We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
227
85
12
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
85
12
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams nice hotel staff were so helpful boiled eggs hot breakfast corner room comfortable room breakfast was included mountain view public transport yogurt the main street easy access minute walk three nights off season train station
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 327 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

We went for a conference in Davos. A group of 4. We rented a room. The room was well equipped and the hotel is located in a good place with amazing view. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was acceptable. But it could be better. Room service and cleanness of hotel was really good. I would recommend it for a group stay.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dr_HB2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear HoBa2015

Thank you for your excellent Feedback. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from sunny Davos

Your hosts
Arabelle& Tom Umiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Comfortable room with a great view. Balcony with chaise lounges was delightful.
I've stayed there previously and was happy to come back. It is a little uphill from the main street and about a 10 minute walk from the Davos Dorf train station.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mountain_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear Mountain_explorers

Sunny greetings from Davos. We hope you had a good journey back home. Many thanks for your visit at our lovely small family run Hotel. We are happy to see that you like and enjoy the Stay with us.
We hope to see you again and wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Your hosts.
Arabelle & Tom Umiker with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We loved our stay in the Edelweiss with our two children (6 and 12 years). The staff were so helpful and friendly. We must particularly mention Hamid in the restaurant at breakfast who was always smiling and attentive and Kyriagos on Reception who went out of his way to help us. The hotel owner gave us really useful advice on Swiss National Day (1st August) and we had an amazing view of a huge firework display. We were wary of the 2* rating before booking but the hotel was better than some 4* we have stayed in and we had no concerns at all. We didn't eat in the restaurant other than at breakfast as I don't think our children would have eaten the food on offer in the evenings. We had an free upgrade to a deluxe family room on the third floor. The room was lovely and had a great terrace with a mountain view but be aware that this room has bunks rather than the two single beds we had booked and it doesn't have the kitchen area which the website shows for some family rooms. Wasn't a problem for us but could be for some families/children so check if you want something specific. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The library rooms are used to serve drinks in the evenings and are stylish and cosy (I can highly recommend the Amaretto Latte!). The breakfast room is traditionally decorated and again was spotless. We had no problem finding a table whatever time we arrived. The hotel give you a free Davos/Klosters travel card when you arrive. This means you can use all the local buses (just climb on!), cable cars, funicular railways and the trains as far as Klosters totally free. This saved us a fortune as we explored everywhere. There are 2 bus stops within a couple of minutes walk of the hotel and the buses are really easy to use. It helped to offset the cost of Switzerland which is extortionate! (not the fault of the hotel - just a fact that if you travel from the UK you must expect EVERYTHING to cost twice as much as at home, including drinks etc. from supermarkets). Meals out in Davos (even at distinctly average restaurants) are very costly. We found it best to eat at lunchtime in mountain restaurants as the food was fresher, cheaper and portions were very generous. In particular we'd recommend the Strela Alp above the Schaltzalp hotel for Rosti and the middle station restaurant on the Parsenne funicular if you like pizza!

Some information about menu options at breakfast would be useful. We only knew what we could order in addition to the buffet because we saw other people ordering e.g. soft boiled eggs or hot chocolate/ovaltine drinks for children. If you want your tea 'English style' be specific and ask for 'black tea with cold milk'. Sometimes we saw people ordering lattes etc. but it was unclear whether this was at additional cost. It just needs a menu on the table. Having said that, there was plenty to eat - lots of different breads, cereals, fresh and dried fruit, croissants, home made jams, yogurt, biscuits and pastries, fruit juices, hams and cheeses.
We'd highly recommend the hotel and definitely stay again if we return to Davos.

Room Tip: Family room 312 if you want a lovely large terrace and big windows
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Familytraveller311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Grüezi Familytraveller311

Thank you very much for your really nice feedback and your impressions during your stay at our hotel and Davos. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and hope you had a safe journey back home.
Our breakfast buffet is varied and offers regional as well as homemade products. Did you know that we produce our own cheese? You can encounter our three cows Ilumia, Heliskia & Luma while hiking in the Alps in summer.

We love our profession with our young and motivated team and are always keen to provide an excellent service. It is nice to see that you have enjoyed a pleasant and restful stay with us.

The Edelweiss is centrally located but nonetheless a very quiet place. Whether summer or winter, our hotel offers an ideal starting point for any sports and cultural activities Davos provides. As our guest you can use also the mountain railways and the local busses during the summer time in Davos which is perfect for families.

We hope to welcome you again soon at the Hotel Edelweiss and maybe in winter time for skiing, hiking, cross country skiing or only to enjoy the amazing Mountain View.

We wish you all the best and will also discuss the suggestions regarding the breakfast internally.

Your hosts
Arabelle & Tom Umiker with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

The title says it all!

The corner room we had was spacious, well-appointed (except there wasn't a kettle or fridge) and very comfortable.

Lovely, sheltered balcony so, when we had a tremendous storm, we could sit outside and watch it without getting wet.

A short walk to a handful of restaurants but quite a distance from others. We spent four nights here and ate at the same restaurant for three nights because it was very good and close by in the stormy weather.

Delicious breakfast, lots and lots of choice and excellent breads. Friendly, helpful staff.

There is a sauna but we didn't use it.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jemimalollipop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Grüezi JemimaLollipop11

Thank you very much for your positive rating and your visit in Davos during the summer season. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel where tradition and modern spirit, enjoyment and well-being, cordiality and hospitality meets.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Edelweiss, maybe in winter time for skiing, cross country skiing, snowshoeing or walking around in wintery Davos.

We wish you all the best and send you sunny greetings from Davos.

Your hosts Arabelle & Tom Umiker With Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

as an alternative to the fancier hotels (off season) we enjoyed the Edelweiss.Compact sufficient comfortable room - with pleasant balcony with lounge chairs. very freindly personel. Excellent restaurant Excekkent around the corner.

Room Tip: get room with balcony
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnielaA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Good afternoon Aniela A

Many thanks for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had enjoyed the stay with us. The view and the quiet location from our hotel invites to relax and enjoy the nature. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you again at the Edelweiss.

Sunny greetings from Davos

Your hosts
Arabelle & Tom Umiker with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews