We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized, friendly, great room and pure wellness !”
Review of Waldhotel Davos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldhotel Davos
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Personalized, friendly, great room and pure wellness !”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We wanted to stay a weekend in Davos coming from Zurich and selected this hotel based on the great reviews here on Tripadvisor - and we had a fantastic stay indeed. Already at the reservation we were impressed, the hotel called us to clarify ages and needs of our 3 kids to make sure they offered the right room. The check-in was very personalized - including a ribbon the hotel had placed in front of the suite where the kids could "inaugurate" the room !! We stayed in a suite room, absolutely amazing view over Davos, large terrace and accomodates easily us + 3kids so recommended for families. What is great about this room is that it divides in 3 - one room for the kids, one room for the parents (each with own tv) and one grand bathroom / wellness area... so when the kids go to bed the parents can still enjoy the evening ! Breakfast is very nice buffet, service very friendly and evening dinner is good. When the hotel heard it was our daughter´s birthday they made sure to surprise us with a wonderful cake at the end of the dinner, candles and all... the kids were overwhelmed. The hotel is far from any skilift but the hotel shuttle will bring you anywhere you want in Davos with no waiting time and will pick you up with simple phone call so no hassle there and very personalized luxury. Finally, the swimming pool (heated/salt water) and sauna - hammam areas are very clean and comfortable, the kids are also welcome there and enjoyed it very much after heavy day skiing. Net, not the cheapest hotel but well worth the investment in a no hassle, great relaxation and sports weekend - be sure to see us back there !

Room Tip: Families with (smaller) children should definitely consider suite room -they are amazing and allow t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zurichparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Zurichparis,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I am so happy to hear that you and your kids had a lovely time with us and we could surprise your daugther at her birthday!

For us it's wonderful to hear that want to come back one day! Hopefully we see you again soon!

Many thanks and all the best!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the Waldhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    52
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
184
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had the best experience at Waldhotel (dec 2012). Absolutely incredible service at this hotel. All the front desk staff and the drivers of the vans, the housekeeping staff, everyone was amazing. We were made to feel so warm and welcome. We highly recommend this hotel as we have never had better service than this. The facilities in the hotel are fantastic and so is the food. Would love to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanno09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Shanno09,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I am so happy to hear that you had a lovely time with us and esecially emphasise the friendliness of the hotel staff.

For us it's wonderful to hear that you would recommend us to your friends and want to come back one day!

Many thanks and all the best!

Your host Bardhyl Coli and the Waldhotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in Dec 2011. I was with my husband on a conference and as we were staying a week, the hotel upgraded us to a suite( fireplace, split level room with a balcony overlooking Davos) . We could not ask or anything more. We also went half board as it was the start of winter and didn't want to walk out in the old at night. Quality of meals were great and there no repeats of food the 6 nights that we were there. Breakfast was great as well.
Staff was friendly, and very personable. Attention to detail was amazing.The General Manager also went around to each table to have a chat. Indoor heated Pool and sauna was fantastic. We cannot praise this hotel enough.
We would definitely be back.

Note- there is a free shuttle service that can take you into town or it's just a 15 min walk. The view from the hotel far outweighs the walk. They also do pick ups and drop offs for the train station when you arrive/depart.
Would also recommend taking ther Bernina Express.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view of Davos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KW&GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback!

We would be so happy to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your hosts Maria and Bardhyl Coli
and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Location: Hotel location is on the hill so advantage is very nice view if you book a room facing south. There is a hotel shuttle bus so you don't have to walk up and down hill if you don't want to.

Hotel: Hotel has nice rooms specially if you book larger rooms. What I personally don't like is the construction while the reception and restaurants since it is an old building have very low ceiling, it doesn't look very spacious like I like reception and restaurant to look like. But it is just my taste.

Food: Food is very good. If you book dinner you will have course Menu with really tasty and well prepared food. You also have possibility for one night to additionally paid to have dinner in special Gourmet Restaurant. The food there was interesting something you don't have opportunity to eat usually.

Room service: Room service was ok, they make your room twice a day. Staff is generally very kind and helpful.

Wellness: Hotel has very nice wellness area with swimming pool,sauna, steam sauna, massages and solarium. It is very nice area, everything is clean, they take care about every detail, you have towels, apples, water. It is really nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have more beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aknarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback!

We would be so happy to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your hosts Maria and Bardhyl Coli
and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here for one week, and overall it was a very good choice for the week. We were in a junior suite on the 3rd floor. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable; the balcony was also very large, with a spectacular view over Davos. The room was a bit dated, and offered no mini-bar, fridge, coffee maker etc. The bathroom was nice, also spacious, with a double sink. We ate numerous meals in the resturant and found the food to be good overall, with the exception of the "meat loaf". Breakfast was fairly ordinary, a buffet with the usual scrambled eggs, and assortment of breads, cheese and yogurts; an omelete bar would have been nice, given the price of our week here. The lounge provides a nice area for a drink or coffee, it is very quiet and relaxing. If you are searching for a night life, this is not the hotel for you. We could not get a drink or food past 10pm. The spa/pool is very lovely and immaculately kept. The location of this hotel can be cumbersome at times, they have a shuttle which is excellent, but it only runs until 6pm, so if you are out in the town late and it is cold you will have to take a cab back, which is pricey too. The shuttle is great for dropping off and pick up at the ski lifts. Davos is an amazing town and the skiing is worth the trip. The Waldhotel, offers a nice, quiet, but expensive retreat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCHCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback!

We would be so happy to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your hosts Maria and Bardhyl Coli
and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We staid at the Waldhotel for just one night and we really had a great time. The Junior Suite at the 5th floor was big enough to fit a family insight. The view over Davos was unbelievable and the service teriffic. Davos is worth a trip and specially in winter. We were at the spa area and specially the "Grotte" was fantastic. Later in the evening we went for dinner at the restaurant. It was delecius and the service really friendly. Thanks to Susann at reception. We hope to come back to Davos another time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Statti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback!

We would be so happy to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your hosts Maria and Bardhyl Coli
and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I ended up going to Davos Switzerland while already on our month long Europe trip. Had we known what Waldhotel Davos offered and how beautiful and stunning Davos was, we would have stayed longer! Great customer service. The pool, sauna, etc. was AMAZING! Only thing that I could say that would improve anything at all would just be a fresh coat of paint and a spruce up, and this place would be even more unbelievable. We've already recommended the hotel to a relative, and hope to go back!

Room Tip: The view towards town and the mountains is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lschrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldhotel D, Geschäftsführer at Waldhotel Davos, responded to this review, March 2, 2017
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback!

We would be so happy to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,
Your hosts Maria and Bardhyl Coli
and the entire Waldhotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.8 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.3 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Davos

Property: Waldhotel Davos
Address: Buolstrasse 3 | 7070 Davos, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Davos
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#4 Business Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldhotel Davos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Managed with an exceptional level of care and personal attention, the Waldhotel Davos is the perfect destination for individualists, connoisseurs and anyone in search of tranquillity, relaxation and distance from everyday life. Nestling among lush pines, the Waldhotel Davos offers an astounding panoramic view over Davos and the surrounding mountain peaks. Operated as a sanatorium until 1957, the historic house was the inspiration for Thomas Mann's world-renowned novel "The Magic Mountain". We look forward to welcoming you soon and offering you our outstanding level of service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Waldhotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel Davos Hotel Davos
Waldhotel Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing