We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badrutt's Palace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hotel heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I don't like St Moritz, but I love Badrutt's Palace.

An ode to great hotellerie.
An army of waiters, doormen, drivers, porters, florists, maitre d'hotel...what a wonderful fuss!
Service is impeccable. Customer care is like a dream.
The Rolls Royces as shuttles are very over the top, but hey, why not.
Cake and sweets in the room are a lovely welcome touch.

The "living room" decor is quirky and very Swiss.
The spa and pool are lovely. The outdoor pool is great.
Breakfast is the best I have ever had. The quality, freshness, care. Delicious.
And the service...perfect.
Starched napkins and tablecloth with fine bone china.

View on the lake is amazing.

The sister restaurant Chesa Veglia is absolutely amazing and charming. With impeccable service too.

I could spend a month holed up in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lapis-philosophorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    43
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
81
170
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Elegant classical luxury hotel with superb service and attention to the smallest detail.
Guests will feel spoilt without being smothered by the outstanding service of the courteous and sincere staff.
Staff is clearly proud of working in this great hotel.
Breakfasts are superb. Spa and swimming pool one of the best my husband and I have experienced, and the restaurants are famous world wide.
Rooms and bathrooms are spaceous with plenty of closet space - focused on the ski season!
There is a dress code after 7pm, and when on vacation, it makes for a very special and elegant experience.
Summer in St.Moritz is relatively quiet and the winter is the peak season in this area, but there is still plenty to do and see around the area.
Highly recommend this hotel for special occasions!
Dineke and Javed Sheikh

Room Tip: Spectacular views in rooms facing the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dineke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is tradition at its best. St Moritz is still my favourite for skiing, for service, views and food. The hotel still manages to do classic good service and keep the food superb. The crowd is great, more glamourous over european school holidays but very solid and sophisticated all winter long.

The location for me is ideal as you can walk to the village , shops and coffee places.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

St. Moritz' slogan "top of the world" exactly describes this hotel. I have had the pleasure of staying in beautiful hotels all over the world but this one stood out. The service and attention to detail are unmatched. Granted, we were there in low season but I get the impression that this would be true even at the height of ski season. The concierges (Elias and Giuseppe) went out of their way to help us plan our stay and suggested perfect activities to leave a lasting impression. Five star luxury hotels are not hard to come by and so it is the little things and sharp attention to detail that make a good hotel great. In the case of Badrutt's Palace it is the hot water bottles left on the bed at turndown, Giuseppe's offer to vacuum seal the cheese we bought at an artisan shop, the chocolates given to us "for the road" and the fact that one of the bell staff (Valerio, another standout) personally went to the train/bus station to purchase our tickets for our journey to Lake Como and escorted us to the proper train platform making sure we knew to get off at the right station. On our second day in town Valerio drove us to the tram to take us up the mountain. Shortly after I realized I had left my camera in the car. We did not have phone service but were able to send off an email to the concierge. Within minutes, they had received the message, contacted Valerio, and he returned to the station with the camera. We made the scheduled tram, thus avoiding having to wait 30 minutes for the next one. To top it off, Valerio apologized TO ME for not having checked the car for left items when dropping us off. The breakfast buffet (included in the room rate) was lovely, particularly on days nice enough to sit outside. The staff was always attentive and friendly and made sure we had everything we could possibly want. Also included in the rate were on demand movies, DVD library, minibar and train/bus/tram tickets. When it came time to leave the staff knew we were leaving for Lake Como and Villa d'Este and assured us we were going to the #1 hotel in the world. After our stay at Badrutt's I must disagree. Perhaps they set the bar too high because Villa d'Este was a disappointment by comparison. I look forward to a return visit and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank DuckyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Badrutt's Palace, St. Moritz is by far the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. For us, the pool was what put it over the top, and I don't say that lightly. The views are incredible. Pricey, but you get what you pay for. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tammykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
136 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have never been to St. Moritz overnight, I always just stop for a couple of hours during a trip elsewhere, and since I find the cafés and tea-rooms in the centre quite uninteresting and boring, Badrutt's lounge became my drawing room for those short moments I spend in the town. More precisely it's something between a hotel lounge, a bar, and a tea-room. The atmosphere is definitely NOT that of a big hotel, it's cosy and elegant at the same time and gives you the air of the bygone times. An inspiration by the 19th century England is obvious. There are various sofas and armchairs, everyone can pick the most appealing place to sit and despite the huge space you can feel quite intimate. The coffee is good, I tried some pastry as well, nothing special but ok, and I was there while Ladurée was having a presentation and THAT combination (Badrutt + Ladurée, the old fashioned ambiance and the Parisian pastries) was wonderful. The staff should be more attentive, shouldn't forget the orders and let people wait so much...

Room Tip: I suppose everyone would like to see the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saint-Grail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Amazing! At this "palace" guests are treated like royalty every step of the way. The hotel is also quite child friendly as long as the children don't behave like loud spoiled brats.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room upon arrival, they are happy to show you others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smir5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#5 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.0 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badrutt's Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badrutt's Palace Hotel

Property: Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Address: Serlas, Via 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#9 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Badrutt's Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Badrutt's Palace Hotel has and always will be remembered for its comforts of the highest degree. It offers 157 elegantly appointed guest rooms including 37 suites and junior suites, as well as seven restaurants and three bars. Every guest is made to feel like a V.I.P. when they are picked up from the station in the hotel's own Rolls Royce and driven to the traditional Grand Hotel where they are waited on in their suite by their own personal butler. Access to Palace Wellness with fitness centre, sauna, steam rooms plus indoor and outdoor pools offers guests additional relaxation after a day's skiing, while the ice skating rink and entry to the legendary King's Club nightclub provide exclusive entertainment. All included in the price of the room, on top of the "Ski Pass Inclusive" (as of two nights or more) - are the refreshment bar, WiFi internet access, movie channels and a media library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Badrutt's Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Badrutts Palace
Badrutts Palace St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing