything was kept and kept opening and closing doors. My husband asked for a beer and a red wine, after some searching, he replied "I don't know where the red wine is"!?

Fortunately, once in the dining room, Harold, who was very friendly and helpful, managed to find some red wine. Dinner was an experience - I've never been served soup in a teacup (complete with saucer) before. Serves were small and very ordinary.

Things didn't improve at breakfast. The food area is poorly laid out and "traffic jams" everywhere. There was a station for supposedly freshly cooked omelettes, etc., I say supposedly, as although all the ingredients were there prepared to go, the cook wasn't! He didn't turn up until an hour after breakfast started. I understand that things can get a bit chaotic when catering to groups, but hey it wasn't like we were not expected. All in all, a disappointing experience, I honestly can't see how this is a four star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Valery037

Thank you very much, that you took the time to write down your expressions about your stay at the hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. We feel very sorry about the service you got during your St. moritz visit.

Your never get a second chance to make a first impression. Over all we did not take the chance to give you and the other member of your group a good feeling for your stay at the Schweizerhof. This is not an excuse, this is just a passed chance of all of us!

We defently can do it better. If not for you, may we lernd for the future and for other guest.
Thank you for understanding and best regards
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed as part of a tour group for one night being a single traveler my room was very small, the sound for the TV was via a speaker in the bathroom.
On departure my bill showed I had used the water in the mini bar, which was strange as I did not use the mini bar, and as I pointed out to reception it would be impossible for them to know as my check out time was before house keeping had been to the room & I was only there one night.
Other than the water issue, staff were very helpful & friendly.

Worth 3 stars

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-man53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear T-Man 53
Thank you very much for your comments about your journey to St. Moritz. We are very sorry, that you did not feel so well at the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. it's allways not in our hand, when guest arriving booked by a travel agency, what kind of room they booked for you. But we try to take more care about this in future. The technial problem with your TV we would like to check in all our single rooms. We are sorry about the confiuson of the water from the minibar.

Overall we would say, that we can do it better - may we get a second chance?

Best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here, and the view from the terrace was great. Can't upload pictures now, and words won't do justice to the view.

They serve a great breakfast, and the staff is helpful and friendly. The restaurant food is ok, but do explore other places in the vicinity.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and I think the price was fair for all of the above. Will be our first choice when we visit Sankt Moritz again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koribane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Koribane

Thank you very much for your compliments. It's good to know that you enyojed your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. The view over St. Moritz and the lake is really beautyful. Do you know that just one week before the lake was just closed by thik ice?
Thank you again and best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
284 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Courteous and helpful Staff offer suggestions at every step. Arrange pick up and drop to the station.
This old style hotel is located about a kilometer from the train station, all uphill. Very near the upscale shopping area pedestrian zone.
Rooms and bathrooms are large and airy. Breakfast is fantastic - nice spread with tables overlooking the mountains. Spa with sauna, steam etc.
Their speciality restaraunt has a cheery dinner ambiance, wide choice and good service but the fare is unfortunately very mediocre.
Overall, we liked this hotel very much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Jairaj H
Thank your very much for your comment you made about the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. We are very happy that you liked your stay at our Hotel. Great that you liked our new renovated dining room and the breakfast buffet. Hope you come back one day.
Best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer
Managers
with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel furian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A perfect place for your ski holidays in St. Moritz - located in the center with short distances to all Highlights. Helpful staff and fantastic cuisine and a nice spa area. Amazing atmosphere in and around the HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ! We will be back next winter !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasserskihotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sirs
Thank you very much for your comment about the Hotel Schweizerhof and his service. We are very glad, that you joined your holiday at our Hotel.
Best regrads
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with a friend to go skiing for the weekend and it was an excellent base. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the funicular and located very centrally with easy access to bars, restaurants and the shops around. The hotel itself is immaculate; the finish on everything is absolutely perfect which make it a lovely place to stay. The hotel itself has several bars, one in the lobby and several below to cater for all sorts of tastes from the piano bar to the chill out bar to the traditional pub type all of which were fun (piano bar does an excellent whiskey sour). We had two single rooms in the hotel and they were very comfortable. They were n't massive but big enough and well furnished. Our rooms looked out on the street but I suspect the rooms on the other side over looking the lake have a fantastic view. There is a sun terrace and sauna on the top floor.
The breakfast is truly excellent with a huge spread of things to choose from, from omelets, smoked fish, excellent cheeses - it's too long to list here.
Ski storage is in locker (heated) in the basement which were allocated per room and lockable.
The service in the hotel was excellent and questions and issues addressed quickly and in a friendly manner.
Would I stay here again: definitely.

Room Tip: One over looking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Disestablishman
Thank you very much for your vote for the Hotel Schweizerhof. Our idea is to make the clients an unforgetable holiday. We think you had it.
We know that you booked one of our smallest room due to a good occupancy, maybe next time you have the possiblity to test one of our lake view rooms. Great, that you enyod the breakfast, last November (2012) we made a full renovation of the over 100 year old dining room.
Thank you again for your commet
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Bagn, Via dal 54 | Dorf, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hotel Schweizerhof" is located at the very heart of St. Moritz. Open all year, with a superior ranking and it is family-owned. Our guests are seeking relaxation, they are nature and golf lovers, like to bike and hike as well as business travelers.

Our 82 rooms and junior suites are modern, bright and friendly on 5 floors with a fantastic view. The seminar and banquet rooms offer contemporary comfort and feature the latest technology and equipment. Our specialty restaurant, "Acla" and the garden terrace, "Acla Giardino" are the place to go for gourmets and lovers of the classic Wiener Schnitzel. Good entertainment and nightlife are guaranteed at our very popular bars with live music. And our mountain cabin Clavadatsch provides you with a delightful view and local dishes during the day in winter and can be turned into the party location for you all year round. All our rooms are non smoking rooms. Smokers are welcome at the smoking room "Library", the "Piano Bar", the "Stübli" and in winter at the "Muli Bar" as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel St. Moritz
Schweizerhof St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing