We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
234
91
15
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
91
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable lounge extensive buffet nice hotel boiled eggs ski room its charm hot breakfast the main street breakfast was included public transport yogurt minute walk easy access off season train station half board congress
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 343 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2017

We stayed here after staying at the top of Stelvio Pass, we had spent the day near Chur on the mountain toboggan in the pouring rain but we had the best time - go if you stay here it's very fast, we howled with laughter! The hotel was beautiful and modern, we were cold and tired by the time we checked in, we were given a plug adapter on request and had upgraded to a balcony room (hoping for good weather but it was cold!). Our room was warm and the bed was to die for, so comfy. We were that tired on this stop gap back to France that we went to the local supermarket (expensive) and bought some nice bits for a snacky tea and chilled in our room and balcony. The bathroom was clean and we were very impressed with the hotel. The breakfast was lovely in the morning and off we went. Lovely place to stay if you are needing a stay in Davos.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2017

Good afternoon Laura119

Thank you for your rating through booking.com and your visit in our family-run hotel.

The view of the mountain scenery is amazing and our rooms with the large balcony to the south invite to relax on one of our traditional sanatorium beds.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Davos

Your hosts Arabelle & Tom Umiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

My husband was very skeptical, but as soon as we walked in we were more than satisfied! It is an easy drive from Zurich (about 3 hours even with passing through Lichtenstein), and it is located kind of on hill which gives a nice view of mountains and the town. The hotel itself is not big, but very tidy, clean, and well taken care of. The staff of the hotel was the best and most accommodating we have ever had. They were very patient explaining everything, giving tips how to get around, and what restaurants to pick. We had the Edelweiss Suite, which looked exactly as how the hotel photos showed. It was a very spacious room on the roof of the hotel with great views. Be aware, this room does not have direct access to an elevator, the lift will take you to the top floor and then a flight of stairs to the room. The accommodations were perfect. The location also great since a bus stop is 5 min away (a bus pass is included with your stay), store to get some snacks and water 7-10-minute walk (closes at 8pm). The train station which is at the base of the Jakobshorn lift was a 15-minute walk. Also, if you would like to try some of the Swiss traditional food, a 5-minute walk would lead you to Bistro Angelo Marchetti (very good food, try the rosti and cordon bleu). The hotel's buffet breakfast was very European style and included with the stay, the food was fresh and tasty! An American breakfast is an option. It was definitely an amazing stay!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Anastacia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2017

Grüezi Anastacia M

Thank you for the great review of our beautiful hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are concerned to offer a personal service and are happy to do our best to make your holiday memorable. In our modern breakfast room in local wodden style we serve you daily a well-balanced and varied breakfast buffet for a perfect start of your day. Do you know that we are really proud to serve local organic products and all our diverse jams, pastries and Birchermüsli are made in-house?
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards

Your hosts
Arabelle & Tom Umiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017

We just returned home from a ski holiday in Davos. We booked the Edelweiss largely due to positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I was skeptical in the beginning. We arrived around 2 pm at the Hotel and were first given a room which was not ready. After reporting to reception we were switched to room 311 which was a triple room we booked. The room was quite big and had 3 full beds, which is not always the case and our son mostly ends up sleeping on a fold away. The beds were excellent and we slept well. The room also had enough closet space for 3 people and also had 2 comfortable chairs and a small desk. The bathroom only had a shower and was not completely refurbished but was ok. What I missed was a small fridge and safe deposit box. The wifi was excellent and the tv had a lot of cable channels in german, french, italian and english. The wifi and the tv were important because Davos is a boring, expensive place and after 6 pm there is almost no one in the streets so we enjoyed our time in the room. The breakfast was included and was good but I missed the opportunity to get an omlette or fried eggs. They only served hard or soft boiled eggs. The ski room was huge and had heated racks and was easy accessible from the outside.The hotel is conveniently located just a few steps from the main road and the bus station which takes you to the slopes. The bus is free with the Davos Guest Card. What I missed though in a small family hotel was the attention of the owners. We stayed in a lot of hotels in ski resorts in Italy and Austria over the past 20 years. Regardless of the size and category, the owners took the time to meet and greet the guests, which was not the case here. But I guess this is Switzerland and the swiss people are just different and seem unfriendly to some other nationalities. At the end of the day I can recommend the Edelweiss if you are looking for a good value for money and a small comfortable hotel. As Davos was a huge disappointment to us I do not think I would return to the city.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedialex65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Dear Aleksandar G

Thank you for your time and your review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to welcoming you at our nice family run and charming **hotel.

In our modern and traditional hotel we set up a high value on a personal atmosphere and are happy to do our best to offer you a comfortable stay and excellent service. It was nice to see that you like the room on the 3rd floor and also the free access to the WiFi. We would also like to thank you for the nice comment in the header.

We kindly ask for your understanding that we can`t offer an omelet or fried eggs in our 2 star superior hotel. We serve you daily a well-balanced and varied breakfast buffet with various bread, croissants, boiled eggs, cereals, local sausage and cheese, fruits, as well as Prosecco, homemade sweets and jams, pastries and Birchermüsli for a perfect start of your day.

It is a pity that you couldn`t enjoy the time in Davos, because during the winter time you can do a lot of things.

We wish you a nice day and hope to see you again, maybe in summer time for hiking, biking or relaxing on the Davoser mountain lake.

You hosts
Arabelle & Tom Umiker with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this cozy mountain hotel. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, the breakfast is good, everything very well furnitured and all the details make you wanna stay for much much longer. A really nice hotel to spend some days in Davos, go skiing, cross-country skiing or just doing some walks.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Reisefuudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Manager at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018
Google Translation

Guten Tag und vielen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung.
Lange ist es her, in der Zwischenzeit hat das Edelweiss 6 Bauettapen hinter sich und sich stetig weiterentwickelt. Alle Zimmer sind komplett neu Renoviert und die gesamte Infrastruktur verbessert. Wir hoffen Sie bald wieder einmal im Edelweiss zu begrüssen.

Sonnige Grüsse aus Daovs, Ihr Hotel Edelweiss Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights beginning of December.
On arrival helpful staff. Breakfast really lovely
Beautiful views lovely room
A memorable stay for a long time to come Shame it weren't longer
Situated near the town and not too far from Davos platz station very quite as well which is nice.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank tce71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Dear tce71
Many thanks for our visit at our beautiful, charming ** hotel in Davos.
The Edelweiss is centrally located but nonetheless a very quiet place. Whether summer or winter, our hotel offers an ideal starting point for any sports and cultural activities Davos provides. We are really happy that you liked the breakfast and also the nice view over the mountains. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. That’s why we serve you daily a well-balanced and varied breakfast buffet for a perfect start of your day.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you again at our hotel.

Sunny greetings
Your hosts
Arabelle & Tom Umiker with Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews