We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This lovely hotel is next to the train station in St Moritz. We stayed here so we could do the Glacier Express. The hotel is luxurious! We booked via the internet and got a fairly good deal.
The rooms were large, clean, and expressed local craftsmanship. The granite bathrooms were huge.
we had dinner in the cafe on the ground floor. It was about 6 tables inside. We had a wonderful dinner served family style in copper pans. [they were etched with the hotel's name too]. My husband and I each had coq-au-vin and the rich flavor was perfect. The bread was the best we had anywhere and the hotel owner came down personally to check on our satisfaction. Our waitress, Lucie was charming, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Crone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    34
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
47
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Selangor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Very good location, near to train station and very comfortable beds. Family room was also very spacious for family of 5.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaymakerBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This hotel is tired and shabby. While the staff was helpful, the property is in dire need of updating. The carpeting is threadbare, the room was dirty, and there is a musty smell throughout the hotel. We made seven reservations at seven different hotels during our tour of Switzerland. The La Margna was the worst of the bunch.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Robynshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyBowes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We had an amazing view of the mountains and lake of St Moritz during our stay at La Margna--loved it so much we barely left our room; we could just take pictures from our windows! We also had a great meal in their main restaurant. Service was good. The breakfast was just ok--we had much better in Switzerland though, so I recommend going out for breakfast instead.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — The location was a bit far from the centre of town.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

STAY AWAY FROM LA MARGNA.....My husband's father passed away during our trip and we had to leave 6 days earlier (the hotel charged us for 10 nights, although we have only stayed there for 4 nights). The owners showed no remorse about the death of our relative and refused to issue any refund or a credit towards a future stay...Basically, THE HOTEL OWNERS POCKETED OUR EUR2,500

The hotel is very old and it has a stale smell. The food is very average and the service is poor. The hotel attracts a lot of old crowd and couples with young children who make a lot of noise at dinner which is inclusive. In summary, this is definitely NOT a place to stay if you come to St. Morritz.

  • Liked — proximity to ski facilities
  • Disliked — cancellation policy, service and quality of accomodation
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank YanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanAntonio,TX
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Great location. Beautiful smaller hotel. Great food and close to everything. Charming hotel with hot tub and sauna. Overlooks the lake and up the hill from the train station. We stayed 1 night prior to taking the Glacier Express train. Fresh apples were in the lobby for the guest to enjoy.

  • Liked — Charming Swiss hotel with a great location
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cbmbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2005

We took a short-notice trip to St Moritz in March 2005. When taking reservations, this hotel is happy to take your credit card number, but WILL NOT confirm a room price. They will only quote you a range. Quite a large range (100 Fr), and not the same range if two people call.

So we arrived without a reservation, and got a room (at the low end of the range). Beyond this, we have only praise for La Margna. The rooms/baths are large, beautifully furnished, and very clean. The hotel is right next to the train station, but has a shuttle to the ski lift station, which makes it even more convenient than hotels further into town. Breakfast was extensive. No street noise. Small whirlpool/sauna/etc. downstairs. Nice bar.

For dinner we can also recommend the little Stüvetta restaurant in the basement, which specializes in local cuisine at reasonable prices (for the location).

I'm torn between a 3 or 4 rating because I would never make a reservation under those conditions, but I would come back here on short notice.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank khw225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arte
Hotel Arte
#21 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Via Serlas 5, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional superior first-class hotel with atmosphere. A few minutes walking distance from the centre and train station. Superb view on mountains and lake. Comfortable rooms with all modern comfort (stone-pine clad rooms). Restaurant, sauna, steam bath, whirlpool, parking place. The experienced hosts and friendly staff ensure that your stay will be a wonderful and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing