We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curate's Egg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Meierhof Davos
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Curate's Egg”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My friend and I booked a week at this hotel through a UK walking holiday company. We were pleased with our single rooms, smallish but comfortable, free wifi, lovely pool, helpful reception staff and well located for the station and buses. BUT, the downside to the location is constant traffic noise, compounded by the much too loud live piano and singing from the bar so it was hard to relax in the room from late afternoon to evening. Our real disappointment was the food. I dont like a big breakfast, so the local yoghurt and honey and fruit plus breads was fine for me. Until the morning when we were informed there was no more butter! When challenged the staff reluctantly produced a small slab of butter, this is not good service. We really really did not like the dinners. The first night was barbecue night, when we got there very little choice was available from the buffet tables, the fondue chinoise was awful we had to ask twice to get the bouillon hot enough to cook the meat. The food bore no resemblance to any food I have ever eaten in any Swiss hotel and seemed to me that the chef was writing fancy sounding menus which did not translate as well cooked appetising dinners. We were shown the dinner menu at breakfast and asked to choose then what we would like. We quickly learned that a good lunch of rosti mit ei or bundefleisch and cheese was necessary and much more tasty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    71
    26
    24
    16
See reviews for
38
105
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the mierhof Davos and had a wonderful time. The staff were pleasant and polite at all times. Breakfast was great with a wide variety to choose from. The room was comfortable and clean there was plenty of hot water. Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamlou2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have found the comfort of the beds in Switzerland varies greatly. In fact most beds are downright uncomfortable. Not so the Hotel Meierhof in Davos Dorf. Crisp white linen and soft matresses made my stay a delight! My bathroom had a shower over the bath, tons of hot water and a good selection of soaps, body lotions and toiletries. But no shampoo and no conditioner! Not a problem as the supermarket is nearby. My room also had a small bar fridge. Wish Swiss hotels had a kettle in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowlandsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights arranged through a British travel company. We first stayed here in 2006 but the hotel's ownership has changed since then, so we decided to see if there were many changes. In fact little has changed, the general friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the bedrooms is still very good.
Buffet breakfasts with lots of choices are provided and dinners are 4 courses with choice of main course - fish, meat or vegetarian.
The hotel does cater for tour parties and the fairly large dining room can get rather noisy on occasions.
The general dining atmosphere could perhaps be improved - often there seemed to be no one person in overall control and the waiting staff were not sure who had done what! For example a waiter takes the order for wine and another waiter arrives with the first course before the wine has been served. On one night there was obviously a major problem in the kitchen as both the soup and main courses only appeared after a very long time.
Davos is a long spread out community but this hotel is in a convenient location, being close to the bus stop for all the town buses which are free to tourists staying in the town. The local cableways are also free, as are trains for several miles in both directions, so the possibilities for walks are almost endless.
There may be better hotels in Davos, but most are far more expensive, so we would probably choose the Meierhof again in a few years time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

very nice 3 night stay nice room excellent food very friendly staff

a very pleasant stay on our Swiss holiday

close to lifts and buses also to the station which was useful after a tiring long walk to Klosters on the Panorama route which I highly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is located about 5 minutes walking distance from the cable car. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable with a solid (i.e. very good) bed. Bathroom was also spacious, very clean and pleasant. The restaurant serves good-quality Swiss food. Service at the restaurant and in general was hospitable and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is within 5 mins of Davos Dorf station and has a bus stop outside which connects the 2 Davos rail stations. A big bonus in the summer is that guests receive a travel card which gives unlimited free bus, train and cable car, etc use in the Davos, Klosters valley area, with a few limited exceptions.
We had booked a superior room in the newer building, joined to the main building. We had seperate bedoom, lounge/dining area and bathroom and balcony, all of which were of a high standard and kept clean.
Ther is a good swimming pool and sauna area.
During our stay the hotel was dominated by organised parties, over 1/2 of guests, and service appeared to suffer because of this. The parties tended to eat at the same time and the staff seemed unable to cope with everyone at once, with other guests neglected.The staff did not appear to understand the wine list and twice the wrong bottles were supplied initially, as they only seemed to understand red or white wine, not varieties of each
We stayed on half board, there are only a limited number of restaurants in Davos, away from hotels, and the food was disappointing. Breakfast choice was limited, with little fresh fruit, and the hot food was poor. Dinners were average, but the special Fondue night was very disappointing serving meat Chinoise style, which was poorly rec'd by most guests. Good idea, but badly presented. Staff, with a few exceptions, overall were not greatly interested in the guests and were just there to do their job.
On our last night we went "a la carte" at the hotel's Jarno restaurant. The food was excellent, proving the chef's have the abilty, but not used for half board guests. The price of a 4 course meal was CHF86, which was fair for Switzerland and the quality.
Talking to a number of repeat guests it appears that the hotel's food and service standards have fallen significantly since a change of ownership around 2 years ago, and its highly rated reviews are more indicative of the past, rather than the present.
This hotel has the potential to be very good, given its facilities and location, but needs to resolve the service and food issues, and to make guests feel welcome, not just part of another organised group, who will be gone tomorrow.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms provide better views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonytourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.4 mi away
Turmhotel Victoria Davos
0.3 mi away
Bunda
Bunda
#30 of 56 in Davos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Club Hotel Davos
Club Hotel Davos
#13 of 56 in Davos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof Davos
Hotel Seehof Davos
#7 of 56 in Davos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meierhof Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meierhof Davos

Property: Hotel Meierhof Davos
Address: Promenade 135, Davos 7260, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meierhof Davos 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Meierhof Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing