We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bright Spot in Davos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel Edelweiss is great hotel; one of the shining stars of Davos. It is a family-run hotel with 35 rooms, and is modern and clean. It also has a nice living room area and a dining room that is both modern and traditional at the same time. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. Additionally, it is located between Davos Dorf and Davos Platz, so everything is within walking distance. It is hard to beat this hotel for a stay in Davos!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 282 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a wonderful old hotel, full of character and completely refurbished to a very high standard. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed, smart bathroom and a large south-facing balcony offering lovely views over the mountains. There was absolutely no noise at night and I slept very well. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel, with a strong and reliable signal in the bedroom.The staff were friendly, helpful and utterly delightful throughout my stay.

The room rate included an excellent buffet breakfast served in lovely surroundings. It is possible to have breakfast in the garden on fine days.

The hotel is a little way outside the town, being roughly halfway between Davos Platz and Davos Dorf railway stations and about 20 minutes' walk from each. There is, however, a frequent bus service and there is free parking outside for guests with cars.

During the summer season guests are given a card that allows free and unlimited travel on local trains, cable cars and mountain railways.

I was upgraded to a superior room with balcony but even if I had not been the Edelweiss would have been exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: It's worth paying more for a room with a south-facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel offers great service. The rooms are modern (we chose the renovated rooms) and have a lot of closet space. upon checking-in we received a special card which allows you take public transportation and mountain shuttles,...
The room was modern and good. Breakfast was also very nice. When you order a cappucino you'll get a big mug filled to the top. They also have fresh fruit, yoghurt,...
Location is central but very quiet. When you arrive by car pay attention to the one way streets all over Davos.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at Edelweiss for 4 nights for a business meeting and had a lovely stay. The staff upgraded our room for free and were generally helpful and friendly, especially the breakfast waitstaff. The hotel is on a hill, so has a good view of the valley if you happen to get a balcony room. We had a modern corner room, but in retrospect would have preferred a room with a balcony.

Room Tip: Only stay in the corner room if you don't want a balcony and like a modern style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginger_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very convenient to the town center and convention center. Be sure to ask for a balcony! We were delighted when the receptionist offered to have us look at two rooms (basement and first floor) The basement room was large but lacked ambiance however, the first floor room had French doors that opened up onto a balcony with amazing views and comfortable lounge chairs . Unfortunately there is a huge construction project going on a street over which can be loud. However, the back of the hotel has lovely wildflower gardens in which you can sit and relax. Simple breakfast but a lovely dining room to enjoy your coffee and food. Summertime passes are available for free transit on buses and trams which takes you to amazing hiking trails!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rivendellCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Have stayed at the Edelweiss for the second time and can't find much wrong with it. This is by far the most luxurious two-star (superior) I have ever stayed in. I stayed in the roof suite two years ago (amazing view, especially at night with all the stars out) and one of the loft suites this year. Both rooms were spacious and stylish and very clean. Part of the furnishings seem to have come from Ikea and alredy show the wear and tear after two years since the big renovation - but complaining about that means forgetting the hotel category! Receptionists and owners are always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than ample in the beautiful dining room. The only complaint I really had was the slightly sour demeanour of the breakfast staff and the coffee (thinnest brew ever). The room rates are extremely fair for the size and style of the rooms.
The hotel is situated in Davos Platz, not quite near the skiing areas, but there is a bus station 5 min. walk down the road and of course free space to park your car in front of the hotel.
All in all I love it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Owner at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear "zurich67"

Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Edelweiss Davos and your kind review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As it is our aim to continuously improve our service and quality of food we will be definitely looking into the coffee situation during breakfast.

We would be very pleased welcoming you again soon.

Sunny greetings from Davos

Arabelle Sutter & Tom Umiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here 5 days during a meeting at the Kongressplatz. Very convenient to the convention center. The hotel is nicely remodeled in a comfortable if somewhat contemporary style. Room was large and very adequate and a good deal for the price in Davos, where everything is pricey. Breakfast was simple but elegant. I ate in the dining room for the evening meal on four occasions. The food was excellent and service good although dinner was overpriced (25-35 CHF without drinks), but I considered it worth it given the convenience and the fact that meals at restaurants about town similarly priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrayd0ct0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss_Davos, Owner at Hotel Edelweiss Davos, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear “xrayd0ct0r"

Thank you for your stay at the Hotel Edelweiss Davos and your helpful review.

Every day our kitchen staff creates a three course menu with fresh and regional products. At the rate of CHF 25.00 per person and day you can book your stay including half board. If you decide to eat at the Edelweiss only sometimes we charge a daily rate of approximately CHF 30.00 to 40.00 per meal.

We would be very pleased welcoming you again at the Edelweiss during your next conference in Davos.

Best regards,

Arabelle Sutter & Tom Umiker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.4 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
1 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
2.2 mi away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss Davos

Address: Rossweidstrasse 9, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Price Range: $134 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss Davos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Edelweiss DavosRelax where tradition and modern spirit, enjoyment and well-being, cordiality and hospitality meets.Are you taking part in a congress, are you coming for skiing or snowboarding or do you simply want to spend a few relaxing days in fresh mountain air? Whatever the reason for your stay in Davos is – our hotel is the right accommodation for you! The Edelweiss is centrally located but nonetheless a very quiet place. Our hotel offers an ideal starting point for any sports and cultural activities Davos provides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing