We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3.5 star hotel which met my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hauser Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good 3.5 star hotel which met my expectations”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Location good.....breakfast good.......hospitality good.....surely value for money......I will rate this hotel as 3.5 an better...hotel has free WiFi n free pick up n drop service from station...but update yourself before coming to st moritz all market closes by 5.30pm n restaurant latest by 2030hrs

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79rishabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    215
    37
    2
    6
See reviews for
126
215
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Hauser’s studio apartment for 3 nights in July (Friday-Monday) as part of a 17 night trip through Italy and Switzerland (In addition to their hotel the Hauser has 2 apartments to rent.) We chose this primarily because of price and location. Hotels are so expensive in St. Moritz, and we thought it would be nice to have a kitchenette. Of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip this is the only one I would not return to. It’s not that it was bad, but it was really basic and weekend nights it was very loud with people partying outside until 2 or 3 AM. It was not so loud after 11 on Sunday night. There is no AC so you have to keep the windows open or it gets very hot. There is a bar across the street with live music and it got really loud with people yelling. It has a Murphy bed, table and chairs, and one other chair. It would have been nice to have 2 comfortable chairs. We did use the refrigerator but nothing else in the kitchenette.
Aside from the noise, the location was good. It’s right in the middle of the town so it is convenient to everything. Our other option was going to be the Piz in St. Moritz Bad, and we may have liked that better, but it is a walk to get into St Moritz Dorf or you could take a bus, which runs pretty frequently.
The Hauser staff were nice enough, but I had to go back and ask after checking in for our pass that let us on the cable cars, busses, etc for free. They should have given these passes to us when we checked in without us having to ask. If we hadn’t known about it we would have spent over 200 CHF on cable cars, etc. I suggest that if you go to St. Moritz, stay 2 nights or more and look for this promotion that includes free local transport. It saved us a bundle.
St. Moritz is extremely expensive, but it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. I would return in a heartbeat. I think staying in town the first time is good, but next time I would stay in one of the little towns on the bus route, like Pontresina, or Celerina, or Sils, somewhere quieter and then take the bus into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nottnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear nottnott ,
many thanks for your review. This helps us to get better. The Westend appartements look on to two bars, this is right and they can be noisy. But the appartements have the best view one can imagine. We offer to everybody that stays two nights immediately the tickets for public transport and the montain railways. Sorry that we have not done this with you straight away. There was no intention. A/C is not a standard at all in the mountains on 1800 m sealevel. We will never install A/C. Too much energy spillage.
Glad you liked the place and you have the intention to return. Come back and stay at the Hauser Hotel. No kitchenette but : the HAUSER. Best regards Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This place is great. Family run and very friendly. The rooms are a little small and the elevator is tiny. Only room for one person with minimal luggage.

The hot plate dinner is good and lots of fun. Try the horse and kangaroo. They also have an after dinner drink made with herbs and roots.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailor1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear sailor1502
Many thanks for your words. We must be the perfect place to stay for you. Come back and enjoy ! Have you been here for the St. Moritz Match Race? Great event. See you next year.
Best regards Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Hauser hotel seems to be one of the better value hotels in St Moritz. We were pleasantly surprised to be picked up at the railway station by the Hotel taxi. Rooms are comfortable and reasonably spacious. Breakfast is served in the Restaurant, and is very good. Location is good, especially when using the long escalator to get to the lake and station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneBigLongHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi and hello to "OneBigLongHoliday"
many thanks for your comment. We appreciate. All the best and see you again.
Markus Hauser, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

In one word: very good sport hotel

Pros:
- location (close to shops and transports)
- free wi-fi
- breakfast
- restaurant
- price
- no smoking hotel
- free shuttle from train station

Cons:
- no A/C
- small (single) room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco_mazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powdersnow, Owner at Hauser Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Marco_Mazzei
Thank you for your comment.
Indeed we are what you described: "a very good sport hotel". You are right, our single rooms are not the biggest. But compare the rates! Where do you find a single room at the half rate of a twin/double room? At the Hauser! A/C is not a standard, we live on 1800 m above sea level and we try to reduce this spillage of energy. See you soon again. Best regards Markus Hauser. Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

good location, close to city center. however, reception could have been more helpful to tourists. decent noise from below so we had to keep windows shut at night. elevator was very old fashioned and once was stuck for 10 minutes while we were inside. they say free transportation to train station at checkout. however, i was told it starts from 8 am and so had to get a taxi for 7am train.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Srjk_slash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's an expensive area. We stayed there in July. Off season for a ski resort. Still expensive but with a 2 night stay we got all local transportation, free ride on the train to ski lift and glacier, ride up the ski lift, and breakfast buffet. Service was very good in a beautiful area. All of Switzerland is expensive. It seemed everything cost twice of what it did in Germany.

Room Tip: Ask for condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#6 of 33 in St. Moritz
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hauser Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hauser Hotel St. Moritz

Property: Hauser Hotel St. Moritz
Address: Via Traunter Plazzas 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in St. Moritz
#5 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hauser Hotel St. Moritz 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel offers modern comforts, restaurant, patisserie, and bar; located in town center with views to the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hauser Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauser Hotel St Moritz
Hauser Resort St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing