We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Warm Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hauser Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Before deciding to stay overnight in St. Moritz, Dorf, I wrote to 3 hotels for the best accommodation. Hauser Hotel was the right choice. Not only that it is a family owned hotel but the service alone will tell the difference. The location is perfect with high end shops surrounding it. It's a pleasure walk down the lake with the best view of the Alps. The rooms are big with a balcony. Breakfast is right and the hotel has a restaurant and makes their own brand of Swiss Chocolate. Kudos to Nina who attended to us during our stay. Will definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: the 5th floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Carl 082
Thank you for reviewing the Hauser! We will inform Nina about your comment.
All fine. This is good to hear. We like it. 5th floor with balcony the best!
Best regards and thank you for recommending.
Markus Hauser, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    204
    36
    2
    5
See reviews for
119
204
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hauser Hotel is overall nice, great location, ask for the upgraded terrace view facing the lake - its worth it ! Christina working at the front desk was great as she spoke perfect English and gave some incredible recommendations for our drive. My real only complaint is the whole key thing. You get one big key then you have to swap it out when leaving. Trust me its not that big of a deal, but I would think a couple of hundred bucks could fix this gig. And after wine, who remembers what key their supposed to have??? Not me... But lets face it, your in St. Moritz ! Its beautiful and it feels illigal to complain :) Note - Go down to the St Moritz Yacht Club (Matchrace) and have a snack then check out the electric bicycles...

Room Tip: Balcony facing Lake - Rm 409
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear jennaTexas, many thanks for the review. Overall satisfied this is important. We are sorry that you did not like our keysystem. Yes we could fix with a couple of hunderd bucks this gig, but the system is save and convenient.
Why should you not be allowed to complain? Your comment is helpful and appreciated.
St. Moritz is beautiful you are right.
Thank you aswell for the tip with the sailing club and the electric bikes and of course for the mentionned room number 409. 309 and 509 are the same. Your following guests have to be quick to get one of these rooms! Best regards. Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Room had huge terrace, very comfortable bed, food was terrific! Provided free transportation to train station, just went beyond all expectations, staff are friendly and hospitable.i wish we could have stayed much longer and will definitely return if we are back in the area.

Room Tip: Excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Rachel H
thank you for the review. Wonderful ! Glad to hear about the staff and the food and the service. We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Hauser.
Best regards. Markus Hauser. Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Definitely contact the hotel for pick up from the rail station, it's an up hill hike, perhaps ok without luggage! St Moritz disappointing, especially when one compares to Zermatt. Our visit was off ski season, so most merchant, restaurants and some hotels where closed, felt like a modern ghost town. However, the hotel was comfortable and convenient, with views of the Lake and Mountains.
Ideal over night when taking the fantastic 9:02 Glacier Express or the Bernina Express.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Christine C.
thank you for reviewing the Hauser. Glad you liked your stay. Indeed the pickup from the station is a good service. Hope to see you again. All the best. Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Hauser Hotel is a very nice 3-star propery in St Moritz where the Bernina Express and the Glacier Express meet. Unless you're a mountain goat, don't try the uphill walk from the train station to the hotel. Instead, ring the hotel from the hotel board just outside the train station. You will be picked up 5-10 minutes after your call.

Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, and the renovated bathroom belongs in a 5-star property. Breakfast consists of cheeses, meats, breads, pastries, cereals, fruits, and hard-boiled egg, but no bacon or sausage. Egg dishes are available for purchase.

Most of the restaurants and hotels in St. Moritz are closed until mid-June, but the hotel has a restaurant with moderately priced meals. Restaurants in nearby hotels are also open for business.

A walk around the lake near the railway station takes about 50 minutes. With the free bus pass provided by the hotel, you can ride the #3 bus around town or the #6 bus to Samedan, a small town nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear bunker222
Many thanks for the three star plus.... This is excatly what we are aiming for! To be the best 3 star hotel in St. Moritz. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. All the best and see you soon again.
Markus Hauser, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived after an amazing journey on the Glacier Express from Zermatt and were initially let down by the image of St Moritz. Town really doesn't look like much from the main railway station.
After a short wait, the hotel shuttle arrived to bring us to the hotel as promised. If u don't mind some exercise, you can opt for the escalator 5 min from the station that brings u up to the town beside the impressive Palace hotel, but the shuttle is certainly a good welcome for those with heavy suitcases.
The checking was smooth and service polite. Although initially let down by e seemingly spartan appearance of the room, the prompt service that followed for a spoilt phone and a change of pillows more than made up for it.
It's pretty much a ghost town now with only a few shops open and most hotels closed, but the price of 280F per night certainly belies this fact! Guess its the name of the town you're paying for?!
Overall not impressed with the town itself and there are so many nicer ski-towns I would rather ski at, with more facilities at better prices and better scenery. But the hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Try packing light or make sure u have a hotel shuttle to fetch u up to the hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mark and Faye
thank you for the review. Yes the hotel shuttle bus is convenient for our guests and as you mentionned the nearby escalator is a must when you travel to St. Moritz. It brings you from the station right up in the centre of town or it carries you down to the lake to have a scenic walk. You should come and see St. Moritz in Winter ! Skiing is great up here. Hope to see you soon again.
Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hauser for 1 night before heading off on the Glacier Express. We arrived early but that wasnt a problem and we were checked straight into our room. The room we had was a bit basic but still comfortable and very clean. The service throughout the hotel was excellent. We were extremely thankful for the restaurant and the atmosphere at the hotel as being May, nothing else in St Moritz was open and I mean nothing, it appears everything shuts down for weeks, we thought initially it was just some of the bigger hotels, but no. We arranged to get the shuttle to the train station the next morning and that was very good as well. Overall a very good hotel with excellent friendly staff and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Kelly
thank you for reviewing the Hauser and the town. Indeed the month of May is quite uphere. It is the periode when the locals take their holidays. But the nature is still wonderful, white mountain tops with the green gras in the valley and the blue lakes. Next time if you stay at least two nights you will get a free pass for the public transport and for the Diavolezza cable way.
All the best and see you again. Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#6 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hauser Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hauser Hotel St. Moritz

Property: Hauser Hotel St. Moritz
Address: Via Traunter Plazzas 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Moritz
#5 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hauser Hotel St. Moritz 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel offers modern comforts, restaurant, patisserie, and bar; located in town center with views to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hauser Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauser Hotel St Moritz
Hauser Resort St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing