We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hotel, gorgeous resort.”
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Excellent staff always very helpful and attentive. General manager very hands-on. Hotel is in best possible position for ski lift to mountain- 2 minute walk. It's literally across the road, up 27 steps and into ski-tram depot where you can buy your ski lift pass too.
There is a free shuttle from train station to hotel which is only 5 minutes away. Would strongly recommend getting train from Zurich airport to St Moritz- very easy, very picturesque journey and no hassle. Driving would be a big mistake. St Moritz has all usual amenities and very easy to navigate due to excellent bus service (bus stop right outside hotel- number 3 bus). Would highly recommend getting equipment locally from Boom Sport (2 mins on bus to St Moritz Bad). Staff really helpful, equipment new and individual and reasonably priced. Nothing too much hassle. Restaurants in St Moritz okay, fine for a week away - but very expensive. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 323 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2009

The Crystal Hotel in St Moritz seemed like the perfect winter resort- a 4* hotel in the center of St Moritz, a wonderful location with cozy yet stylish rooms. Unfortunately, my experience was ruined by the service I encountered. The staff were rude, and ignored repeated requests for assistance. They overcharged us for two extra days stay, and refused to refund us, quoting a 10 day minimum stay policy that they had not informed us of prior to the reservation. They forced us to move rooms half way through and were not even apologetic about it. Depsite the beautiful ambiance, I felt that I would have been better treated at a back-packers hostel. I was so disappointed. The hotel must really be feeling the credit crunch, because they went out of their way to rip us off at every possible opportunity, and where surly and rude when we confronted them about it, then proceeded to make the rest of our stay as difficult as they could. Truly the worst service of my life. BEWARE.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed at Crystal for a long weekend in July: the location is perfect (in the hearth of the town), rooms very warm and with a perfect mountain style, big bathroom (perhaps the best hotel shower I've ever seen), good service, complimentary wi-fi connection.
I didn't like the lobby, too business-like for my taste, but it's only a detail.
The breakfast is really under expectations: in a place like that, at 1.700 mt of altitude, with a lot of activities to do in the day, the breakfast must be gorgeous. It isn't. It is very standard.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marco_mazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Great experience at the Crystal Hotel. On arrival courteous staff gave us a tour of the hotel facilities rather than expecting us to find them ourselves. The hotel is well located in the centre of town beside central bus stop, making everything very accessible. In addition to the hotel’s facilities, a very big plus was the free availability from the hotel of a pass card for unlimited travel on trains, gondolas, etc. allowing great savings. I’ve no hesitation in giving a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 09 - with a great deal from "otel.com," including breakfast. Of course with this deal we had a standard room - quite small but totally adequate - nicely furnished - everything looked new and clean. Mini bar is free - including beer, soft drinks, water, and juice. I asked for a change in selection of soft drinks which was accommodate with no issues. Service was excellent overall all. We did not try the restaurant or spa. There is a great deal in St Moritz this summer - if you stay 2 or days at participating hotels (Crystal included) - all lifts and buses are FREE - a huge saving. Also, not documented on the hotel web site is free hotel shuttle on demand to the train station on departure (a saving of a 15 CHF taxi ride) - not sure if they would pick you up on arrival (but worth requesting) - we took a taxi. Location is perfect. Oh yes and internet access (WiFI) is free.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxury-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed here for four days in early June 2009. Overall the rooms, food and service was excellent and at St Moritz prices it was good value for money.

There's not really any big "BUTS", but it may help reading closely previous reviewers comments, especially:-
1. Location. The location is excellent, but central, so some traffic noise is to be expected - rooms get hot and we had to keep a window open all night.
2. The hotel's restaurant, Grissini, is first rate and offers modern Italian style meals. The two Maitre d's are excellent. We prefered the Set Menu at CHF37 for 3 courses and CHF50 for 4 courses ( Antipasta, Pasta, Main and Dessert courses - coffee is extra ).
3. In quiet periods such as June, the hotel has lots of package holiday guests, who have separate dining rooms for dinner, but not breakfast. This could be an issue if you are paying the rack rate and the Saga guests are paying a heavily discounted rate! Get a deal yourself and all will be fine!

Definitely, we will return to the Crystal, plus , of course, St Moritz is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed over the Easter weekend and very much enjoyed our stay. Check in was very quick and our bags arrived at the room almost as soon as we did.

We had our dog with us and we were given a special 'I am in the room alone today' door hanger to warn staff not to enter which I though was fab.

We had a 'Junior Suite' and while we have stayed in bigger rooms described as such it was very comfortable with a walk in dressing area, good power shower and comfortable bed. Complimentary mini bar that was re stocked every day. Internet was a little slow but not terrible - it was free so can't complain.

I must say the room was noisy as others have said. My husband could sleep through the noise but I couldn't. As soon as the late nighters had noisily made their way home the morning delivery trucks seemed to arrive. As the room was warm we had to have the window open. Having said that the location is actually excellent for the shopping and restaurants which are on the doorstep and the ski lift is across the street.

Breakfast was good, not excellent as their wasn't a varied choice of hot food but nevertheless enjoyable.

What really stands out about this hotel is the staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and my husband said he was happier with the service at this hotel.

We did notice that the Kempinski would have been in a disappointing location for us so we were very pleased with our choice for a fraction of the price!

We would recommend Restaurant Dolce Vita just around the corner for dinner and Salastrains Hotel up the mountain for lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caramelknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: Traunter Plazzas, Via 1, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: $180 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crystal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel built in 1962 & re-opened in December, 1997 after $10 million renovation -1 km from train station & 7 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel St Moritz
Crystal St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing