We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a summer destination”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Piz Nair

Piz Nair
Ranked #4 of 34 things to do in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not a summer destination”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Only spending one night in St. Moritz, we decided to take the funicular & gondola to Piz Nair on a sunny July afternoon. One year later, I still have flashbacks to the moment I emptied my wallet at the ticket counter. Suffice to say, it was not worth the money. Unless; a) you have never seen a funicular or b) you have never been on a mountain.
I can imagine that the view is spectacular in winter time. Not so much in summer. As other reviewers have alluded to, there is nothing to do at the top except to cry into a cup of coffee about the money you just spent to get there. Save some money and skip this during the summer.
On a positive note, my girlfriend did snap a couple of amazing photographs. I think she likes to torture me with those!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    72
    15
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koper
Level Contributor
245 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Magic view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We want to ski down from this highest peak on our first day of holidays, but the wind was too strong and the cabins were not driving up. Next day we saw it working and immediately went up. It is on 3057m, nice to take a look down in the valley a little bit, to take some photos and then to ski down - even if it is not sooo long ride as we expected.I suggest to visit the place in nice weather.

Helpful?
Thank 123321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“above 3000m”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

skiing or just sightseeing, worthwhile for the great view over the Swiss Mountains all the way to the Mont Blanc.
Restaurant with good food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank peterat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but go there when nice weather”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We took our ski also up there. It started to be windy and it was not easy to ski down, although iam a good skier. You couldnt see almost anything. The restaurant there was half empty at the time of our visit but the service was very slow and the team there was disorganised. The hot chocolate there tastes good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kompanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wachtebeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“winter vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The view from Piz Nair is really beautiful on a fine day. But if you don't ski, the only thing you can do is going up, enjoy the view, eat or drink something (even outside if the wheather permits) and go down again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piz Nair also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Piz Nair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing