We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All excellent: View, Location, Food, Service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldhaus Am See

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All excellent: View, Location, Food, Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

4 star quality family run with welcoming down to earth service, exceptional view and simple quality tasty food with affordable prices for St. Moritz. Free shuttle service from the train station to and from hotel, a nice 5 minute walk along the lake to elevator into town or 20 minutes along the lake and then walk up into the small town. Hotel offers free access to the mountain transport network with a 2 night stay. The sauna room and steam room are not accessible for wheelchair. This is the only hotel on the lake. The 5 star and other hotels are located above the lake or in the small village.

Room Tip: Choose a room with lake view. Also, we heard no noise even if our room was located next to the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkwhale13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    71
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
42
129
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

spent 2 nights stay here.

friendly staffs and always willing to help me whenever i ask for information.

nice cheese fondoue inside their restaurant.

great room with view looking at the st moritz lake although the lake is deeply frozen.

just 7mins walk to the train station but they still provide bus service to pick me up from station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzecheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

During our wild trip through Alpen passes, we have decided to stay in Saint Moritz. By looking around on the spot near the lake, we have immediately identified that the best location was occupied by this hotel on the small penninsula. We have checked in the same hour, and the receptionist was really helpful by providing nice room with a terrace heading the lake. What a wonderful view I got from this terrace!!! The whole city, the lake and the surrounding mountains were all in fron of me. After half-hour starring on this beauty, we have decided to go for a dinner to the hotel restaurant.

And here we have got a surprise. While the restaurant was already closed, we were invited to visit a local whisky bar. The owner said its a very famous place in the world, it was placed in the Guiness book for the record amount of the whisky types available to the customers. Well done. I have asked to pour me a little portion of cognac and we went to enjoy the view.

But it was a big surprise, when I checked the bill next hour: 26 euro for a small portion of cognac?! "Why didn't you tell me that the cognac you pouring me is not in a common price tag?" - I asked. The answer was: "I am just replacing the main barmen, so I did not know the price". Very 'professional'. So you better be careful there.

Room Tip: Check the price tag in the whisky bar, it can be very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerKuiperss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

And I haven't mentionned one of the best wine list I've ever seen! Hikes are amazing anywhere you go. Food is simple but delicious. Most employees speak English and are really nice. World largest scotch whisky cellar....

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view and ask to be on the third or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flemouel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been going to the Waldhaus Hotel in Sils Maria, a short drive from St Moritz Dorf, on and off for 25 years. While the rooms have been updated and a large spa has been added the spirit and old world charm and grace of the place has not changed. It is elegant, dressing up a bit for dinner is not required but most people do. You lack for very little. I needed the services this time of the on site tailor. The hotel is situated on a hill over looking Nietzsche's house on one side and the beautiful Val Fex on the other. This hotel is authentic - not a chain or cookie cutter by design. The summer is wonderful for walking in the Alps and eating the great food. And there is always the skiing and hot chocolate come fall and winter. Check it out.

Room Tip: I always stay on the Bel Etage floor and ask for a room that opens to the large terrace in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcBalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope pa.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was wonderful , food great and excellent hiking trails right out the front door. The staff was very friendly and always there to help. The breakfasts had everything one could ever want. I wish we could have stayed longer !!

Room Tip: All rooms had a lovely little balcony and a beautiful view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kismet09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

we stayed 2 nights, we came by train i called them 30mins before the train arrived and arranged a pick up. Not far from the station but it is up hill so the pick up was great.
we had good room, views of the lake, very comfortable. Staff very helpful. we had dinner one night this was OK. Breakfast are good. we walked around the lake which take 1 hour.
We took the Bernnia Express from St Moritz and return a great day, especially when we woke up to snow. to get up to the town walk through the car park from the station and use the esculators at the very end of the car park. Also free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarbearNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.4 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#22 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#4 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhaus Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus Am See

Property: Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Address: Dimlej, Via 6, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Waldhaus Am See 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing