We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful staff”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here late August during a hiking trip to St. Moritz. We had a great stay, the staff at the hotel was wonderful, warm and friendly. While it may seem $$$, we actually received a lot for our money, our cost included access to all the lifts/trams in the region and a wonderful breakfast each morning. The concierge team was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for some luxury each evening after hiking all day!

Room Tip: If available, book a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Booking.com has the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sxbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    44
    9
    9
    8
See reviews for
149
237
39
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

very nice room, extremely comfortable bed and linen. very clean. it is a pure pleasure to stay in this junior suite. the service at check in was a bit slow due to the fact that we arrived after midnight. but check out was fast and smooth. we liked a lot the omlette for breakfast and the large bathroom. the size of the room was great and compared to normal hotel rooms it is worth it to stay in a junior suite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have been going to the Kulm for many years. Usually its a family vacation with my parents and this year we also took the kids so we were a lot of us! The service was outstanding as usual and there are many little perks that make your stay so pleasant, from the tiny bathrobe and slippers for my 3 year old to the fact that they went to buy goat's milk for my other son who is lactose intolerant. The rooms are nice and even the cheaper mountain view option still have a fabulous view. The only thing we were slightly disappointed in was the service at the dining room. We seemed to remember the food being a little better the previous years and on Saturday night we had to wait so long for out main course that my mother left the dining hall (she was getting tired). I am sure it was just a problem in the kitchen and pretty much a one off. Our kids were very happy to frequent the kids' club and our stay was fantastic. We will be back.

Room Tip: I actually like the mountain view rooms as they tend to be slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lopalops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We expected nothing less from a hotel of this class - and are looking forward to the spa renovation. The Altitude Bar is a marvel and service / food in all the restaurants is as it should be. Cigar lounge very appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flurin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Jean-Jacques and his staff made our week in July at The Kulm truly fantastic. He was an excellent host. Our room, the meals, the spa and the overall atmosphere was simply wonderful. The hotel staff was very warm and always extended themselves. Ina greeted us, showed us the facilities and took us to our room. She is so warm and welcoming. The chef and the servers in the dining room made our meals outstanding. Our room overlooked the lake and could not have been nicer. The spa's appeal made it easy for a daily visit. The hotel's location made it convenient to everything. The sister hotel Kronenhof in Pontresina has a restaurant, Kronenstübli, that was superb and woth a visit. The all-inclusive card made riding the cablecars and railroads fabulous and fun. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I've been going to St Moritz all my life but staying in hotels for just a few years. After a bit of 'research' The Kulm is my favourite.

It has the best location, best historic building and best swimming pool of St Moritz's hotels. It is also friendly and unflashy. Great!

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a south-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurocitizenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed at the Kulm this past winter and while it has many plus points there are also some issues. First of all the 14 day policy over the Xmas New Year period is somewhat outdated and during a recession a bit questionable. Knowing St Moritz very well I would say that the attention from the staff is as expected in a 5 star property no complaints here. The food was excellent in the dining room and a very nice touch was the very enthusiastic Wine waiter who recommended wonderful wines I wish every hotel had a Sommelier like that. The concierge especially the German speaking one is a very capable man and sorts things out for you. The maids are always friendly and helpful the room clean and the special pillows which you can request a nice touch. The location is fab in the middle of everything no need for a car you can walk to all the shops activities and restaurants. On the down side the lobby is just not a proper lobby compared to other Houses of this level, but I guess that cannot be changed. The sunny bar at lunch time has its issues, service is hectic and sometimes confused, meals don’t all arrive at the same time etc. for a hotel of this level that needs to be addressed. Sadly on New Year’s eve the sunny bar was closed would have been nice to have a DJ there later in the evening for the young ones and the young at heart to have a dance and change of scenery from the dining room. But for me the thing that lets this hotel down the most are the rooms while nicely decorated they are on the small side (I am talking about the lake facing ones ) and most of these rooms don’t offer a separate shower or toilet. At these prices I have an issue with that. The sister hotel Kronenhof in Pontresina has much nicer rooms at lower prices but alas it is not St Moritz even if it’s only a 10 min drive away and the young people want to stay in St Moritz for the nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.4 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kulm Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kulm Hotel St. Moritz

Property: Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Address: Via Veglia 18, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kulm Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star superior house lies in the heart of St. Moritz in the Engadine and offers stunning views of Lake St. Moritz. The Kulm Hotel St. Moritz stands out since its inception through ongoing innovation. Widely recognised as the cradle of winter sports, the Kulm Hotel was also the stage for Switzerland's first electric light and host of the 1928 and 1948 Olympic Winter Games on its own hotel grounds. Today it combines its unique history with modern-day comforts: the amenities of modernity complement with magnificent Wilhelminian interiors in an elegant fashion. 172 rooms and suites offer views of the fascinating Engadine mountains. Refined interiors, executed in the finest craftsmanship, ultimate elegance ensure total comfort. As spectacular as the Engadine mountainscape is the Kulm Spa is St. Moritz. Dive into a new depths of relaxation and wellbeing, all at one with nature in our award-winning, over 2000 m2 spa. Regenerate, find your inner balance and delight your soul with stunning views. Spoil your taste buds with culinary delights and exquisite drinks within the radiant ambience of the venerable Grand Restaurant. Choose from a great variety of Italian and local Grisons specialities or sample our highly-awarded gourmet cuisine. The K, The Pizzeria, Sunny Bar / NITO, Chesa al Parc, Bob Restaurant or the Altitude Bar - there is one thing our dining venues have in common: inviting ambience, authenticity and outstanding hospitality. The stage is set! Get ready for a top-class Festival da Jazz concert at our Sunny Bar, the oldest sports bar of the Alps. Let yourself be entertained by exceptional cultural events and cosmopolitan décor - the perfect match for our illustrious guests. As our guest, you can benefit from the 3 additional restaurants at the sister hotel Grand Hotel Kronenhof and up to 8 mountain restaurants on the skiing areas of Piz Nair and Corvatsch within the Gourmet / Dine Around half board arrangement, offering the largest dining option in the Engadine. For our younger guests we offer a special restaurant, the Marmotta Kids' Club and the V.I.K. (Very Important Kids) program. We provide expert, loving care for your little ones. Boredom is as much a stranger at our playground as it is at our ice skating rink and children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kulm Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kulm Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing