We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room & View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Room was beyond our expectations!! Clean, modern, gorgeous bathroom of dark grey granite, huge tub; comfortable bed; huge window looking out on the Alps. The breakfast was typical European and healthy!
Employees all friendly and professional! A young lady in the dining room went out her way to talk to us,very friendly. Made sure this was passed down to management!!
I hated to leave this hotel, I felt like a celebrity!! We were on a tour..
The hotel is on a steep hill, a tough walk up. Town has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: I am sure they are all great!!! Get a higher one up though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteout22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingo_Schwegler, General Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Whiteout22,

we, the Steigenberger Team, say thank you so very much for your your positive and kind feedback about your stay with us here in Davos.
Your review will be a perfect motivation for my staff and me for the upcoming winterseason 2013/14. After a long period of renovation work during the summertime, we are more than happy to reopen our doors on the 22nd of november 2013.
With pleasure we would like to invite you to visit our "New Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvédère" again during the upcoming winterseason 2013/14.
Kind regards from Davos to Syracuse
yours
Ingo Schwegler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 872 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel, the rooms are sofisticated and the breakfast is excellent.

The staff was not always up to what you would expect from a 5 stars, some were wonderful and others less efficient and attentive.

Location is good.

I recommend it both for business and for leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The positive surprise is that when we checked in we got upgraded to a suite. The suite is big, 2 rooms: living room with a bed sofa and the bedroom. Big wardrobe area. Big bathroom with jacuzzi. Very comfortable and also the location of the hotel is practical and quite. The breakfast buffet is excellent.
The overall cleanliness is not convincing, the suite had quite some dust around and it feels oldish.
The reception provides ski pass service, however something went wrong and we had to re do a ski-pass at the gondola losing quite some time. When we explained the issue at the hotel desk the receptionist was not very helpful and customer oriented telling us that we have to sort it out. Luckily a more experienced receptionist finally was able to solve the problem. This is not definitely what you expect from a 5 star hotel. At least the apologies....

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Clo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

While beautiful, this hotel seems to lack charm and warmth. The same could be said of many of the staff who though generally helpful lacked warmth of any kind. The rooms were nice though somewhat tired as was much of the interior. Really, just average with an above average price tag.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb4ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I guess we have been visiting hotel Steigenberger in Davos ten times. The first time in 1999 or 2000, we cannot remember exactly. We witnessed all the improvements Mr Wyrsch and his staff performed and the few days in Davos in March were for us one of the highlights of winter.
Understandably we were surprised when Mr. Wyrsch in 2011 told us to have chosen another career: still in the hospitality industry, but not anymore as manager of our beloved Steigenberger.
In 2012 we were not able to go to Davos, but this year we spent four nights in Steigenberger. We are not like de grumpy minor Dutch poet, who once wrote: “Every change is for the worse even if it is for the best”, so we were just curious to see the inevitable changes that would have been taken place at the hotel.
Well, to start with the conclusion: our stay was not as pleasant as it used to be, far from it.
It started with the room: we were given a room in front of the elevator. Every room has double doors and the elevator doesn’t give a irritating beep, but we know from experience that you hear people talking when exiting the lift. So we asked for another room.. They promised my husband and I a certain room number, but we had to wait a little. While I waited in the reception area, my husband went out to rent skies. After 5 minutes the lady at the reception desk brought me to my room, but not the room that my husband and I was promised. So when my husband returned, he went to the wrong room and had to apologise tot the people who were inhabiting that room.
The restaurant was okay, but the service was not the one we are used to. The staff tried their very best, but there were not enough of them and moreover, most of them seemed to be junior trainees. A lot cheaper of course.
The matrass on our beds were horrible. Very hard. The good thing is that they found a softer one for me. I was advised to wait in my room for a few minutes. So I postponed my breakfast and waited 55 minutes instead of 5 for the new matrass. The head of housekeeping had to be in a meeting. That can happen, but why didn’t anybody communicate this to the lady at the reception?
I could go on and on: the clock in the sauna was two hours ahead. The towels in the wellness area were smaller than before, the first night there was no turn down service. A significant change is the heating in the lounge, cooler than it was in the past.
The hotel will be refurbished this summer and the next one and that of course is fine. The old lady needs a facelift by now. But the most important part of a hotel is the service level and that should be improved. And please, change the beds! It would also help the skiers if the shuttle was still available during the lunch hours or at least before 1500.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmsterdamReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Steigenberger is touted as the grand-old lady of hotels in Davos.
Most rooms have a very nice view south onto the Jakobshorn ski area.
It is in the city centre next to the main road.

We were looking for a super-restful stay with our parents, one of whom is in poor health.
So we chose what we thought was the "best" house in Davos.
From Hotelplan, a major Swiss tour operator, we were offered a good deal, only to find out that once you included dinner, the good deal turned into quite an expensive stay. We took it anyway, as we wanted the certainty of good care offered by five stars and the Steigenberger brand.

On our arrival we were informed that this 5* house had overbooked.
Overbooking in a 5* house??

We were sent to a 4*. Which turned out be the newly built Hilton Garden Inn, a great place!

We still had to take our supper at the Steigenberger, but they had closed their main restaurant for a group, so we were shifted downstairs. The food was good.

The next day we tried to check into our rooms. We arrived at 1130, and were left to wait until 1430 in the lobby. We were offered no coffee nor anything else, nor any clue as to when we could get into our rooms.
The director of the hotel was nowhere to be found.
The staff reacted miffed at our questions as to when we could move into our rooms.
My parents needed to retreat to their room, but were left hanging in the lobby.
The staff was fully aware, but took no interest.

When we finally were shown two junior suite rooms, the decoration was predeluvial, at least fifty years old in style, mismatched, with half of the items looking as if they had come from IKEA or a second-hand shop, and the other half from a Victorian retirement home.

One of our rooms stank horribly of heavy smoking.
Upon pointing this out, we were immediately given another room, which had been redecorated recently, and was correct.

Missing items: No ironing board, nor tea or coffee facilities in the rooms at this 5* Steigenberger.
The TV was modest. The lights had no central switch.
The 4* Hilton next door had had all of these items, plus a much younger and more fun crowd.

The WLAN was advertised at 19.- CHF per day, but upon checking was given out for free.

The breakfast buffet was great, but the waiter-delivered coffee service always slow. A couple espresso machines in the breakfast room would have done wonders.

Dinner was pompous. The food itself sometimes great, sometimes barely average.

The hotel left us with a feeling that the juniors were running the place while the real management had left them to play with the old house. There was no inner core to the exercise, things were hit and miss.

This hotel is in dire need of a total revamp. It is not a 5* as the term is understood around the world.

This summer of 2013 they are supposedly renovating - besides overhauling all the antiquated facilities, they will also need to put a much more disciplined and guest-oriented management in place.

If you can, book yourself into the new Hilton Garden Inn, or into the Intercontinental that is under construction.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, to a newly renovated hotel with a strong management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Steigenberger Belvedere. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming (and comfortable speaking english, if needed) which makes up for a slight lack of depth of knowledge in some areas. Service was a bit slow at times, but overall no complaints. The decor gives you that European feel while balancing old and new. I've heard there are plans to renovate the hotel in the next year, but I hope they don't get rid of the atmosphere. Our bathroom was already updated and was gorgeous. The hotel is centrally located, easy shuttle for skiing and getting around, but really you can walk just about anywhere you'd want to be. The view from the balcony is a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Seehof Davos
Hotel Seehof Davos
#7 of 56 in Davos
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.5 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
0.7 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere

Address: Promenade 89, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Davos
#2 Spa Hotel in Davos
#3 Business Hotel in Davos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Davos
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#10 Romantic Hotel in Davos
Price Range: $243 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and legendary: the Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvédère combines the traditional charm of a Grand Hotel with the exclusive comfort of a modern building. Located centrally at Davos Platz, the guest can not only spend a fascinating winter holiday in the Steigenberger - it is also possible to enjoy a varied sporting holiday in summer. After skiing or a long walk, relax in the hotel's own wellness area with its sauna, steam bath and its spacious bathing landscape. The town in Graubünden is particularly famous for the World Economic Forum which is held there every year in January and for which the Steigenberger Grandhotel caters for the guests' culinary wishes. As far as conference planning is concerned, our staff can always be counted on to provide creative ideas, such as, for example, a day's meeting in an alpine chalet. And for our holiday guests our staff always has special holiday tips for events in the skiing and holiday region of Davos Klosters. Please note Between January 6 and 30 2016, the hotel will undergo essential renovations for the Annual Meeting Davos. The spa area will not be available from January 16-25, 2016. We ask for your understanding that noise cannot be completely avoided during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Belvedere Davos
Steigenberger Belvedere Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing