We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us feel special...”
Review of Waldhotel Davos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldhotel Davos
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We visited this hotel on our honeymoon and would have stayed longer if we had any idea what we were about to experience...

We stayed in 4 star hotels in Venice, Rome, Paris and here but this was the only one that made us feel like individuals. So efficient pre-check in asking if we wanted room additions or restaurant reservations, greeted with a glass of Prosecco on arrival, happy to cook different food on request, had the warmest swimming pool of the lot and the finishing touch was that they washed the flies off the car lights and windscreen over night!!

Brilliant. Thanks Mark & Claire

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m8ymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Claire and Mark,

Thank you so much for these lovely words. These make us feel as happy as you might have been. ;)

We are so pleased we could make your stay memorable, especially because it was your honeymoon. Thanks for pointing out the little details you were appreciating at the Waldhotel. It's our ultimate ambition to conjure a smile on your face and we are more than happy if we could do so.

Many thanks again for your stay! We wish you a long and happy life together! ;) Hopefully we'll see you again one day. :)

All the best! Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 370 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

It was great- just great, every Minute. From a very warm welcome, very Special treats for our 15 months baby, mavelous view from a very spacious room until the shuttle back to the Train Station on departure! Everyone was very friendly, helpful but authentic! Thank you very much for a fantastisc Weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Martina K

Thank you so much for you lovely review!

We are so happy you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and went home with a smile on your face. This makes us same as happy as you might have been! ;)

Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Until then we wish you all the best!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed for a weekend from Friday to Sunday, almost everything was perfect. We had a junior suite with a sauna, which was heavily priced already, so we expected alot.

+ Lots of parking spots available, after the stay i noticed a card on the carwindow which said "we took the liberty to free your car from the snow".
+ The integrated restaurant is just great, service was absolutely great, leaves no wishes open, however its not cheap.
+ The room had everything you could wish for, and our view was great
+ they have a nice cozy spa area with salt water, sauna, turkish bath and solarium
+ you have tea, fruit and biscuit buffet on the floor, when you come into your room the first time there is a free food suprise (doughnuts and cookies and some other food combinations)
+ they check the room twice per day, clean the floor wet and also in the evening they put warm bedbottles into the bed
+ great breakfast buffet, they also have a cook that cooks scrambled eggs and omlettes for you

- when we asked them to make a reservation for us at a restaurant the personell was a bit grumpy and hesitant (but general personnel service was awesome!)
- they didnt offer to carry our bags to the room when we came (but they did when we left and when we arrived it was already late)
- we had to cut some red band for the room when we came with scissors, which personally i found a bit weird. Not sure what the idea behind it was, as its not really a gift or a present.
- as we had a sauna in the room, nobody showed us how to turn it on properly and there was no manual, same for the towel/cloth heater (clothes were wet from skiing). This is only a really really minor thing but still.

+/- the hotel has integrated shuttle service, however the second time we used it it came half an hour late

Conclusion, heavily priced, but well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Christian W,

First of all thank you very much for taking your time for such a revealing feedback!

We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us in total. Thank you for the positive inputs which admit less room for thoughts than the ones with need of improvement.

I am really sorry that the staff have not reacted as you were expecting it when you wanted to make a reservation for the restaurant. I don't know what was the case in this moment but I will definitely follow up.

Please allow my excuse for the fact we haven't ask you to carry your bags upon arrival. This is normally not the way we act and is not confirm to our policy. Nevertheless, I am happy everything went out well when you left.

The red band in front of your room is a funny gesture which aims at the the action of cutting the band at a red carpet for the "inauguration" of your holiday. We didn't want you to get in a negative mood because of this. Quite the contrary! However, we have noted that there won't be such a band again in front of your door if you visit us again.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the sauna. We will difinitely take better care to explain the functioning in detail and already put the manual in the sauna instead of the bathroom where it can be easily overseen.

That we are in a higher price segment is absolutely right. We are not low priced and definitely not "cheap". That's not, what we want to be either. However, as a 4 star superior hotel we have adequate prices for Davos which reflect our level of service as well as the wonderful rooms and the great location with view over the mountains.

All in all, I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and mentioned so many positive aspects. And we will definitely do our best to make your stay next time "absolutely perfect" instead of just "almost perfect". ;)

Many thanks for staying with us and all the best!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The vacation seemed to start well on the kindest reservation process. Any question was answered nicely and patiently . The hotel's van was waiting for us at the train station as promised. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The view from the room is outstanding, even worth not to be on the promenade . The service is so attending and they keep giving you a great warm feeling. Our luggage haven't arrive to the train station on time, And they kept sending their driver till late evening when he brought it all. The shuttle takes you to the ski gondolas or to town every half an hour., and they come to pick you as well, with some delays because they pick other people from a few places.
The food is really good, and if you didn't like something they would replace it with any request. Overall, the dinning staff were amazing. The breakfast buffet is a great one, and the waiters keeps giving you the feeling that they are there for you.
The spa is wonderful. They have state of the art equipment of exercising, indoor swimming, wet and dry sauna, and even physiotherm which is a great heating for your back.
No doubt we will back to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Michal M,

Many thanks for your kind and extensive feedback!

We are so happy to hear that you had a stunning stay at at Waldhotel Davos! It was a shame that your luggage arrived too late but luckily we could catch it later this evening.

It's great that you were satisfied with your room, the food, the spa and service in total.

There is nothing else I can say apart from the fact that we are more than happy you want to visit us again one day! Hopefully sooner than later ;)

All the best!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Perfect hotel, exactly what you would expect from an hotel of this category in Switzerland. Particularly good were the food choice and quality (both in the breakfast and in the half-board dinner with 3/4/5 courses of your choice) and the shuttle service from the hotel to the ski resorts. The room are spacious and recently renewed but you can still feel the magic atmosphere told by Thomas Mann in his masterpiece Der Zaubergerg – in particular on the balcony when you lie on the wood-sun-lounger. To note that the hotel there is also gourmet restaurant (Mann and Co.) which is definitely worth to visit for the lovers of this type of cuisine.

Bis zum nächsten Mal!

Room Tip: Room with view on Davos (Südbalkone) is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Farei,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for pointing out the single services you liked most.
This really helps us to see through our guests' eyes.

It's great that you did not only enjoy your room but also the shuttle service and especially the food.

We would be really happy to see you again soon and wish you all the best!

Bis bald! ;)

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the Waldhotel Davos and it was a most pleasant and relaxing break thanks to the extremely helpful and courteous staff. From the moment that we were picked us up in the hotel shuttle to our last glass of bubbly on the way home we were very well looked after. Dinner at Mann & Co. was definitely a highlight and the spa is modern and very pleasant.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PleasureModel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear PleasureModel

Thank you very much for the kind feedback!

We are more than happy, that you have enjoyed the time at "Magic Mountain".
I will forward the feedback to the staff, they are always grateful for compliments!

I am looking forward to welcome you again at the Waldhotel and I wish you a sunny day!

Warm regards,

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Although it was a good experience over all, I honestly was expecting more after reading the reviews here. No garage for the car and after ordering a drink at the bar about midnight we were granted to drink it in no rush...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigalle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Markbuehler,

Thanks for your pleasant feedback!

We are glad to hear that you had a good experience at the Waldhotel Davos.

It is correct that we do not have a garage for the cars. But our concierges are happy to clean every car in the morning from the snow. This is a complimentary service we offer our guests.

I am not sure what you are meaning by the fact that our waiter told you that there is no rush for taking a drink after midnight. There might have been a misunderstanding and I apologize if this came across in a different way as you have expected. Our bar is open until midnight every day but if you would like to have a drink afterwards, of course we are happy to serve you whatever you like.

I wish you a nice day and hope to welcome you again at the Magic Mountain!

Kind wishes,

Bardhyl Coli, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.8 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
0.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seehof Davos
Hotel Seehof Davos
#7 of 56 in Davos
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Davos

Address: Buolstrasse 3 | 7070 Davos, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Davos
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#4 Business Hotel in Davos
Price Range: $252 - $806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldhotel Davos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed with an exceptional level of care and personal attention, the Waldhotel Davos is the perfect destination for individualists, connoisseurs and anyone in search of tranquillity, relaxation and distance from everyday life. Nestling among lush pines, the Waldhotel Davos offers an astounding panoramic view over Davos and the surrounding mountain peaks. Operated as a sanatorium until 1957, the historic house was the inspiration for Thomas Mann's world-renowned novel "The Magic Mountain". We look forward to welcoming you soon and offering you our outstanding level of service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldhotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel Davos Hotel Davos
Waldhotel Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing