We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kulm Hotel in December as part of a short pre-Christmas skiing break.
The ambiance of this hotel, and the friendliness & professionalism of the staff are just out of this world. The whole stay was faultless, from the excellent meals and service in the Grand Restaurant to the new very well designed spa facility which commands excellent views over St Moritz. The decor and style of the hotel is also a delightful blend between modern and traditional, with the added feature of clever incorporation of local materials ...
The hotel is very conveniently located for walking into the town, and the concierge did an excellent job of ferrying us back and forth from the ski station. All in All, a very enjoyable stay !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wishy468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    44
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
149
237
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Recently returned from a short break at the Kulm Hotel St Moritz - loved the location within walking distance of the ski lift and minutes from the shops - but it was the stunning views over Lake St Moritz & the surrounding mountains (particularly from the spa) that really sold me on this hotel, they were mesmerising. Not forgetting the service, which was excellent, from the concierge desk, through the restaurants to housekeeping. Really enjoyed my stay, will be back, and would happily recommend to others.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room overlooking the lake - a bit more expensive, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taber, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed at the Kulm on Dec 9 for one night while traveling on business. I travel a lot and do not often stay at this class of hotel. I never felt there was value in the price paid even though the cost for me is not an issue. Decided to splurge this night and it was delightful. Everyone from the door man to the concierge to the front desk staff was fantastic. Ended up in a beautiful room overlooking the lake and the rest of the St Moritz valley. I a word stunning!! Spent some time walking around the town before having diner. First time in St Moritz and it felt like being in a movie. Fantastic people and service everywhere. After diner we sat by the fire in the beautiful sitting room of the hotel. The staff was attentive but not obtrusive. Checking often but never interrupting our conversation. Had a meeting in Lichtenstein the next morning so we had an early breakfast. The room...oh I bet after 150 it could tell some stories of some incredible parties. Breakfast was great with the largest selection I have seen outside a Vegas buffet. Again the staff was attentive but not obtrusive and we enjoyed a long breakfast before grudgingly departing for a business meeting. Will be back in the area in May looking forward to a longer stay. Thank you to all the staff of the Kulm who made for a great first stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dieselcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The Staff is very friendly. The Food is good, but too pricey. The Spa and outdoor swimming pool are amazing!!!
Expensive but - you get what you paid for... Great breakfast... Best location. Professional services.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DG_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Regrettably we only spent one night!

The SPA /POOL is amazing - particuarly the outside facilities! A bit of James Bond luxury!!!

Good location, beautiful decorated, friendly staff.

Perfect in every way!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mopsagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Kulm is perched on the hillside overlooking the lake in the very upscale town of St. Moritz. The lakeside rooms have lovely views of the water and the mountains. The guest rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated. It's well worth it to get a balcony overlooking the lake. It's a little bit of a climb from the lakeside and the train station. But the calmness is appreciated. There's a nice Old World ambiance to the rambling place, with display cases filled with pictures of yesteryear and silver trophies.

We didn't eat at the fancy restaurant (which has a dress code), but both the casual Italian bistro and the traditional Swiss (a 3-minute walk from the main building) were quite good. The latter offered fabulous rösti, a Swiss special dish of fried grated potatoes with wonderful things inside.

The staff was unfailingly gracious.

.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

One Word - Perfection ! Curtous staff, excellent service, great food, great facillities. I would highly recomend this hotell for all travellers whising to divulge into luxury. Its expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the lake is an extra bonus with spectacular view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panzerbjornsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.4 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulm Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulm Hotel St. Moritz

Property: Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Address: Via Veglia 18, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kulm Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star superior house lies in the heart of St. Moritz in the Engadine and offers stunning views of Lake St. Moritz. The Kulm Hotel St. Moritz stands out since its inception through ongoing innovation. Widely recognised as the cradle of winter sports, the Kulm Hotel was also the stage for Switzerland's first electric light and host of the 1928 and 1948 Olympic Winter Games on its own hotel grounds. Today it combines its unique history with modern-day comforts: the amenities of modernity complement with magnificent Wilhelminian interiors in an elegant fashion. 172 rooms and suites offer views of the fascinating Engadine mountains. Refined interiors, executed in the finest craftsmanship, ultimate elegance ensure total comfort. As spectacular as the Engadine mountainscape is the Kulm Spa is St. Moritz. Dive into a new depths of relaxation and wellbeing, all at one with nature in our award-winning, over 2000 m2 spa. Regenerate, find your inner balance and delight your soul with stunning views. Spoil your taste buds with culinary delights and exquisite drinks within the radiant ambience of the venerable Grand Restaurant. Choose from a great variety of Italian and local Grisons specialities or sample our highly-awarded gourmet cuisine. The K, The Pizzeria, Sunny Bar / NITO, Chesa al Parc, Bob Restaurant or the Altitude Bar - there is one thing our dining venues have in common: inviting ambience, authenticity and outstanding hospitality. The stage is set! Get ready for a top-class Festival da Jazz concert at our Sunny Bar, the oldest sports bar of the Alps. Let yourself be entertained by exceptional cultural events and cosmopolitan décor - the perfect match for our illustrious guests. As our guest, you can benefit from the 3 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Grand Hotel Kronenhof and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a special restaurant, the Marmotta Kids' Club and the V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program. We provide expert, loving care for your little ones. Boredom is as much a stranger at our playground as it is at our ice skating rink and children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kulm Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulm Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing