We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”
Review of Waldhotel Davos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldhotel Davos
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

High reception manner, convient shuttle bus service make you forget you are staying in hill. Rich breakfast, full of food even on the end of time. High quality dinner, don't miss lobster, it's great. Excellent room service, warm bag on bed in cold evening, banana in room on the day before Marathon really made us suprise.

Room Tip: Baclony room on end of L corridor is small and narrow, try other position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear iaois,

Many, many thanks for your lovely feedback!

It's great to here we could surprise you with little details such the banana (for energy!) before your run or the hot water bottle in your bed in the evening (against cold feed as the run was so rainy) ;).

After all, we hope you were successful in the marathon!

Thanks for staying with us and hopefully we see you again one day!

Best wishes,

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 394 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was by far the best hotel ever! We really enjoyed our stay here and all amenities. The spa is a great relaxing touch and the personalized touches from the staff to the warmers for the beds when we wind down was really enjoyed.

Room Tip: Get a mountain view just breathtaking sitting on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newyorker1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Newyorker1234,

Thanks so much for your very kind feedback.

Wow, it's lovely to here you think we are the best hotel you have visited so far. Thank you so much! That's why were're here for - to make you feel home and enable you a stay you will not forget. ;)

We hope to see you again one day and wish you all the best!

Many regards from Switzerland!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We lived in Davos for 2 years and I have heard a lot about this place and after I read an article about GM, in a Swiss newspaper for Hotellerie professionals, we have decided to spent our second marriage anniversary there (we also got married in Davos).
+ specious room (we had superior room facing mountains with balcony, amazing view)
+ friendly service, especially during evening service in the dining room and the driver was really helpful
+ beautiful bathroom with window (except cheap plumbing, to my opinion)
+ complimentary water, monocle, bathrobes and slippers, book about Waldhotel being sanatorium in 1900's in the room
+ complimentary lemon water, fruits (just apples), tee Lipton :( and sweets which were gone really fast, no refill (on each floor)
+ good breakfast incl. prosecco and egg dishes to order
+ half board dinner was perfect - you can decide between 3-4-5 courses, we had fish tartar, veal, dorado and dessert and cheese
+ complimentary transfer around the village
+ welcome drink during check in
+ pillows filled with hot water in the bed on first night
+ welcome sweets in the room.

- cheap plumbing in the bathroom
- not to many English channels
- we were mentioned by name, no single time ( it is 4 star sup Hotel)
- overall service rather unpersonal
- wellness area is rather old, but it was still nice to use salty swimming pool
- it was our second marriage anniversary (really special to us since we got married in Davos), what we have mentioned, as I reserved the room, and it would be nice to receive greetings
-

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaBelasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear AnnaBelasova,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us, the wonderful rooms, our friendly staff, good food, the shuttle service and the eye for detail.

We are very sorry, you had the feeling that our service was too unpersonal. That's usually really not our style and we hope to get a second change one day, to prove we can do much better.

Nevertheless, we hope you could still enjoy your anniversary and appologize that this got lost in our internal communication.

Many thanks for your honest feedback that helps us to enhance our service continuously.

We hope to see you again soon and wish you all the best!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel is located between Davos Platz and Dorf. That makes it very handy for various trips and excursions. Behind the hotel there is a nice jogging path that links with the lake. The view from the rooms is excellent (valley, city).

So positive sides:

+ it is value for money. Well it is not the cheapest one in town, but you get an excellent value for each CHF paid (room, service, food, spa)
+ excellent spa area (maybe not my design style) but well appointed and almost always empty
+ great rooms with large balconies
+ good breakfast buffet (maybe could be more diverse), but quality of the products is consistently high
+ pick-up service from the train-station (extremely polite driver on the way to the hotel)
+ seamless check in
+ availability of the staff
+ finally Director of the hotel is very present (well his pictures are in all brochures ;) but it translates to really being there and taking care of the details
+ food that we ordered once from room service was delicious
+/- as we were younger then majority the staff was addressing us very formally (Madam, Sir), or quite casually (hi guys!) which was rather funny
+/- one day the room was half-serviced though when reception was called they were there in 3min to fix things

Well like in each place setting expectations so high there are some things that could improve

- driver (other one then on the way in) on the way back from the hotel didn't help with suitcases, which I don't care but he could have helped my wife
- they should impose no photos policy in the spa. One evening there was a guy taking pictures of his lady in the pool and asking others to move etc. He shouldn't be allowed to get in with the camera to start with
- when Internet was down reception was giving longish explanation about supplier's fault. Well, more useful would be to know when it will work again ;) - no need to go defensive
- is some places information in English is missing (breakfast menu, spa instructions)

All in all it is hotel that promises a lot and delivers on its promises. I would recommend it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVA_lmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear GVA_Imb,

Many thanks for your detailed and very kind feedback and for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

We are happy you have enjoyed your room with the wonderful few on the surronding mountains and the city of Davos, the food and the spa area.

It's also very helpful for us that you took the time to let us know which thinks could be improved. I am really sorry the driver missed to help you with the suit cases. That's of course our standard but in this case this should have really not happened. We do have a spa ettiquette that asked our guests to respect others so hopefully you could agree on each other in the end so everybody had ones area of freedom. Also many thanks for the hint with the internet and the English instructions. We have already taken actions for that.

All in all we are very pleased that due to your opinion we could deliver what we promised and you would recommend a stay at the Waldhotel Davos at any time.

Many thanks and hope to see you again soon!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night in July 2014 in a deluxe double room with the gorumet half-board package. Everything was close to perfect; the very spacious and bright room with its south facing balcony overlooking Davos and the Jakobshorn deserves special mention. The spa area is very relaxing, albeit quite small (which didn't matter much though in our case as there were very few people there) and perhaps a bit dated. Dinner at the Mann & co. restaurant was interesting and included a couple highlights, although the quality of the individual courses was somewhat inconsistent (the "simpler" dishes were very well prepared, while the more "adventurous" ones at times left the impression of trying a bit too hard). Good experience overall though, and it included a great wine pairing for each course. Breakfast buffet is abundant and tasty. Staff overall were very friendly, a bit clumsy during dinner service but still charming. Free transfer from/to the station is a nice perk; they even picked us up in town on our way back and brought our luggage along - good service!

Overall a very good experience, and I definitely hope to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Kloddz,

Thank you very much for your feedback and the time you have spent for this. It's lovely to hear that you felt our service was "close to perfect". We are happy you have appreciated your bright room woth the wonderful view as well as the dishes and the spa area. Thank you very much for your hint regarding the gourmet menu. We always try our best and this feedback will help to improve even more.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again one day and we wish you all the best until then!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Having visited now Waldhotel the second time we found it even more amazing then before. Extremely helpful staff support you with your requests, might they be to have a water cooker at your room or to post your letters. Spa is relaxing and well maintained. The menu and wine list are awesome, half board is an example of true excellence. Before we left we found a card attached to our car that hotel staff took the liberty to clean the front shield. It was an experience which we, frequent travellers, would like to have more often. Recommendation!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony to the South and enjoy the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank clamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear clamontheroad,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

It is absolutely great to hear that you have now been the second time at the Waldhotel and really enjoyed your stay! It was our pleasure to host you again and we were more than happy to fulfil you wishes. It's good to hear you appreciated the spa and the food in our restaurants. We would be grateful to see you again soon and send you best wishes from Davos!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were greeted with extremely friendly staff and upgrades on our rooms. The view is amazing from the hotel and, in particular, our rooms. We opted for the half board option and were not disappointed. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear redpoodle,

Many thanks for your friendly feedback! We are more than happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially the great few from your room to the surrounding mountains. It's great that you also liked the halfboard in the evening.

We are very much appreciating you have stayed with us and wish you all the best! It would be wonderful to see you again one day!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
0.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Davos

Address: Buolstrasse 3 | 7070 Davos, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Davos
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#4 Business Hotel in Davos
Price Range: $267 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldhotel Davos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed with an exceptional level of care and personal attention, the Waldhotel Davos is the perfect destination for individualists, connoisseurs and anyone in search of tranquillity, relaxation and distance from everyday life. Nestling among lush pines, the Waldhotel Davos offers an astounding panoramic view over Davos and the surrounding mountain peaks. Operated as a sanatorium until 1957, the historic house was the inspiration for Thomas Mann's world-renowned novel "The Magic Mountain". We look forward to welcoming you soon and offering you our outstanding level of service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldhotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel Davos Hotel Davos
Waldhotel Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing