We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mountain hotel”
Review of Giardino Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Giardino Mountain
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my first trip to St Moritz and I did not have much time to do the research, and I booked this hotel mostly based on tripadvisor members reviews and its overall high rating and comparable rate for a 5* hotel.

Before trip:
I emailed hotel staff asking for letter confirmation of my reservation and got it very fast; moreover, the concierge was very helpful and included spa brochure for my wife and asked for any pre-arrival help, such as train station transfer. So, the hotel organized a pick-up from St.Moritz train station on their new Land Rover.

Check-in:
Easy and fast. However, we have been offered to sit and enjoy an arrival drink in the bar; but we decided to speed up check-in procedure and get to the rooms faster to rest after a long ride

Breakfast:
Very nice breakfast buffet, huge selection, nice coffee and great omelets.
Concerning omelets: if in other restaurants or hotels veggie omelet generally consists of onions, peppers and tomatoes, here in Giardino - it also includes: brussel sprouts, potatoes, broccoli, and some other small pieces of veggies.
Overall, breakfast is top class.

Skiing:
The hotel offers free shuttle bus on/to Corviglia and Corvatsch skiing areas and you are not bounded with the timetable, just call them in 5-10 minutes, and a minivan will be there.
Opposite to hotel: there is a ski shop where we rented our skis and boots. It was 270 francs for 3 nights per 2 people, so it is like 45 francs / day x per for a pair of skis and boots
Corviglia or Corvatsch?
You should try both areas, but I think that Corviglia is more beginner-intermediate-level-friendly. Our favorite run was #17, which is literally empty, but wide and groomed nice. It is not easy to get there, but you would love it.
Locals say that Corvatsch is very nice on sunny day and you can see Alps from the top there, but we were not very lucky with weather so I cannot comment on that.

Room:
Our room (125) was small for two people, so I did not really liked it.
The bed (king size) is made from two smaller beds which tend to separate and needs to be adjusted during the night.
Bathroom was nice with shower only, no bathtub.

Location:
The Hotel is located in Champfer which is like 15 min bus- or 7 min taxi-ride to St. Moritz Dorf. Travelling by bus before 18:00 is fine, since bus goes every 15 minutes, but after 18:00 its schedule change to an hourly services, so it might not be very convenient to wait for a bus for long. Taxi ride to/from St. Moritz is between 25-30 francs.
I personally prefer more central, in-town location.

Sauna/Pool:
There are 4 saunas in the hotel, but sauna area is clothe - free area, but you can cover yourself with towel. Pool area is nice, but water in jacuzzi could have been warmer :)

Service:
The area in which Giardino Mountain Hotel excels is service. Everybody is friendly and helpful.

Overall:
This is a nice mountain hotel with great staff, excellent service, nice pool and sauna area, delicious breakfasts but its off-center location and (in my case) small rooms will make my rating to be 4/5

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Almaty-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Giardino Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 295 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent a few nights here with some friends and loved it. The interior design of the hotel is very cool Swiss modern meets cosy Alpine village. The spa was stunning and the perfect place to pamper yourself after a hard day on the slopes. I splashed out several times! Service was impeccable as were the rooms – we had a splendid view of the Alps.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomillyRoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It's a class hotel, that can offer a lot to its guests.
My room was large, with plenty of space to accommodate luggage and clothes. Everything was very nice and it didn't seem an hotel.
The wellness area was large and with many pathways and treatments.
High priced but would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansKnenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in September and found it to be a beautifully decorated modern hotel in a fantastic area. The staff were all very good and there was a very happy atmosphere in the hotel. There is a bus stop outside the hotel so you could travel both ways even though the hotel will provide a car to take you into town.My only complaint was that it was the end of the summer season and there were only a few guests so the main restaurant Guardalej was closed for 2 nights during our stay and we had to eat in the stuva which, we felt was not 5 star hotel standard and this did upset us at the time. This would not stop us returning to the hotel as it is so good but I would prefer to eat elsewhere if the restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucycharmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Started in December 2011, Giardino Mountain is a hotel that is situated between mountains, in the lap of nature. Its luxury accommodation makes your stay comfortable. The rooms are well-equipped with all the necessary facilities. The view of the place from the windows is sufficient to render you speechless. The food served here is delicious and nutritious. Staying here will allow you to explore the place being in a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a long weekend. Loved every minute of it. Great food, friendly helpful staff and lovely rooms.
The pool and spa are beautiful but remember to book early for spa treatments as we tried to book the day before and they were fully booked.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jet400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent several nights here on business recently in the summer, and I was very impressed on so many levels. The design elements in the lobby, hallways and public spaces are fantastic, and show that so much detail has gone into this hotel's planning. My room was a modern, renovated, very cool over-sized suite with a balcony overlooking the spectacular Alps. The room had a separate bedroom (with a large, deep bathtub in it)! The bathroom was dreamy -- and featured a wonderful walk-in shower and spacious counter, large mirror, double-sink - and two sunny windows, too. Overall, the service was really exceptional, and the staff was super-friendly and accommodating. Regarding the layout of the hotel, it was certainly unique, and I had to take to two different elevators to get to my room, but the signage is good -- and once you learn the lay of the land, it's very easy to find your way around.

The hotel's main restaurant is fabulous & not-to-be missed, and the breakfast buffet offers an enormous amount of fruit, breads, yogurts and many other local specialties.
They were even kind enough to make my favorite morning coffee drink, latte macchiato.
Don't miss the spa -- it is new & beautiful, too, and worth spending some time in the various saunas and steam rooms. I did not have a service, but guests can still use the facilities, including the swimming pool even if you don't book a facial. I'd love to return again -- perhaps in winter to enjoy a different season at this unique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.0 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Gian Hotel
San Gian Hotel
#4 of 33 in St. Moritz
337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Mountain

Address: Via Maistra 3, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: $350 - $1,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Giardino Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Giardino Mountain combines a characterful design, a high level of service and a laid-back ambience, creating a place where you can recharge your batteries in summer, and enjoy cosy comfort in winter. Cycling, hiking, yoga, golf or skiing, tobogganing and ice skating - as a Breakout Retreat in Champfèr near St. Moritz, the Giardino Mountain provides new energy and relaxation with character. The three restaurants seduce with culinary surprises: from Mediterranean delicacies with an Asian influence at the Guardalej restaurant, and regional specialties from the Engadin in a rustic ambience at the Stüva to the art of star-cuisine at Ecco ST. Moritz. The dipiù Spa with its ample space and elegant design ensures that body and mind will gain strength and promises a world of equilibrium and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Giardino Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing