We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was there on Opening Day”

Kirchner Museum Davos
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Works by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, the German expressionist, are on display at this fine art museum.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I was there on Opening Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Entrance was free! I am not an avid fan of art museums, but I thought I would check it out and have a look, as I had a free day to myself before course! I ambled throught the four rooms, mimicking the four different periods that this artist went through. A lot of Kirchners' (from Davos) work seemed to imitate Van Gogh and Picasso, so it was interesting to see who his idols and muses were. I would say he had a preoccupation with the female form, but when painted like the great Picasso, little was recognisable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonePlatzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ZH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Guidon & Guyer, Kirchner and lots more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

architecture is as much of interrest as the exhibited art!
building done by one of the most important architect-teams of Switzerand. Early wok.
Also modern art exhibits beside the Kirchner works

Helpful?
Thank klopfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenaz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fine Art Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This museums is not only a brilliant building but has fine exhibitions on the German artist Kirchner, who worked an dies in Davos

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SamyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A real cultural treasure in Davos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Many people are thinking that Davos is only for winter sports, promenades in the mountains or it is a famous Confernce center. There in the mountains, in Davos, the Kirchner Museum shows to the visitors the unique colour mix and the technique of the this artist. Visit the place it is a treasure!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VassiliosFanaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kirchner would like it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This art museum is one of the highlights of Davos. My first impression was not good, because on a day they should be open, I stood outside with three other people knocking on the doors to get in. No notice posted on doors to let visitors know it would be closed. When returned following day, I gained entrance and asked why they were closed, the receptionist said that yesterday was Tuesday, their regular closed day. But yesterday was Wednesday, I corrected her. Why were you closed with no notice posted? She didn't know.
The art collection is excellent, including sculpture and fiber works, but no information in English except for a biography posted at entrance. Downstairs was nice video room with on-going biographic film, but only in German.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AprilArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirchner Museum Davos also viewed

Davos, Canton of Graubunden
Davos, Canton of Graubunden
 
Davos, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to Kirchner Museum Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing