We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rank” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonne Hotel

Sonne Hotel
Ranked #11 of 108 Restaurants in St. Moritz
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss, European, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rank”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Worst dining experience ever. First off we got seated next to complete strangers. Then given a snotty matron like rude waitress who could not speak english and resented us for not speaking swiss. Point is there were other english speaking wait staff that could have easily served us. We had to send back 2 things as she did not understand what we wanted and was quite rude about it. Food was average at best Pizza bases were good but toppings wrecked them ALL only came with gooey mozzarella - great if you are a 3year old and like clowns- when I asked for parmesan it was just piled on top un-cooked.They need lessons on 1 pizza making 2 manners. Feel sorry for the poor swiss if this s a good restuarant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jed220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    68
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just a walk from my hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

My friend and I arrived after 6 PM on Saturday. After we arrived to our hotel, we took a short walk to Hotel Sonne where we enjoyed some pizzas. Seems like the place was popular since there were alot of people there. Enjoye the food, service and the price was also reasonable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hootiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Convenient location, lively atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had dinner in this restaurant as it was close to our hotel and my friend had tried it before. It is really a nice choice.

It was already very packed when we got there at around 8:30pm. It had a cheerful atmosphere as family would also bring their kids for dinner. Also people would bring their lovely dogs in the dining area. The most impressive dish was the raw beef. Its red colour might look a bit scaring yet it is tender and fresh. It tastes excellent with the cheese sauce. Its food is nice with reasonable price. Its waiters are eager to try to explain the food menu in English to us.

I found one interesting seasoning on our dining table. It is a glass bottle of chili oil. There is the label of “scharfes oil / olio piccante / spicy oil / huile epice” on it. I did try some and there was special taste. It does not have the cooked seeds and is not as hot as the chili oil we would find in the eateries in Hong Kong. Trust that it is popular for the local people in St. Moritz because of its high attitude environment.

It is a pleasant dining experience in Restaurant Sonne.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nemo_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Angleterre
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good value in St Moritz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Ate here on 2 occasions - once approx 5pm and another day approx 2.30pm.
1st time we had pizzas - freshly made and very tasty.
2nd time there was only a reduced menu available as after 2pm - I had veal sausages and rosti and my son had pasta bolognese - both were very good.
Prices reasonable for an expensive area.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, great value, great choices of Italian and Suisse cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

This is our favorite restaurant in St. Moritz. We always stay a week and wind up eating here at least 5 nights. The food is very good, the staff helpful and speaks English. They offer both Swiss and Italian cuisine with lots of choices. The prices are reasonable.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clohanesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonne Hotel also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Sonne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing