We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophistication and top quality service in St. Mortiz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sophistication and top quality service in St. Mortiz”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was travelling with my wife for a one-week skiing trip and decided to stay in the Carlton Hotel instead of Badrutt´s Palace. No regrets, since we were welcomed with excellent service, friendly staff, good food, sophisticated ambiance, top luxury rooms and one of the most beautiful SPA I have ever seen. Badrutt´s Palace may be more about fuss and to see and be seen, however Carlton Hotel has a more discreet atmosphere that surrounds a traditionally luxury hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPedreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear DPedreira

We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback which we passed on to all of our staff.
We are very happy that you don't regret your decision for the Carlton Hotel instead of the Badrutts. We look forward welcoming you and a lot more of brazilian guests in the future!

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    17
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
79
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a wonderful surprise as the Carlton Hotel St Moritz!
From the very beginning of our stay until the check-out, it was brilliant.
To start the experience, a warm welcome by the Director himself, followed by the smiling staff, actually offering you warm towels to refresh from the journey.
The room was more than lovely, the fine dining restaurant was divine, the spa, mixing intimacy and luxury, just perfect.
We were truly amazed by the quality of service and kindness of the staff.
I can only recommend this wonderful hotel and look very much forward to visiting again any time soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Justine S

We are very glad to hear that you had memorable days at the Carlton Hotel and thank you very much for your excellent feedback about the hotel and our staff. We hope welcoming you back soon again and the entire Carlton Team wishes you only the best.

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was as a travel journalist in St. Moritz and stayed at the luxurious Carlton Hotel. This hotel offers only suites and there are so comfortable with all high tech things you can imagine. Beside that they have a really good shuttle service and they bring you everywhere you need. The minibar and half board is included.

Room Tip: They only have suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgirl2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Travelgirl2723

We thank you very much for your great feedback in your critical view as a frequent traveller.

We look forward welcoming you back soon again!

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Like most of the other reviewers, I would set the stage for my review by saying I always try to stay at the best hotels, all over the world. I just spent a week at the Carlton Hotel for a ski trip, and I left completely enchanted. They have the most wonderful staff, they are sincere and truly kind and caring. The environment quickly becomes your home; it's very warm and inviting, and exclusive (not in a pretentious way). Generally, nobody from outside of the hotel comes to visit, so it's very safe and peaceful inside--the staff almost all get to know your names and it's a very nice community feeling. The food was fantastic at Romanoff--the menu changes every night and offers lots of great choices. Every meal was superb and enjoyable--and included with our "half board". The sommelier Mario is wonderful, he makes great recommendations--please allow him to help you. The senior host, Daniele is very kind and welcoming, and will help care for any of your needs or your family. The Mercedes S-Class car service available at all times is wonderful, it makes trips to the village for shopping very relaxing and enjoyable. The transportation to and from the base of the mountain (Gondola) is wonderful, and very helpful. They will carry your skis as much as possible to help make your day just a little bit easier--You come here to relax and return home happy and peaceful, all of these little details help accomplish the goal.
The rooms are fantastic, recently updated (completely updated like new), and the main "Belle Etage" is a wonderful classic hang out to relax or have a drink. The Spa and Pool are fantastic, world class. The wifi is free of course, and works great. The deck on a sunny day is heaven. Our lift tickets through the hotel were only 25 Swiss Francs per day, much cheaper than the 80 Swiss Francs normal price.
I could keep going on and on, but at this point you get the idea. This hotel is worth the extra cost, you will not regret it. PLEASE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY HERE, YOU WILL LOVE IT.

Room Tip: Facing the lake is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ThomasHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear ThomasHenri

We thank you very much for your outstanding detailed feedback which passed on to all of our staff, especially the ones mentioned by you.

Thank you very much for judging us to be one of the "best hotels over the world" in your critical view as a frequent traveller. I think there is nothing we can add on your description. You stayed at the Carlton and you love the Carlton. Thank you so much.

We look forward welcoming you back soon again! Latest next winter season.

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

One of the best hotels. Interms of service, location and brand new rooms. It's a 6 star hotel.
However,I recommend to increase the room service food offering for vegetarians.
I'm glad that I choose the Carlton.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjsayegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Mjsayegh

Thank you very much for your review and the 6 stars.

We past your suggestion to our chef and for next winter season he will increase the vegetarin choice on our room service menue.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon in St. Moritz.

Kind regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed at several hotels in St Moritz before but this one is by far one of my best experiences in Switzerland. Great food, great service, fantastic views on the lake, amazing suites. Feels like coming home. Let me rephrase that: feels like a royal coming home :)

Room Tip: Get a suite with lakeview :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BartDeL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear BartDeL2014

We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback which we passed it on to all of our staff.

We look forward welcoming you and your friends back soon again!

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Before arriving I had numerous email exchanges with the hotel to make various reservations and plans. My husband and I wondered if the high level of service we received via email would continue when we arrived and I am very happy to say that it did! I had requested a suite with a balcony and specified that it was very important to us to have one. We then ended up getting upgraded to a bigger suite than that which we had booked. It had what seemed to be, the biggest balcony in the whole hotel. It was absolutely immense with a breath taking view over the lake and alps. The entire hotel is truly lovely with a live pianist by the fire in the late afternoons. There is a beautiful little path that leads down to the town center which is really nice and romantic to walk along. The breakfast spread is amazing, probably the best one we experienced during our two weeks of travels through the Alps. This hotel is top notch!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTMAC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Geschäftsführer at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear "CTMAC2013"

We are very glad to hear that you had memorable days of your journey through the Alps at the Carlton Hotel and thank you very much for your excellent feedback about the hotel and our staff.

We hope welcoming you back soon again and the entire Carlton Team wishes you only the best for your future.

Best regards

Dominic Bachofen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
659 reviews
1.6 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
2.3 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel St. Moritz

Property: Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Address: Via Johannes Badrutt 11, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz represents a new dimension of self-assured luxury and boasts captivating views from all its 60 suites and junior suites. The location on the sun-soaked plateau above the lake of St. Moritz underscores the quirky and enduring spirit of the Carlton. The complete refurbishment brought to the fore the historical values of the property initially built in 1913, adding a modern, contemporary re-interpretation. The hotel owes its incomparable note to the unconventional style and colour palette. The high-standard of relaxed informality combines with authentic warm hospitality to create a lastingly memorable stay, one that guarantees complete privacy. The Romanoff Restaurant with fine authentic Swiss cuisine and the Italian gourmet restaurant 'Da Vittorio - St. Moritz' awarded with 1 Michelin star and 18 Gault&Millau Points offer two contrasting yet complementary dining experiences. The Carlton spa is the only facility of its kind in the Engadine, boasting a spacious, unique and elegant infrastructure. The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz is where people come from all over the world to enjoy the pleasures of delightful company or withdraw in peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing