We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delicate surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berghotel Schatzalp
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a delicate surprise!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

I was a bit taken a back when i saw the finucular to take me to the hotel but it became one of the highlights of my stay. What a wonderful scene! The hotel was once a hospital gor tb and has interesting rooms with big bathrooms. Very comfortable and authentic. Good breakfast and panoram8c restaurant. I will come back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedriyehulya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    58
    33
    21
    21
See reviews for
37
101
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is old and has a crumbly charm, but i had a problem with the management charging me for an extra meal even though we had paid for half-board package. the desk staff couldn't resolve it, and then apparently there was no manager at the hotel to speak to but they promised someone would get in touch and that never happened. I'm afraid to say that ruined the whole experience for me and I will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhalmossawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is a non-stars rated at all. The staff was very unfriendly and the standard room that we received was very old with no view, even with no TV and a bit small and ugly one. The price we paid (via the Booking.com!) was for a 4 stars. You have to park your car down (have to pay) and have to carry your luggage by a cable train to the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mevron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our 3rd stay in Schatzalp. This review is for the Berghotel Schatzalp and the services it provides.

[+] We liked:
- the quietness and peaceful atmosphere of the place;
- the views from the superior room;
- the quality and dedication of the service provided specifically by the Slovak, Czech and Hungarian servers working in the dining room and at the bar (Peter, Jana, ...).

[-] We still however did not like:
- only the superior rooms facing South are worth it and come with an extremely premium price (the standard rooms and the rooms with "mountain (=wall) view" should be avoided;
- the management confuses the meaning of "heritage hotel" with run-down furniture, dirty carpet, chipped paint and Spartan comfort;
- the incompetence and rudeness of the Swiss staff and Management. I'll explain below:

Our whole experience at Schatzalp has been spoiled once again by the Swiss employees and Management of the hotel, who not only ignored the basic rules of service towards guests, but also considered it perfectly normal to be rude and aggressive towards my pregnant wife and myself.
The only element which may have triggered the events was our difficulty to step fast enough into the cable car BELONGING TO SCHATZALP, even though we were obviously overloaded with 4 luggage's and a bike (and my wife being pregnant!). One of the staff was present at the top station, but only shouted at my wife to hurry, instead of providing any help. At the bottom station, another staff member arrogantly slammed the door of the luggage storage room right in the face of my wife and intentionally refused to provide any help at all.
How did they dare behaving like that with guests and with my pregnant wife in particular, I still wonder?!
My wife immediately called the Manager of Schatzalp while I was loading the car, expecting apologies and a swift improvement of this situation, which he blankly rejected. He also refused to call me back the same day, even though he was asked to do so via the staff at the reception desk. He also ignored my email sent the next day.

They might find it normal that they are free to choose the tone used with foreign guests, or that guests of Schatzalp have no claim to make on the service which is expected from a quality place. This should however not be the case, particularly for a city hosting major international events.

In our many travels around the world, it is only in Switzerland, and particularly this last Saturday at Schatzalp, that we have been treated in such a disrespectful and unacceptable manner.

Overall, we will never set foot at this hotel and would highly warn foreign guests about what can only be qualified as an obvious racist behaviour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank groovy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our four night stay. At first, I worried a bit about how old everything felt in the room (or balcony with rotted railing). But if you can get past first glances, this hotel is great. We were running in the Swiss Alpine marathon (78K and 21K) and needed a place that was quiet and relaxing. The location high above Davos Platz gives you some incredible views and fresh air floating into your hotel room. Breakfast was pretty good - the right healthy food that we needed and very early breakfast access for race day. We had a buffet dinner the night before the race and enjoyed it. There are some good hiking trails along with beautiful gardens to explore. My only complaint is that you need to catch the last venicular at midnight. We took an 11pm venicular and the hotel bar was shutting down... on a Saturday night...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NH48K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel was booked for a company event with a wild party going on all night long, which the staff would not let us know prior to our arrival. We werer booked in a room directly above the restaurant, so there was no chance of falling asleep all night long. We got bardly any excuse, let alone a financial compensation.

Furthermore, the furniture is not so much antique, but just worn down and a little lousy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fluffypow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A strange, mixed bag of a place. Located high on a terrace overlooking Davos, accessible by a cable-car. The building used to be a luxury sanatorium where once, before the discovery of antibiotics, wealthy patients came in hope to cure themselves of tuberculosis - a place and time made famous by Thomas Mann in "The Magic Mountain" Later converted into a hotel, it is now in a partial slumber, waiting for another stage of renovation, plus an ambitious extension project, currently on hold. There is an lod-fashioned ski-resort behind the hotel ("slow-ski") and a sledding run from the hotel down to the bottom of the cable-car.

A good place to escape the hectic of todays world, take long walks, sit in the sun, take in take in the mountain air and contemplate what the emergence of multi-drug resistant pathogens might once again have in store for this world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kugelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.1 mi away
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
#1 of 4 in Davos Platz
58 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
2.9 mi away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
163 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ducan
Hotel Ducan
#1 of 1 in Monstein
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Schatzalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schatzalp

Property: Berghotel Schatzalp
Address: Promenade 62 | Talstation Schatzalp, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Davos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#14 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Schatzalp 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a peaceful location 300 meters above Davos this traditional hotel is reached by a short ride on the Schatzalp funicular (four minutes) from the main street and enjoys glorious panoramic views across the valley.Bedrooms: The rooms are in old style but have charm and are very comfortable. All rooms have bath or shower, wc, telephone, radio, and modem connection and there is also free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and the hotel lobby. All south-facing rooms have a loggia (large balcony for sunbathing). Superior south-facing twin rooms are very spacious.Meals: breakfast buffet and five (winter) /four (summer) course dinner are served in the hotel's dining room, or in the Restaurant Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Berghotel Schatzalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schatzalp Davos
Berghotel Schatzalp Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing