We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenation of a Grande Dame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rejuvenation of a Grande Dame”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Service was always wonderful in this most glamorous of alpine resort hotels. But after a century the Palace was starting to show its age. So we were happy to discover that a subtle restoration has taken place. All the original character remains - along with the lovely staff - but it no longer feels dated. Now it truly lives up to its chic guest list and is more fun than ever. The Kings Club was jumping when we stayed just before Christmas and the food in the main restaurant much more adventurous. Happily they have done nothing to the Renaissance Bar, surely the most convivial in St Moritz, and certainly the place to spot real celebs off duty. We have been coming for years and I don't think the Palace has ever been better. Grand, yes. Snooty, no.

Room Tip: Worth paying the premium for the lake view which is sublime
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    46
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
95
182
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Badrutts palace is a luxurious hotel that beams with a decorative richness and a tangible sense of elite history. Traditional but yet still up to speed with levels of quality and service of the best hotels in the world its not surprising to learn that this place has an indelible reputation as one of Switzerland’s top hotels. Warm smiles, classically uniformed doormen and personal butlers greet its guests at the door.
The spa is first rate, with outdoor infinity pool a serene treat overlooking the magnificent local landscape and treatments to die for. It boasts its own ski school with personable and professional instructors, restaurants that offer cuisine beyond imagination in terms of what they are capable of creating and an infamous bar where youll find the world's elite out to party. Yet what is most impressive is that all of this is pulled off without any real sense of pretension. Everything here comes with genuine and personalised service that is the signature of Badrutts. A truly memorable stay. I was lucky enough to spend my birthday here and celebrated with a day I'll never forget; palace shaped birthday cake to boot! 'Palace' is definitely the operative word here. A bucket list kind of stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SophMcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

As one of the world's best hotels, one would expect great things from Badrutt's Palace - but it still manages to impress, surprise and enchant.
The location is jaw-droppingly beautiful, overlooking the mountains and lake - which, in winter, fulful every tourist's vision of a Christmas card. And despite the wilderness views, it sits right in the centre of St Moritz - among the kind of high-end designer stores you'd usually expect to find in Paris, Rome or London's Bond Street.
Visitors come for luxury - and that started, for me, at the railway station, where I was picked up in a gleaming Rolls Royce. The sense of quality and exceptional service continued at every level - from the cheerful concierge staff to the the waiters, management and even to the ski hire shop, where the staff were more than patient with this particularly demanding skier! And, knowing there is nothing worse than being kept waiting, I was delighted to see how quick and efficient they were. Only top of the range ski equipment too.
A highpoint is the food - with even the simplest dish given a luxurious spin (a room service breakfast dish of eggs Benedict came topped with generous truffle shavings). The deserts were out of this world (the only problem being that they looked so good, it seemed a crime to eat them).
Guests pay for style, comfort and luxury, and get it in abundance. But what was surprising for me, was how friendly and un-stuffy the hotel was. This 'grande dame' of the Swiss Alps is a cheerful and welcoming place. The smart Italian-speaking door staff and porters were always ready with a smile and a joke, as were the incredibly enthusiastic chefs and wine cellar manager.
There is a deep sense of pride at Badrutt's Palace - everyone seems happy to be a part of this historic hotel, and, while the hotel has its fair share of rich and famous guests, it is in no way intimidating.
Price wise, it is not for all budgets, but it is very good value for a treat. And there are some surprising out-of-season deals which make it far better value than many faceless corporate hotels.
I'll never forget my few days spent here. And I am sure that is also true for the other guests - which is why so many of them return.
Certainly the best hotel I have stayed in, anywhere, I can't wait to go back. If you go, expect to enjoy the travel highlight of your life.

Room Tip: For the ultimate treat, go for a suite with a view. You won't want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TimH625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place to stay even in the Summer time. Peaceful area. Best view. Great pool and spa. Gourmet cuisine. All these facts together with the history of the palace makes a stay more like travell in the world of splendour. And by the way - restaurant Chesa Veglia that also belongs to the hotel - is the best I've been in Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just AMAZING. Everything from the pool area with the mountain views, the food, the service, the wonderful rooms and the very kind and helpful staff. I had a fabulous stay and really hope to return one day. After spending many winters skiing in the Alps, I now find it very difficult to look at any other venue as my wonderful stay at Badrutt's Palace has spoilt me for evermore!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueG264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

No better word than trying by yourself, which I did! Astonishing services and all included in the rate, even the ski pass, it's the only hotel does it for free.
The chauffeur service is outstanding.
The staff no need to say, really friendly, but over all they meet our expectation of the level service quality from the restaurant to the bar to the SPA area, all of them seems to be your own buttler.

No need to say about the quality of the food, and I shall recommend as well their next door restaurant CHESA VEGLIA, what a wonderful old house with 3 type of food, I did enjoy it twice, especially the Pizza Dame Blanche (with black truffle) and the SOLE GRILLEE, perfectly made, price are correct considering the quality and the atmosphere of the place.

St-Moritz as a lot of luxury hotel, but the BADRUTT'S PALACE has one more thing which makes the difference: the location, right in the heart and facing the Ice lake.
Their SPA is really one of the best I did experience.

Last but must say, is really about the staff overall, unbelievably professionnal (old school, but reel) and so friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: Well I had a room on mountain/city side, but was very happy with it, as it was on the 7th floor, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VABIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Badrutt's Palace is definitely one of the best hotels in Swiss Alps, great rooms, fantastic cuisine, a choice of wines... everything! Rooms with the view to the lake and balconies are the best in my opinion. Service is even more than 5 stars. Plus an unforgettable skiing experience on Corviglia, thanks to local ski rental and ski school located in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SergeyRasskazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#14 of 33 in St. Moritz
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 33 in St. Moritz
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badrutt's Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badrutt's Palace Hotel

Property: Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Address: Serlas, Via 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Badrutt's Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badrutt's Palace Hotel has and always will be remembered for its comforts of the highest degree. It offers 157 elegantly appointed guest rooms including 37 suites and junior suites, as well as seven restaurants and three bars. Every guest is made to feel like a V.I.P. when they are picked up from the station in the hotel's own Rolls Royce and driven to the traditional Grand Hotel where they are waited on in their suite by their own personal butler. Access to Palace Wellness with fitness centre, sauna, steam rooms plus indoor and outdoor pools offers guests additional relaxation after a day's skiing, while the ice skating rink and entry to the legendary King's Club nightclub provide exclusive entertainment. All included in the price of the room, on top of the "Ski Pass Inclusive" (as of two nights or more) - are the refreshment bar, WiFi internet access, movie channels and a media library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Badrutt's Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Badrutts Palace
Badrutts Palace St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing