We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near cablecars in Center”
Review of Zur Alte Post

Zur Alte Post
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zur Alte Post
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Perfect location for a good ski holiday. In center of Davos near a lot of restaurants, the hotel was pretty nice and the people in the reception as well. The room was big and we had a good breakfast. at the beginning of the season for one night you get the Skipass for free. Why is only 4*, because it has no parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Zur Alte Post
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Looks very cosy, pretty and snug. Has a lovely front bar where, extraordinarily, smoking is allowed. Not good news to me, but to some it's a blessing.

However, the restaurant is an absolute rip-off. Recently shared a few portions of fondue with some other people - less than one portion per person - plus a green salad and a bottle of very average Italian wine between a number of us.
The 1.5 litre bottle of wine cost a staggering 132SF - about £90!!

When the bill was totalled, my share was about 85 SF - £63 - for some lettuce, some melted cheese and a dozen lumps of dried bread plus two and a half glasses of wine. Others paid the same for even less. Staggering.

Dine with caution.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EalingOtterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed two nights with my wife and one-year-old daughter. It is very conveniently located about a 2 minute walk from the Davos Platz Bahnhof (train station), very near the Migros and Coop grocery stores and lots of other restaurants and shopping. The room was smallish, but clean and well-kept. We had a private bathroom with shower and free wireless internet (which was rather slow for us), but no TV, balcony, or much of a view of the mountains. The staff spoke excellent English, and was friendly and helpful. We had no trouble getting a baby bed for our daughter, and there was a high-chair in the restaurant. The included breakfast was simple but good, and the hotel restaurant had a limited menu (mostly pizzas) but was very good.

Overall, this we found this to be exactly what we were looking for: relatively inexpensive, conveniently located, and clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Stayed there for 1 night while visiting relatives. Basic rooms, nothing fancy, but very clean, perfectly nice bathroom (with very hot shower). Location is close to the railway station in the middle of Davos Platz. Very quiet at night, so got a good night's sleep.
Did not eat at the restaurant this time, but had previously visited - great food & charming restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebbi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank meer_sommer4Strand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sabine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ochsen
Hotel Ochsen
#44 of 56 in Davos
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Davoserhof
Hotel Davoserhof
#48 of 56 in Davos
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Strela
Hotel Strela
#27 of 56 in Davos
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Davos
Club Hotel Davos
#13 of 56 in Davos
212 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dischma
Hotel Dischma
#12 of 56 in Davos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Alte Post

Address: Berglistutz 4, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Price Range: $110 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zur Alte Post 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zur Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing