We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort & style on the "magic mountain"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldhotel Davos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waldhotel Davos
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfort & style on the "magic mountain"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the Waldhotel Davos and it was a most pleasant and relaxing break thanks to the extremely helpful and courteous staff. From the moment that we were picked us up in the hotel shuttle to our last glass of bubbly on the way home we were very well looked after. Dinner at Mann & Co. was definitely a highlight and the spa is modern and very pleasant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PleasureModel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear PleasureModel

Thank you very much for the kind feedback!

We are more than happy, that you have enjoyed the time at "Magic Mountain".
I will forward the feedback to the staff, they are always grateful for compliments!

I am looking forward to welcome you again at the Waldhotel and I wish you a sunny day!

Warm regards,

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    51
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
183
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Although it was a good experience over all, I honestly was expecting more after reading the reviews here. No garage for the car and after ordering a drink at the bar about midnight we were granted to drink it in no rush...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigalle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Markbuehler,

Thanks for your pleasant feedback!

We are glad to hear that you had a good experience at the Waldhotel Davos.

It is correct that we do not have a garage for the cars. But our concierges are happy to clean every car in the morning from the snow. This is a complimentary service we offer our guests.

I am not sure what you are meaning by the fact that our waiter told you that there is no rush for taking a drink after midnight. There might have been a misunderstanding and I apologize if this came across in a different way as you have expected. Our bar is open until midnight every day but if you would like to have a drink afterwards, of course we are happy to serve you whatever you like.

I wish you a nice day and hope to welcome you again at the Magic Mountain!

Kind wishes,

Bardhyl Coli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
219 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

As a hotel should be but seldom is!
Upon arrival we were greeted well with a drink whilst our luggage was taken to the room. The room was very nicely presented with decent and not tired furniture, very nice light & solid maple parquet. The view was excellent with a large terrace. The bathroom was modern and in excellent condition. WiFi available everywhere and included. The staff were competent and friendly and fall over backwards to help. Even better they learn: if you ask for milk in the tea then the next day a jug of milk is available by the floor bar. The shuttle bus service was also excellent, just ring and they come immediately to collect you; no delay and always friendly and have no problem to take you anywhere. Although the hotel is a little way up the hill, with the shuttle you don't have to struggle at all, the location is an advantage, very quiet. We all slept well too. Breakfast buffet was ample and excellent and the evening (half board) meals were also excellent, you could even request the other dishes on the menu in addition. The spa was also more than the usual token with a decent proportioned salt water pool plus sauna, hamman infra red cabin plunge pool etc. Garage parking is possible if you reserve however the staff even brush snow off the cars to stop a build up so a garage isn't essential. The whole hotel was in an excellent condition and was very clearly excellently managed by the omnipresent head.
We couldn't think of any improvements and will certainly return. This is how a hotel and stay should be.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilGgibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear CecilGgibley

Many thanks for your pleasant feedback!

We are more than happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Waldhotel Davos that much.

That is correct, you do not have to struggle the hill (you are in the holidays...), our shuttle bus drivers are always glad to drive you or to pick you up somewhere.

We would be very delighted to welcome you back at the magic mountain soon!

Kind wishes from Davos,

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I cannot recommend this place.
The management was rude and unhelpful.
It is far from any central activities. I might even say the place is overpriced.
This place has seen its best days. I hope that management really reconsiders customer service and retention policies...

Stay awake from the Waldhotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finddboo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear finddboo007,

It is a pity to hear that you consider us as not helpful after we have done everything to satisfy you.

You arrived at the hotel, checked in to your double room with south balcony and started to realize, that our hotel is not in the centre of Davos next to the bars and clubs.

According to your own statements you wanted to stay in a “party hotel”. Sorry, that’s not what we are.

After you said, you don’t like the room either and you want to check out immediately, we offered you a suite without any surcharge to keep you as our guest.

That was also not what you wanted. You just wanted to leave due to the fact that the hotel was not in the nightlife area.

I know that you are unsatisfied because you had to pay the first night but this is no reason for running down our staff or management style.

And I also waived the second night so you didn’t had to pay it – because I knew we can probably still sell it to another guests.

However, I hope everything turned out good for you in the end and you found another hotel which is located more centrally.

Best wishes,

Bardhyl Coli, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I booked a table at Mann & Co. for my wife's birthday. After entering the restaurant we were nicely surprised to see that we got the best table, decorated with rose leafs and a personal birthday card from the restaurant staff. That nice start was just the beginning of a very memorable evening. The food and service was excellent - something one might expect in a 16 points GaultMillau restaurant. Yet, what we found truly remarkable was the extremely friendly and professional staff. Whilst the restaurant itself could give a little bit a stiff impression (probably it is a specific decoration style that is not totally in line with my liking) it was the staff that made all the difference. Humble and in the background, yet always attentive and present. Especially remarkable was their - I presume - rather young age which combined with their easy going - yet highly professionalism attitude made it to very relaxed and enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Tabaski

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are happy that you and your wife have enjoyed the birthday with us.
Thanks for the pleased feedback about the Mann & Co.-staff. We will pass the positive response to them, they are always delighted to hear that!

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you and your wife again!

Kind wishes from sunny Davos,

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the whole Mann & Co. team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only 1(one) night however we felt that we are supposed to stay more night especially when the sky was blue during winter time. The staff were quite helpful and provided a good insight of town. The building has some historical track although it was a sanatorium for the sick during old time. The restaurant are nice and neat and everyone tried to get the window table though and the arrangement of the table should have been better so it won't be too cramped. It is a bit difficult to walk down into the town (they provide shuttle though) as the property is a bit on the top of the hill however the view from the room were magnificent.
We love Davos and the road trip from Innsbruck were magnificent which include the car train in Vereina...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 29hario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear 29hario,

Many thanks for this kind rating.

We are happy that you have enjoyed the stay at the Waldhotel Davos.

It is correct, we are a little bit up in the hill - but you know, only there you can enjoy the beautiful view over Davos and the Swiss Alps. Our shuttle bus drivers are always happy to bring you in less than 2 minutes downtown Davos.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind wishes from the Magic Mountain,

Your host
Bardhyl Coli and the Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in Waldhotel Davos for a combined business and leisure trip. The service was excellent and "to the point", views were fantastic, the room spacious, airy and comfortable. It was a pleasure to stay there and to work there, not to forget the sophisticated dinner at "Mann & Co". In brief: highly recommendable.

Room Tip: South Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Clamontheroad,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

We are happy the Waldhotel offered you a good atmosphere to stay AND work at a comfortable place and get your job done whilst enjoing just being here.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again one day!

All the best!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Davos

Property: Waldhotel Davos
Address: Buolstrasse 3 | 7070 Davos, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Davos
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#4 Business Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldhotel Davos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed with an exceptional level of care and personal attention, the Waldhotel Davos is the perfect destination for individualists, connoisseurs and anyone in search of tranquillity, relaxation and distance from everyday life. Nestling among lush pines, the Waldhotel Davos offers an astounding panoramic view over Davos and the surrounding mountain peaks. Operated as a sanatorium until 1957, the historic house was the inspiration for Thomas Mann's world-renowned novel "The Magic Mountain". We look forward to welcoming you soon and offering you our outstanding level of service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Waldhotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel Davos Hotel Davos
Waldhotel Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing