We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Davos
Post
Inbox
Search

“Friendly, cosey and intimate - a perfect lunch venue”
Review of La Carretta

La Carretta
Ranked #95 of 154 Restaurants in Davos
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With snow deep on the ground it was no easy task trying to find a restrauant that was even open lunchtime across the Christmas period. Plent of patisseries, and hotels but small independents not easy. Having walked on the lower road from Dorf to Platz it was like finding an oasis in the snow when we found La Carretta. Only a stones' throw from the slope and the Station.
It was welcoming from the moment we walked in and had great ambiance,good food and the service was warm and friendly. Always a plus to us to also see 'locals' dining ! An extensive menue and certainly not the cheapest place in town, but you get what you pay for and I felt the cost was well deserved.
The 'wall all fame' displaying pictures of former customers was very interesting and I can olny conclude by adding that La Carretta should be a bit higher up the list. Well done and have a great 2020.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

Let's start from the good. The waitress was exceptionally polite. The food average, totally non remarkable just good enough. I had gnocchi with a beer. Just ok. The atmosphere a mix between Italian and Swiss with a lot of celebrities pictures hanged on the wall. Why Bill Clinton would eat here is a mistery to me.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Alberto1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019 via mobile

A family meal of 8 covering three generations.
The children’s meals were timed to come with the mains although informed to come asap. Children were starving. We asked again once the starters came but by then too late anyway.
Then when the children’s food did come, along with our mains they had forgotten to bring one as they misunderstood the order was for two omelettes, one without mushrooms.
The seafood salad tasted like it came out of a tin. Chewy and covered in oil.
The pizza was literally the worst I’ve had ever. It was loaded with stuff but was so wet that in the end we just had a soggy mass on our plate. We could not cut slices to be picked up by hand as it all just fell apart. The only part which stayed solid was the crust.
To top this all off the prices are like in Zurich. A pizza is between 21-26 EUR. Frankly I don’t know how this place has survived this long.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Earache11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

We ended up visiting this restaurant twice in our week trip to Davos. The location close to Davos Platz station is unpreposessing but the food is both local and Italian and delicious (and reasonably priced for Davos).
The chef patron/owner seems to be quite well connected judging by the photos on the wall of the restaurant showing the great and good (i.e. Clinton, Angelina Jolie etc) so must be doing something right?!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

It was hard to get into some of the higher rated Italian places. We asked a local at a hotel and she steered us here. Wow. Such a great atmosphere. And the food was very good. Absolutely loved it!!! A few good bottles in the wine list as well!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Parham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Carretta also viewed

Davos, Canton of Graubunden
 
Davos, Canton of Graubunden
Davos Platz, Davos
 
Davos, Canton of Graubunden
Davos Platz, Davos
 

Been to La Carretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing