We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable apartments with an eye for the detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solaria Feriensiedlung
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

After a second visit to Solaria (Ski trip in March 2012 and summer trip in July 2012) I can highly recommend this establishment. Both visits I stayed in the classic apartment for two persons. The apartments are very clean, modern and contain about everything you may need. The kitchen-area was very well equipped, which is not often the case at aparthotels. The staff at the reception are very helpful and keen to make your stay pleasant.

The reception closes at 18:00, which can be a drawback if you get back late from skiing or hiking. The hotel is located a 5min walk or short busride from Davos-Dorf and the Persennbahn. Babycots and high-chairs for babys available on request. Washing machines and dryers can be used at an extra charge, which is a great comfort for families with babies. Internet (Wifi with fast speed) and Parking are charged separatly.

All this combined with the excellent tourist infrastructure at Davos makes Solaria a place to recommend and return to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halvklart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Solaria Feriensiedlung
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Two friends & I rented an apartment at the Solaria for part of a nordic ski vacation in the Davos area in March 2012. The apartment had everything we needed & was comfortable, with an excellent ski storage room. We had some trouble getting WiFi to work in the office/lobby, so resorted to using the Solaria guest computer for email. But you can walk out your back door and be on the Davos nordic trails, so the location was excellent for our purposes. We found the Solaria to be within walking distance of Davos Dorf, and we used the free guest card provided to us by Solaria for bus and train travel thoughout the Davos-Klosters area. The hotel staff provided quick & easy transport to/from the trainstation which was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We arrived at this hotel and it is like town apartments. People from the town as well as tourists stay here. Our ground floor studio room had a rubber like floor which was cold. The room had a dining table and was self contained from the point of view of having a small stove, fridge sand pantry-which was well stocked with equipment. The bathroom is fine. The bed is a sofa during the day and a bed at night, with a trundle bed underneath which you pull out. This was unexpected and disappointing as it was not conducive to a good nights sleep. It had a communal lundry we could get a key to use. We found Switzerland expensive to eat in. The hotel is not really in walking distance of the town.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAXOM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed here for two nights and thought it was the best self catering apt I've stayed in. Usually with self catering apts you have to go out and buy all your own cleaning products, but here they supply them which is great. The apartments are a few minutes walk from Davos Dorf or you can get the bus which just stops outside. I was only there for a short time so didnt get to avail of all the other services they offer. Staff were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Stayed at the Solaria for one night in June. Arrived late so reception left a key in a safe place for us. (TIP - If arriving late ring in advance). Arrival pack full of information, leaflets, discounts etc. Room was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Bathroom spotless. Furnished well and stunning views.

Checkout in the morning very smooth, very helpful friendly staff. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_RNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed at the Solaria traveling on business, choosing it because of the price versus other hotels, traveling to Davos for a conference. Thus, staying there was a bit atypical of its usual clients, and I very much suspect the good rate we got was because the conference was before the summer season. The rooms are definitely not set up for your typical business traveler in that they are more mini-apartments for families/couples on holiday, and have a little kitchenette. The beds were comfortable, the apartment very clean, the staff very helpful.

The Solaria is a bit out of the downtown area, which means you have to walk to get to the majority of the restaurants, however, it is not too far, so that is a minor inconvenience. The bus out that direction is not overly frequent, but the 300 m to where the frequent buses run is not a big deal. Indeed, being a bit out of town has its perks in terms of traffic and parking.

So, being generally positive about the place, there were a few negatives. First, and I think this is because I was there as part of a conference, when I contacted them a week before getting there to tell them I would be leaving a day early, I still had to pay for that night. Second, the reception is only open during limited hours (8-12, 14-18), so if you get there when they are not open, you wait. Third, they had breakfasts delivered in a bag to your room, as opposed to have a place to sit down and have nice fresh bread, etc. This probably works well for some, but I enjoy less.

In the end, I would not hesitate to go to the Solaria again, and it would work very well for leisure travel with a family.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We were heading to Davos to go snowboarding (first time on real snow abroad) sopaid £90 a night for 4 nights at the beginning of March (compared with over £200 a night for a hotel). For this we got a studio room, with a sofa that turned into a double bed. Very clean, very well kitted out, everything looked new. and loadsof heating so never got cold when we were inside. Also complex has a locked Ski room for storing all the kit, including a blower system to dry your boots out overnight.

The apartments are about a 10 minute walk from Davos Dorf, but we only walked a couple of times at night time as the local bus (which is free as you are staying at the apartment) stops right outside the complex (runs till about 6pm at night), then drops you about 1 minute away from the Parsenn funicular railway access to get you up to the slopes. Staff at the apartments sorted us out with our Rega Skip Pass (177chf each for 3 days) and got a 10% discount in Ettinger Sport for snowboard and boot hire which is right besde the railway as well (good quality gear, everything new, really good service) cos we were staying at Solaria.

Went out for food the first night, found it hugely expensive (and very limited in the Dorf part) so then opted just to cook in the apartment instead for the next 2 nights. All the restaurants seem to be part of the hotels, with prices to boot. All the stuff you could need is in the apartment for lobbing some pasta together, including coffee machine, essential to get you going in the morning!! Plus Solaria offer your the ability to pre-order fresh rolls/bread/croissants each day at a price which appears to be the same as the supermarket.

Makes for a long night cooking in the apartment, so still headed into Davos Platz on the local buses (again frequent and free) and went to Tijuana Bar which is near the train station. Happy hour between 5pm and 8pm so took advantage of cheaper beers. Wanted to make the most of the snowboarding so early to bed.

Only snowboarded at Parsenn as the runs were wide and long, so better for us to practise, but have been told that Jakobshorn is more kitted for proper snowboarding, and is more of a party piste!

So, Solaria, good value for money, very helpful staff, good location for Parsenn (actually good location for all the slopes as all connected by a free bus system)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattyHib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parsenn
Hotel Parsenn
#18 of 56 in Davos
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Central Sporthotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seehof Davos
Hotel Seehof Davos
#7 of 56 in Davos
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaria Feriensiedlung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaria Feriensiedlung

Address: Solariastrasse 4a, Davos 7260, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Davos
Price Range: $82 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solaria Feriensiedlung 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solaria is the perfect combination of independent living, just like you were back in your own four walls, and the service and comfort of a hotel. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solaria Feriensiedlung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaria Feriensiedlung Hotel Davos
Aparthouse Solaria Davos
Aparthouse Solaria Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing