We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A St Moritz classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Newly refurbished hotel. The hotel style is a mix of timeless classic and modern. The rooms give a good impression of quality. The colors and furnitures are very cozy and comfortable.
The service was great except the room service waiter who had an attitude. However the hotel manager who greeted us during check in and wished good bye when we left compensated for it.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phenompilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2012

I've been in this hotel for a small week-end of 3 nights. I was with my husband and 2 children 3 y.o. and 5 months. We had 2 interconnections Junior suites 55 sqh each. The rooms are quit big and very nice with a wonderful view. The spa is just wihtout comments - really the best! Everybody was very friendly (special thanks to all concierges!). Due to my job I travel a lot in 5* hotels and this one is the best!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

We thank you very much for your outstanding feedback and we passed it on to all of our staff, especially the ones mentioned by you. Thank you very much for judging us to be one of the best 5* Hotels in your critical view as a frequent traveller. We look forward welcoming you and your family back soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in a junior suite for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Switzerland (we spent time in Zurich and Zermatt as well). This hotel is simply superb. We were both amazed by the entire experience - the attention to detail, the spaciousness of the suite, and the attentiveness of the staff, from our driver, to the concierge, to the butler, to the restaurant staff. We of course expected a very nice experience given the price and location, but the Carlton Hotel exceeded our expectations at every turn. I could continue to use a variety of superlatives to describe this property and its employees, but I will limit it to (1) the restaurant and its staff were outstanding (and the food was wonderful), (2) my spa experience was exceptional, and (3) our every need/want was met immediately and with enthusiasm and constant friendliness. We highly recommend this hotel for a wonderfully luxurious experience and we will most definitely return for an extended stay next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, General Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

We are very glad to hear that you had memorable days of your honeymoon at the Carlton Hotel and thank you very much for your excellent feedback about the hotel and our staff. We hope welcoming you back soon again and the entire Carlton Team wishes you only the best for your future and the lifelong journey together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Very good price-quality hotel, nice restaurants nice pool. I love that hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHStMoritz, General Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you very much for rating us as the "Best ski escape". We are looking forward welcoming you back soon again for some more days of skiing in St. Moritz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I visited the property last week, for both business and personal reasons. The hotel in terms of service and style could not be faulted. The suite (no 10) was stunning, generous and had a little balcony overlooking the valley below. I also sampled the newly renovated spa, which after a day on the slopes certainly eased those aches and pains in my legs! The outdoor/indoor spa pool was a lovely touch, as were the relaxing areas. My only main gripe was the music, both in the main restaurant, bar and spa. But this is just a small thing and easily rectified. I would definitely visit the Carlton again, without hesitation. PS I think its also perfect for families too!

Room Tip: Suite 10 is huge, and a great position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actiongirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have recently stayed in a corner suite. The welcome of the staff was very warm and friendly, the own butler explained all the functions in the room and also the tecnical gadgets of the room.

Unfortunateley both of the tables in the living room have been scratched - I would expect that the interior is better maintened in a 5star hotel. Also the caffee portions for the Nespresso coffee machine have not been replaced. This are 2 little details but that is what a guest expect when he goes to a 5star hotel.

Great breakfast buffet with much choice!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton-StMoritz, Front Office Manager at Carlton Hotel St. Moritz, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback about your recent stay at the Carlton Hotel, we appreciate your points mentioned in the review and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your one night stay. Due to your feedback I have personally checked on the furniture and I do completely agree with your comment. Necessary steps have been taken to address the situation. The coffee portions are replaced during the daily housekeeping service in the morning. We have made a note for your next stay that we will provide the coffee according to your requirements. We truly hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to prove that we live up to your expectations of a 5 star property and thank you for having been our guest.
Best regards,
Dominic Bachofen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

i was only able to stay here for one night but this was one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. the setting was gorgeous, looking over St. Moritz lake. The hotel was pretty empty when I went so when we were at dinner and breakfast we had about 10 people waiting on us. The employees were excellent and so nice. The rooms themselves were wonderful. It is definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: suites are the best way to go even though they are very expensive (we got our own room butler!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emilynunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel St. Moritz

Address: Via Johannes Badrutt 11, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland (Formerly Carlton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: $727 - $1,803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Hotel St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz represents a new dimension of self-assured luxury and boasts captivating views from all its 60 suites and junior suites. The location on the sun-soaked plateau above the lake of St. Moritz underscores the quirky and enduring spirit of the Carlton. The complete refurbishment brought to the fore the historical values of the property initially built in 1913, adding a modern, contemporary re-interpretation. The hotel owes its incomparable note to the unconventional style and colour palette. The high-standard of relaxed informality combines with authentic warm hospitality to create a lastingly memorable stay, one that guarantees complete privacy. The Romanoff Restaurant with fine authentic Swiss cuisine and the Italian gourmet restaurant 'Da Vittorio - St. Moritz' awarded with 1 Michelin star and 18 Gault&Millau Points offer two contrasting yet complementary dining experiences. The Carlton spa is the only facility of its kind in the Engadine, boasting a spacious, unique and elegant infrastructure. The Carlton Hotel St. Moritz is where people come from all over the world to enjoy the pleasures of delightful company or withdraw in peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Hotel St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing