We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxed excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suvretta House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suvretta House
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“relaxed excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

Suvretta is twice as much as Badrutts,but includes full dinner,suit and tie required. The view of the valley is superb,the rooms spacious and beds comfy,fine sheets.Best is the mini drag lift that takes you to a chair lift in minutes,so you can start skiing very quickly.mini bar and water are extra as internet and dvd player.Best view ever from the pool,outside jacuzzi, shell chairs for sunning. Two modern saunas, very relaxing This is real luxury, great swiss service. And Grisons canton is now smoke free as is Berne,now for the rest of the country.Very good food and wine list.. This is one of the worlds finest hotels

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — extra costs for small things
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    25
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
87
105
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

Classic old world charm. Organized from a luxury skiier's perspective. You leave your skis outside when you come back from a day of skiiing, the hotel ensures it is taken into the storage into the basement and ready for you the next day.

Phenomenal food throughout but I thought the afternoon tea I was the pinacle. Relaxed and held in the lobby every afternoon.

Can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Postindustrialnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

Great Hotel, perfectly located just outside St. Moritz.
Offers a skilift, 50 meters behind the hotel, icerink, curling, swimming pool with outside whirlpool and various saunas.

Enjoyed my stay very much, as you are fast in town with the free shuttle bus from the hotel but still can relax with the outstanding views over the lakes of the Engadine valley.
Food and service is outstanding, as well as the rooms. Have been renovated recently.

Can only recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — big and very cozy romms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — try out the hotel in summer time
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2006

Helen and Vic Jakobs continue to provide the perfect ambiance and service you would expect in one of the world's top luxury hotels. Our recent stay the first week of March 2006 was no exception. We are now in our fourth generation staying at the Suvretta House which opened in 1919. The Suvretta House is not glitz and glamour. If you seek this try Badrutt's Palace or the Kempinski Grand which the Russians have taken over. It has a unique personality like being a guest in someone's great home. There is very little turnover in staff from year to year--so your tastes and whims are remembered from season to season. And a lot of the staff have been here for decades. Each star is equivalent to five years of service. Likewise, there are many returning guests. It is a favorite of Milanese industrialists as well as the English, who put St. Moritz on the map in the 19th C.

The rooms range from very elegant to what they call economy rooms on the north side. All are nicely decorated. But again this is about service--moving your luggage, turning down your bed with your bed clothes laid out, etc. etc. In the early evening there is a flutter of activity as the pressers get clothes ready for the evening.

The food is exceptionally good. There is the main dining room in a magnificent hall with oak covered columns where dinner is served every evening from 7:30 PM Dark Suit or Black Tie is mandatory even in ski season. The choices are limited as it is demi-pension, but there is always something pleasing. If you want casual fare, try the Suvretta Club downstairs. One night we were seated at the table next to Boris Becker. Lunch is also available here. They have a special fondue formula which is to die for and when we were there Spargel (white asparaus) was season, prepared in many different manners. Breakfast is either a full buffet in another dining room on the south side or continental style with extras in your room. Abundant choices and the coffee is brewed by the pot.

Now, in the winter Suvretta is about skiing, which I think is the best in the world. Right behind the hotel is val Suvretta with access to the major Corviglia ski runs. The Suvreatta Ski Lift was opened by Douglas Fairbanks in 1924. You can ski right out of the front door over to a T-bar which takes you up Suvretta Chair to go on up the mountain. The t-bar closes at lunch. But in true service the hotel limousine--equipped with ski racks--drove us up to the lift. The Survretta House operates and owns various restaurants on the mountian. There is Chassellas which is at the base, the Trutz at the mid station, another one a the top. We lunched at the Trutz--there is sit down service where reservations are mandatory--the conceirage can take care of this or a self-service line. There are plush chairs to rent and sun bath. This is also a great outing for the down skiier. You can take the chair lift up and down or choose to walk down.

At the end of the day, just ski to the front pochere of the Suvretta House and leave your skiis. The skiis are put away for you each night and ready for your use in the morning. We never take are own skiis as they have the latest models every season and it eases the trip from California. Apre ski is in the main hall with a full service high tea or drinks. Afterwards, refresh in the Suvretta Spa--Sports and Pleasure--perhaps one of the finest indoor olympic size pools in the world with commanding views of the lower Engadin Valley and the only outdoor hot tub in St. Mortiz. Perhaps, only the pool at the Burgenstock is better.

Calm, restful, like being at your best friends' house, describes the special and unique atmoshphere of the Suvretta House--it is all about its location and its people! Tradition does survive.

Only minor changes have occured over the years--they now take credit cards finally bowing to the demand, but you can still wire your funds and they now take small groups--like Barclays Capital from London. There slogan use to be the Oasis for the Individual Guest, but this is indeed a small change, if it lets them continue this remarkable bit of heaven on earth.

Their rates run the gamut based on the accommodation type, but includes service, demi-pension, porterage and transfers from the station. I think that it is amazing value for the money--about $700 per day in the Winter and less in the Summer. You can't stay in a Four Seasons or like caliber resort in the USA for this anymore--and why do it when you can get the original concept rather than some poor interpretation.

Going in and out Zurich, we recommend the Baur au Lac--which just recently completed a four year remodeling project. There hotel car takes you to the train for the three hour trip up to St. Moritz--you change in Chur for the Rhaetische Bahn--the narrow gauge train. The Suvretta meets you at the station train side collects your luggage and escorts you either to the hotel limousine or there fun antique livery bus for the short ride through town and up and out the hill to Suvretta. During the day there is complimentary hotel bus service to the center of St. Moritz running to 7:15 PM--no need for a car here.

Enjoy this remarkable place and savor the service. Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2005

this is by far one of the best in hotels in the world. The Suvretta House is where all of the "old time money" people who have been going to St. Moritz for decades nows stays. If you prefer to live a bit more ostentatiously, i recomment Badrutt's Palace in downtown St. Moritz. As you arrive you are greeted at your car by at least one of the hotel managers who welcome you and wish you an enjoyable stay. The staff is quite courteous and everything runs absolutely perfect. Have had the opportunity to stay at the Suvretta house in the Summer and in the Winter. Winter is the perfect time to go for some of the best skiing in the world. When we stayed there in the summer, the tennis pro had not arrived at the hotel for the season yet, so the hotel arranged for a local pro to come to the hotel for a private lesson. Bus runs regularly to downtown St. Moritz where one can find the luxury boutiques like Gucci, Bogner, and Hermés. Suvretta house has exceeded all other hotels that i have stayed at, and i have stayed at quite a few of prestigious ones ranging from the Plaza Hotel, The Peninsula in New York and Hong Kong, Villa D'Este, and the Baur au Lac, just to name a few. I highly recommend this hotel and plan on staying there myself this coming ski season for a week.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank druu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2004

My family and I have been going there for many years. Impressive location. Exclusive old luxury. Dinner jacket or black suit are mandatory in the lounge after 7 pm and in the main restaurant.
Selected clientele. Top service, except in the main restaurant where an exigent old style maitre keeps giving orders loud to waiters. As alternative there is a less formal restaurant in the Suvretta Club downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2004

This hotel is on my list of top 10 favourite hotels in the world!! Everything is absolutely spot on - the reception staff, the food, the service, the accomodation are second to none. My husband & I could not find fault with anything this hotel had to offer & believe me when I say we've stayed in some great hotels! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.4 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#5 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suvretta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suvretta House

Property: Suvretta House
Address: Chasellas, Via 1, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#5 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Suvretta House 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Suvretta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suvretta House Hotel St. Moritz
Suvretta Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing