We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter stay in Davos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter stay in Davos”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very nice hotel with a warm atmosphere and very helpful employees. The location is away from main roads, close to forest and the cross-country skiing center. We had a beautiful view from our east-sided rooms. I was delighted about the shoe heater in the ski room.

Room Tip: Rooms to the east side have a nice view and you hear no traffic from the hotel itself either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeGe007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagmarweber, General Manager at Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for your feedback at Tripadvisor. We appreciate your effort. We hope to see you beck again at our property and remain with best regards from Davos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    111
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
128
160
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a junior suite over Christmas for three of us. It was very spacious and lots of storage space which is great when you have loads of ski jackets and snow boots etc. Our room had two bathrooms, one with a shower and one with a bath which came in handy. The pool was lovely, very clean and spacious. It was a "textile free" sauna which is always a little confronting for those of us from the southern hemisphere who are not used to getting our gear off in front of strangers. My husband and daughter made good use of the soccer table in the games room. We missed out on the presents from the hotel that other reviewers mention who stayed over Christmas :-(. The free shuttle from the hotel to the ski lifts was great, the lady who drove us was very obliging.

I agree the outrageously priced wifi at CHF25 a day was a downer as was the outrageously priced under cover car parking which I think was something like CHF20 a day. Davos itself was also super expensive, it was CHF162 for ski passes for the three of us compared to EUR100 the weekend before in Champoluc in Italy. Overall we had a lovely week in Davos but I don't think I would go back there as there's plenty of spectacular places to ski in Italy and France that cost half as much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsKat_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is off the main road into Davos on the edge of the woods and just behind a cross country trail. Truly peaceful setting with understated luxury. The rooms were tastefully decorated with an Alpine wood interior. The complimentary hotel shuttle to the ski slopes was very convenient. Hotel staff was very helpful & provided great dinner recommendations. We used the sauna/steam room facilities daily and it was truly rejuvenating. Highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagmarweber, General Manager at Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guests, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are hoping very much for your return and remain with best regards - your Waldhuus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucern, switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent Christmas in this hotel - that part of it was next to magical. We even got presents from the hotel (a cute little bag with nuts, sweet biscuits and chocolates) ... a very nice touch. The room had an overpoweringly timber finish (to go with the swiss chalet feel no doubt) and a coffee machine that wouldn't work - I figured out that it wasn't puncturing the pods properly and so I did that myself and then we had coffee. The "art" in the room was bizarre - golfers looking down at you from the walls took a little getting used to. The bathroom was nicely set up and appointed and the wardrobe space was more than adequate. The breaksfast, however, was less than impressive. This is one of those hotels where you get free wifi in the lobby / reception area but have to pay an exorbitant price to have it in your room (I appreciate that the price is set by the provider - but 25 swiss francs a day for internet access is ridiculous!). There is nothing to take us back to Davos but I would look at other options (as a comparison) if I had to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Teena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagmarweber, General Manager at Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your feedback at Tripadvisor. We appreciate your detailed description. With regards to the wireless internet connection we can tell you, that we are on the way to install a new Wifi net which will allow us to improve our services in this area also.
Best regards from Davos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

I've stay in a lot of place, but when I go in a sheraton I think that everithing must go well! If i'd like a cake that they present to me, I think it's normal they will bring to you, but it easn't so! We have wait for nothing. If you go to the wellness they don't change your towel. So it's good for many things but not for everythings.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zappa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagmarweber, General Manager at Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent evaluation at Tripadvisor. We will for sure review what happend with the service of the cake. There are always opportunities to improve! Thanks again and best regards from Davos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajmer, India
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

In my knowledge, the hotel has recently joined the Sheraton chain for being the best in the mountain resort of Davos Klosters. The alpine feeling and the atmosphere. Seems like the corporate branding is stretching too far and taking away the alpine characteristic of the hotel and its services. I wait and watch.
I would still recommend the hotel for being away from the main roads of Davos. And, really great customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YashAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagmarweber, Manager at Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We have read your comment with interest as also for us it is a daily challange but also an opportunity to combine the personal style and Swiss mountain resort feeling with the international chain. Unless we have a lot of positive comments on our efforts, it is very important for us to get feedback on this subject. We will definitely continue to strenghen our Swiss style and Swiss hospitality. We would like to mention, that this is also one of the major aims of our management company Starwood. Best regards from Davos, Dagmar Weber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Davos Hotel Waldhaus for one night. Everything was perfect, the welcome very friendly, the (superior) room spacious, with lots of woods, nice views to the Alps and excellent sleeping comfort and great bathroom. We enjoyed a drink in the bar at the open fire place and a dinner in the restaurant. Salad bar was fresh and of high quality and we also can recommend the Cordon Bleu with French Fries. Staff was friendly throughout. Garage is available at a modest fee of CHF 8 per night (and we took that option in order to avoid scratching the ice off the car windows in the morning). Our room rate included the breakfast buffet which again was of good quality. The only downside was that WiFi is not free which one would expect at these rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisspigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dagmarweber, General Manager at Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of your hotel. We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us. With a detailed feedback like yours it is very easy for us to motivate the staff for a continuousely good service.
Thank you!
Dagmar Weber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.3 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.8 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Seehof Davos
Hotel Seehof Davos
#8 of 56 in Davos
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos

Property: Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
Address: Mattastrasse 58, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Davos
#2 Spa Hotel in Davos
#3 Family Hotel in Davos
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Davos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos is superbly integrated into the surrounding landscape and is the only chalet hotel in Davos. The homely 93 rooms and suites radiate pure comfort and will make you feel at home in our hotel in Davos the minute you arrive and open the door to your room. Child care and child-friendly facilities are unique in Davos making us the perfect family hotel in Switzerland's Davos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Sheraton Waldhuus
Sheraton Hotel Davos
Sheraton Davos
Davos Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing