We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch in amazing setting!!!”
Review of Muottas Muragl

Muottas Muragl
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Best lunch in amazing setting!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a trendy beautiful terrace overlooking St Moritz, great service, food and people, amazing views and great footpaths around. Not to be missed!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    128
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Must be even better in winter...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

But even in the summer, you are treated to an excellent view, plus an excellent restaurant up top. The sunset is spectacular, too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExpatriateInGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Altough it was rather cold we had a wonderful lunch n their modern terrace where thay had comfortable seats. We enjoyed their cheese platterband had nice wine. Kind service and STUNNING view.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“astounding sunset view”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we were in a groups hosted that evening for a sunset ascent with dinner. The view was truly spectacular! All the lakes of the region may be seen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rayochoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Views, Scary Sledding”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I took a day trip up to Muottas from our hotel in Pontresina. We had a nice walk over, a funicular ride up, and then a beautiful sunny walk around the Philosopher's Trail. The trail was nicely prepared, but there were also opportunities for those with snow shoes to go exploring further.

After a lunch at the snack bar, we decided to give sledding a try - sleds can only be rented at the bottom, so we headed back down to pick them up. Once back up at the top, we gave it a go - this slope is not for beginners, at all. I wiped out on the second turn, which seems to be pretty common - I had been using my shoes to brake myself without much success, so I tried braking into a snow bank and ended up launching over it and landing in some deep snow. It took 15 minutes in the thigh high snow to make my way out (I followed someone else's tracks, so I was not the first one to do that maneuver that day). While I caught my breath, I watched a number of other sledders become out of control at the very beginning. My point is: if you are not familiar with sledding on the wooden bobs, this should not be something you do. There are 20 tight turns and steep hills, and broken bones are not uncommon. I think the resort should make that point a bit more obvious for those considering trying out the sledding.

I consoled myself with a beer, more views, and gawking at the paragliders who were streaming around the hotel. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area, but note that this is one of the few private railways I've encountered in Switzerland that has no discounts for GA's, half-fare cards, or Swiss Passes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KeineRader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muottas Muragl also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Muottas Muragl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing