We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stop over at St Moritz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great stop over at St Moritz”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Ideally located only 2 min from the Bahnhof. It was raining heavily when we arrived but I'd we had looked UP we would have seen the hotel! Instead of which we took a taxi - 10 fr !! Hotel excellent, ESP the silver service breakfast and the bistro serving local foods. Room furnishing also excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    34
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
47
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

It has been a long journey but I nearly found Hotel Perfection in the Hotel La Margna in St. Moritz. My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in September as part of a 'Grand Tour of Switzerland' and were not disappointed. The hotel is across the road from the train station which is not as bad as it sounds as the station is at the end of the line so to speak so no through trains use it and is the quietest station I have been in.
The Hotel looks and is built like a castle, it is very solid with thick walls and an interior design you never see in modern buildings. I loved the whole look and feel of this place as it still retains its turn of the century elegance which can be seen in the bar and dining room areas especially.
The room we had faced the road and not the lake and was large with enough room to move around uncluttered. Lake side rooms are extra and I would recommend a higher floor room if you are considering one of these. The only down side and what makes it a rating of 4 is there is some road noise although it is the quietest hotel I have stayed in, and my pet hate no tea and coffee in the room.
The location is perfect for walking into town which takes about 5 minutes up a gentil hill and 2 minutes to the lake walk which I would recommend as it has good views of St Moritz. As we stayed 2 days the hotel gave us a pass to use on all transport in the area free so its worth asking if the offer is still on when you arrive.
The La Magna is a family owned and run hotel which works hard to make the customer happy. The staff are attentive and the food although not spectacular hits the mark and is very acceptable.
I really liked this hotel and would recommend it to anyone considering a stay in St Moritz

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamilyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We have just returned from a tour of Switzerland and stayed at the La Margna for 2nights Well positioned near the rail station and lake.. Rooms were adequate and clean. We stayed half board, breakfast had a moderate selection of buffet, evening meal food was average but BEWARE they charged us for TAP WATER for the table, how GREEDY is that!! We stayed in four hotels throughout Switzerland and this was the only hotel to charge for tap water !!! Infact one hotel even had a free minibar of soft drinks in the room which was replenished daily.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Hotel right next to station. No noise though. Great spacious room (standard) with 2 bathrooms, one with toilet and shower, one with bath. Nice, bright room, free wifi, friendly personal.
We didn't like St Moritz very much, had to look very hard for an restaurant in the centre of town. The one we did find was great. Maybe Moritz bath is more touristic. We only stayed here one night upon arrival from the glacier express

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjakkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Loved the view from the hotel over the lake and down to the Sud..Hotel staff are charming and family orientated looking after us exceptionally well..Food is of a high standard for evening meals..Located right opposite train station so highly convenient. Will be back to see more of this charming area in the Engel valley

Room Tip: Book in advance at least 3-4 weeks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigcat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Ideal location close to the railway station and ski buses, with minibus transport to the centre and main ski lift, Excellent friendly traditional Swiss Hotel, with lovely rooms overlooking the Lake. Very good cuisine in a lovely dining room. Good wellness facilities with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. High standard of service. Large bar area in a spacious traditional lounge, including a log fire and a pianist to start off the evening.
Try the rustic Stuvetta restaurant in the basement to sample local specialities such as fondue and raclette. Use the back entrance here for direct access to the station and the buses!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake are a must. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbiepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This lovely hotel is next to the train station in St Moritz. We stayed here so we could do the Glacier Express. The hotel is luxurious! We booked via the internet and got a fairly good deal.
The rooms were large, clean, and expressed local craftsmanship. The granite bathrooms were huge.
we had dinner in the cafe on the ground floor. It was about 6 tables inside. We had a wonderful dinner served family style in copper pans. [they were etched with the hotel's name too]. My husband and I each had coq-au-vin and the rich flavor was perfect. The bread was the best we had anywhere and the hotel owner came down personally to check on our satisfaction. Our waitress, Lucie was charming, efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Crone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Via Serlas 5, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional superior first-class hotel with atmosphere. A few minutes walking distance from the centre and train station. Superb view on mountains and lake. Comfortable rooms with all modern comfort (stone-pine clad rooms). Restaurant, sauna, steam bath, whirlpool, parking place. The experienced hosts and friendly staff ensure that your stay will be a wonderful and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Margna Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing