We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view from the terrace!”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view from the terrace!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here, and the view from the terrace was great. Can't upload pictures now, and words won't do justice to the view.

They serve a great breakfast, and the staff is helpful and friendly. The restaurant food is ok, but do explore other places in the vicinity.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and I think the price was fair for all of the above. Will be our first choice when we visit Sankt Moritz again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koribane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Koribane

Thank you very much for your compliments. It's good to know that you enyojed your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. The view over St. Moritz and the lake is really beautyful. Do you know that just one week before the lake was just closed by thik ice?
Thank you again and best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    85
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
97
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
284 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Courteous and helpful Staff offer suggestions at every step. Arrange pick up and drop to the station.
This old style hotel is located about a kilometer from the train station, all uphill. Very near the upscale shopping area pedestrian zone.
Rooms and bathrooms are large and airy. Breakfast is fantastic - nice spread with tables overlooking the mountains. Spa with sauna, steam etc.
Their speciality restaraunt has a cheery dinner ambiance, wide choice and good service but the fare is unfortunately very mediocre.
Overall, we liked this hotel very much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jairaj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Jairaj H
Thank your very much for your comment you made about the Hotel Schweizerhof St. Moritz. We are very happy that you liked your stay at our Hotel. Great that you liked our new renovated dining room and the breakfast buffet. Hope you come back one day.
Best regards from St. Moritz
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer
Managers
with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel furian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A perfect place for your ski holidays in St. Moritz - located in the center with short distances to all Highlights. Helpful staff and fantastic cuisine and a nice spa area. Amazing atmosphere in and around the HOTEL SCHWEIZERHOF ! We will be back next winter !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasserskihotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sirs
Thank you very much for your comment about the Hotel Schweizerhof and his service. We are very glad, that you joined your holiday at our Hotel.
Best regrads
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with a friend to go skiing for the weekend and it was an excellent base. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the funicular and located very centrally with easy access to bars, restaurants and the shops around. The hotel itself is immaculate; the finish on everything is absolutely perfect which make it a lovely place to stay. The hotel itself has several bars, one in the lobby and several below to cater for all sorts of tastes from the piano bar to the chill out bar to the traditional pub type all of which were fun (piano bar does an excellent whiskey sour). We had two single rooms in the hotel and they were very comfortable. They were n't massive but big enough and well furnished. Our rooms looked out on the street but I suspect the rooms on the other side over looking the lake have a fantastic view. There is a sun terrace and sauna on the top floor.
The breakfast is truly excellent with a huge spread of things to choose from, from omelets, smoked fish, excellent cheeses - it's too long to list here.
Ski storage is in locker (heated) in the basement which were allocated per room and lockable.
The service in the hotel was excellent and questions and issues addressed quickly and in a friendly manner.
Would I stay here again: definitely.

Room Tip: One over looking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Schweizerhof, Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Disestablishman
Thank you very much for your vote for the Hotel Schweizerhof. Our idea is to make the clients an unforgetable holiday. We think you had it.
We know that you booked one of our smallest room due to a good occupancy, maybe next time you have the possiblity to test one of our lake view rooms. Great, that you enyod the breakfast, last November (2012) we made a full renovation of the over 100 year old dining room.
Thank you again for your commet
Yvonne Urban and Martin Scherer with the entire Schweizerhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Schweizerhof is a beautiful hotel. Its facade mixes alpine and modern style of construction. It is Conveniently located on Via dal Bagn, one of the many circles this village has in place. The Hotel gives you an amazing atmosphere, and great room views. The staff was young and motivated, but sometimes felt tired. The Hotel has a nice restaurant and a good bar. St. Tropez is a jolly little town. This is a great hotel, which happens to be surrounded by even greater hotels.
Overall, the experience is good, with a great building, in a great place, with great people serving.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I visited St. Moritz last weekend and we chose Schweizerhof for our stay. Usually, I start with the pros but this time I will start with what we did not like.

1) The bed mattress was awful. When we woke up on Sunday morning, our back was in pain. Both of us. Especially my wife has never experienced any kind of back pain/sensitivity in her life; but, it happened there for the first time. The pillow is also not good. I tried the rectangular smaller pillow that existed in the wardrobe and it was better. Stil, for a 470-CHF room this quality is not acceptable. I do not know if this is the occasion in all the rooms of the hotel. Maybe not. But, this is what we encountered in room 402.
2) Our train to Zurich was departing on 12:03 on Sunday. We left the hotel at 11:00 (the check-out time) and we asked for a lift in the train station at 11:40. The hotel staff was polite and said it is not a problem. Therefore, we went in the city for a short walk. At 11:40 we were back and we had the lift to the train station. After 5 minutes, while we were in the train, the driver (who took us at the station) entered the train searching for us. Totally surprised my wife and I, asked what happened. He said that the key of our room was missing and wondered whether we had taken it by mistake. Then, his phone rang and it was the reception asking if he had found the key. In my opinion, this behavior is not professional (I refer to the reception staff and of course not to the driver who was doing what he was told to): At 11:00 we checked-out and paId for the room. We left the key in the reception and we went for a walk. We were back after 40 minutes. If the key was missing, why didn't they spot it during this 40-minute period, and why didn't they tell us when we came back at 11:40 in order to be transferred to the station? And how nice is it to be in a train wagon, full of people and have someone asking you if you have something that belongs to them (with everybody else in the train looking)? This overall behavior is totally unacceptable.
3) On Sunday morning around 10:30, cleaning staff entered our room without knocking the door. They saw us inside, apologized and left. I think this is also unacceptable.

Pros:
1) The breakfast. We really enjoyed the fresh ham and cheese, as well as the jams. The bread was fresh and hot and overall we enjoyed it.
2) The view. I cannot stress how beautiful the landscape is and how amazing the view is. Our room had such a fantastic view! We went out in the balcony and took pictures, some of them look like postcards! Both of us will never forget one moment: When we went for sleep in the night, we put the curtain aside. Snow was allover the mountains and its white color gave a brightness in the dark. At the same time, we could see the lake and the reflections of the tree's mountains onto the lake's surface. Imagine that we could see all this even we were laying down. It is actually the first time that we had such a view from a hotel room. We were astonished from this combination of beauty and for sure, we will never forget that moment in our lives.

In all, the room is expensive, but I would definetely come back and stay there again. The landscape's beauty and the view deserve it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntsaousis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We have the lake view room and oh what a view !! Buffet breakfast was amazing. Can't forget their own muesli so delicious! Very clean and excellent service. They provide pickups from the train station and also provided complimentary travel cards which was useful to go see the mountains. We didn't eat at the hotel but judging by their breakfast spread, am sure it would have been excellent. They put out their daily dinner menu by the lifts. We had a junior suite with nespresso machines. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazyboho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Bagn, Via dal 54 | Dorf, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hotel Schweizerhof" is located at the very heart of St. Moritz. Open all year, with a superior ranking and it is family-owned. Our guests are seeking relaxation, they are nature and golf lovers, like to bike and hike as well as business travelers.

Our 82 rooms and junior suites are modern, bright and friendly on 5 floors with a fantastic view. The seminar and banquet rooms offer contemporary comfort and feature the latest technology and equipment. Our specialty restaurant, "Acla" and the garden terrace, "Acla Giardino" are the place to go for gourmets and lovers of the classic Wiener Schnitzel. Good entertainment and nightlife are guaranteed at our very popular bars with live music. And our mountain cabin Clavadatsch provides you with a delightful view and local dishes during the day in winter and can be turned into the party location for you all year round. All our rooms are non smoking rooms. Smokers are welcome at the smoking room "Library", the "Piano Bar", the "Stübli" and in winter at the "Muli Bar" as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel St. Moritz
Schweizerhof St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing