We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here on an overnight stop while taking the Glacier Express from Zermatt. Our first priority was convenience since we wanted a hotel near the train station and La Margna proved to be an excellent choice. It cannot be nearer the train station. Once you exit the station, look up and the hotel is right in front of you. Although we were there overnight we were treated like royalty by the very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is in an old building but rooms are nicely renovated and everything is very stately. Another great thing about the hotel is that they have connecting rooms which we asked for and got as we have 3 children and like to be close to them. The finishing in the room is of a high quality and bathroom has marble floors, fixtures and walls. Although it's a 4 star hotel, it deserves a 5 star rating.

St. Moritz is a very small town and as though not in the heart of town, the main street is only 5-10 minutes walk away. The lake is just 5 minutes away and can be reached using a underpass connector about 3 minutes uphill from where the hotel is.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel restaurant but heard that the food is really good.

Breakfast was simple but of high quality. As the hotel just opened for the winter season, there weren't many guests and I assume that accounts for the limited breakfast spread but it was more than sufficient for us.

My only small and minor negative observation is that some of the common areas could be better lit and the carpets especially in the staircase areas need to be replaced.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth asking and paying for. They face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Shrek-loves-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursina_Schweizer, Inhaber at La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Shrek loves Fiona

we are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay (even if it was a very short one) at the Hotel La Margna here in St. Moritz.
Thank you for the time you spend for your evaluation!

We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best!

Yours
Ursina Schweizer & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 113 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had the great pleasure to stay at the La Margna this December and left with some unforgettable memories. Perfectly located near the train station and only a 5 minutes walk to the village center of St. Moritz, the La Margna is a Grand Hotel with lots of history and excellent ambiance. Top maintained property (the silver ware is world class!) with great family flair, outstanding friendly staff who provides 5* service at its best and top notch culinary experience (try Appel strudel is a MUST try). Whatever you wish, they make it come true with a smile...something very rare to find in Switzerland these days! Can highly recommend this property and will definitely visit this hotel again. Thank you La Margna!

Room Tip: They have refurbished some of their rooms while leaving others with the old charm of the past ... de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schmidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursina_Schweizer, Inhaber at La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Schmidu
how nice, that you found "your" gem. Thank you very much for that big compliment!!!
We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel La Margna and in our restaurants with the delicious food - specially the apple strudel. The pastry chef hat a big smile when he read your compliment.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best!
Yours
Ursina Schweizer & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed this hotel in summer. Staff were very friendly and their hospitality and service are very high. I feel that I visit to stay this hotel in winter as well.
The view from room where I stayed was beautiful and the room was very spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hospitality and service are absolutely the highlight of La Margna. Martin makes you feel right at home and goes to all measures to ensure you enjoy your stay in the area. The rooms are spacious and clean. It is conveniently located near the train station. It is also a short walk to the town. The breakfasts were very nice with a good selection.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catchthefever22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursina_Schweizer, Inhaber at La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear catchthefever22
we are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel La Margna here in St. Moritz and thank you for the compliment about Martin - I'm sure you still can see his smile...

We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best!

Yours
Ursina Schweizer & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Ours was a last minute change of hotel on our Globus tour and we were all totally thrilled when we reached. An elegantly rustic looking hotel, extremely comfortable. We had a panoramic view of the Lake and mountains behind it. The one meal we had was good and service 'with a smile' all through. Would have loved to stay longer--one night was like a teaser!

Room Tip: we had a Lakeside view which was great!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NeerjaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursina_Schweizer, Inhaber at La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear NeerjaDelhi

we are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel La Margna here in St. Moritz - an yes - one night is to short... :-)

We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best!

Yours
Ursina Schweizer & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of a cycle tour in the Alps. My room was large and very comfortable - located on a corner with a view over the lake on one side and up the hill towards the centre of town. Staff were very friendly and helpful with ideas for sightseeing during free time.

Being located across the street from the train station, it was very convenient to travel to various sites in the region. I think it would be a great base for a ski holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good light and a view of the valley/lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursina_Schweizer, Inhaber at La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Brad
no nice, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel La Margna here in St. Moritz - and thank you for your good rating here by tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcome you again - there is a lot more to see...

Yours
Ursina Schweizer & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights during the white turf. It is just up on the hill opposite the train station so very handy for public transport. They had a courtesy car to pick you up from the train station and to drop you up to the ski lifts - although both are a very short walk away! Also, there are loads of restaurants and bars just up the road. The staff were very helpful. The rooms were lovely, very big and spacious. Free wifi. There was a reasonable selection at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irl_sars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ursina_Schweizer, Manager at La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Irl Sars
we are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel La Margna here in St. Moritz. We are looking forward to welcome you again and wish you all the best!
Yours
Ursina Schweizer & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arte
Hotel Arte
#22 of 33 in St. Moritz
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Via Serlas 5, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: $204 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional superior first-class hotel with atmosphere. A few minutes walking distance from the centre and train station. Superb view on mountains and lake. Comfortable rooms with all modern comfort (stone-pine clad rooms). Restaurant, sauna, steam bath, whirlpool, parking place. The experienced hosts and friendly staff ensure that your stay will be a wonderful and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing