We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful secluded mountain hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berghotel Schatzalp
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great mountain hotel in an amazing location with many many opportunities around, hiking, schittelbahn, biking, relaxing, botanical garden..... Something for every age!!!

Room Tip: If u can take a room with a balcony and mountain view!!! Breathtaking views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcat4mjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family stayed at the Schatzalp Mountain Resort in Davos for three nights and we had a wonderfull time. We occupied the private Chalet which was absolutely top class and totally private with panoramic views of the mountains and Davosamd located just next to the hotel. The Chalet counts 225 sqm with three bedrooms and a huge living dining area and fully equipped luxury kitchen. The bathroom are great with very luxury fixtures (rain forest showers) and marble finish. The TV is about 70-90 inch from Pioneer and it felt like watching a movie in the cinema. The hotel provided a very good breakfast (they also provided extra servings if asked) served in the chalet and the service was VERY friendly and effiecient. The Schatzalp also offers lots of activities such as walkin/hiking trails, mountain bike trails, a mountain botanic garden exhibit including the famous Edelweis flower as well as a summer "bob track" which was a LOT OF FUN to use. They have two restaurants and a mountain Alp chalet (15 minutes walk from the hotel) where you find good food. We had dinner in the Panorama Schatzalp Restaurant and the food was excellent and the views of Davos breathtaking! The wellness area is also very nice and newly renovated with a number of nice saunas. The hotel bar is cozy and they have a real big screen to show movies etc in the adjacent TV lounge. To get from Davos to the Hotel (and back) you must take the hotel owned and operated "Schatzalp Bahn/ train" which takes you straight up to the hotel for free in just a few minutes. The Schatzalp Hotel sets you back in time and it feels like a "time-gone-by-place" where nothing matters except fresh mountain air and breathtaking views complimented by warm as well as friendly Swiss hospitality. Overall we can only recommend the Schatzalp Hotel as well as the Chalet and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The Chalet with 225 sqm is the ultimate experience but maybe too big for some travellers so book a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We arrived to a hotel expected to be a four star in Switzerland. We had booked a room with a mountain view. The view was towards the backside of the mountain and not the view one would expect. We upgraded the room to a sunny side, which was the real mountain view. The room we got was a tiny one with a small double bed and the bed was nothing for anyone over 180cm tall. Next to a bed, taking the rest of the space of the room was a closet, which was totally broken one and from 60s. We felt like cheated. Then the bathroom! That was maybe two squaremeters together with a shower and wc. Totally ugly, probably also from 1960's and not renovated since then. After that we checked the balcony, a green fake grass covering the place, partially broken filled with white plastic and having old ugly and broen furniture. The price of this glory room is above 400 chf per night. If one takes half pension like we did the disappointment is beoynd understanding. We ordered a Greek sald. We got mashed Greek salad that looked and tasted that someone had bited it before putting it on the plate. We will never ever go to this hotel again. SAC huts are better class in Switzerland than this hotel with a better food and beds than this hotel, but a lower price with a same or better view.

Room Tip: not in this hotel, rather go to SAC hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MBuhrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

If you want to feel like 100 years ago? Visit this Hotel, it is like a museum. Me and my friend vistited it while we got a Groupon-Offer so that's why we stayed, assumedly, in a room which was not renovated or got a slight touch of renovation, altough the basic (Shower, toilet and bed) where fine (no television). You could say that If the owner just does only a fresh up by colour and a bit interior decoration the rooms could be very trendy while retro style is inn now. We enjoyed Schatzalp's beautifull Jugendstil decoration, the Salon was impressive and everthing has it's Jugendstil-like details. Dinner and breakfast where fine and Unfortunately we could not visit the renovated Sauna area. The private balcony is very big and has two (original!!) reclining seats which also appears on some old pictures of the time Schatzalp was a Sanatorium. Hotel Schatzalp has it's own mountain train which takes you up or down in 5 minutes to the city of Davos. And a 3 minute walk to the first lift which takes you to Schatzalp's ski-area is ideal für winter hiking, sledding and families with small childeren.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The best location I have ever stayed at. It is set above Davos, you get there by funicular. I was there in March and the weather was wonderful-too warm for the skiers. Ski passes for the mountain were included , although I don't know if that was just for our party or is routine.
Service was slow but for me, good. Food was superb. Dining room has mirrors to reflect the wonderful view. Rooms simple but adequate. No TV!
I was there for a conference, so can't comment on normal costs. However I would love to return on holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

What we liked about the hotel was, of course, the exceptional situation,but also the beautiful restaurant and the lounge with the open fire. Breakfast was good, but dinner was outstanding; our compliments to the chef.
We were not so enthusiastic about the bedrooms as the furniture was rather worn; you won't feel like relaxing in such a decrepit armchair. But worst of all was the dreadful out-of-date bathroom with its primitive shower, plastic curtain and leaking taps.In 2012 you can reasonably expect a more modern bathroom, even if the hotel boasts itself on its Jugendstil heritage. Finally the corridors are really depressing!
The hotel has great potential, which, however, is not made use of.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mucky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during our legal conference. We were really impressed by the beautiful location above the town - the hotel is accessible only by funicular rainway from Davos. The views from the hotel are splendid. Nice ski slopes are easily accessible from the hotel - slopes are nice, "blue" level and very well taken care of. You can also ride down to Davos on sledges.

The atmosphere of the hotel is very unique. Definitely no high luxury but everything very functional and comfortable preserving the old style of the beginning of 20th century. We really enjoyed our spacious corner room with view of the valley, spacious balcony, spacious and comfortable bathroom. Maybe, we would prefer if there could be a minibar in the room.

Dining in the hotel is above average but nothing really special.

The prices is little bit higher than I would expect (as the hotel does not offer any traditional "luxury") but this is probably expectable in generally expensive Switzerland.

In general, we just felt very well in this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CzechTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
8.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ducan
Hotel Ducan
#1 of 1 in Monstein
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
2.9 mi away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
181 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Schatzalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schatzalp

Address: Promenade 65 | Talstation Schatzalp, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Davos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
Price Range: $144 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Schatzalp 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a peaceful location 300 meters above Davos this traditional hotel is reached by a short ride on the Schatzalp funicular (four minutes) from the main street and enjoys glorious panoramic views across the valley.Bedrooms: The rooms are in old style but have charm and are very comfortable. All rooms have bath or shower, wc, telephone, radio, and modem connection and there is also free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and the hotel lobby. All south-facing rooms have a loggia (large balcony for sunbathing). Superior south-facing twin rooms are very spacious.Meals: breakfast buffet and five (winter) /four (summer) course dinner are served in the hotel's dining room, or in the Restaurant Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berghotel Schatzalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schatzalp Davos
Berghotel Schatzalp Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing