We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy, just solid and cosy with good service”
Review of Hotel Seehof Davos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Seehof Davos
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 716 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, just solid and cosy with good service”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for skiing weekend and really enjoyed it, the service was good, especially for Switzerland, the twin room very spacious, they had a good bundled deal for the chair lift and so on, and the cute bar had nice nibbles and funny piano man. The outdoor space was very cosy with big bunches of tulips and fur covers on the chairs so visitors can sit outdoors and splendid view to the mountains from the windows. Really good hotel, solid, nothing fancy, just does that old fashioned thing of service and accommodation well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    84
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
147
40
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Seehof is next door to the Parsenn ski lift (main lift for the Davos ski area) and the bus for access to other areas stops outside the door. The Davos dorf station is only 100m away. The hotel is well furnished, spacious rooms with excellent lighting and tv with wide choice of channels ( at least 16 in English alone!). The restauraunt is excellent- we especially enjoyed the Saturday night dessert buffet with a wide selection of delicious small tasty offerings. staff all very helpful and particular mention to the cleaners who gave order to the chaos of our room every day.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was nice and quiet. Very rapid and efficient lifts so not a worry if you dislik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2Cdoneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
181 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed at the Seehof a few years ago when it was still a member of the Sheraton chain and was unsure if standards would have slipped since it has gone alone and is no longer a Sheraton. Thankfully the Seehof is still just as good. Check-in staff where helpful and efficient. It's a shame that there are steps up to the lobby and no ramp/bell hop to help with heavy bags would be my only complaint.

I was travelling alone and had booked a single room. Fortunately I was ungraded to a small double although this was at the rear of the hotel so had no view. Still it was a reasonable sized and comfortable room. Unfortunately on the day I arrived there was a problem with the underfloor heating which was stuck on full heat. The room must have been over 30c so I spend the first night with the windows wide open to try to reduce the heat. By the second day the temperature was getting back to normal.

Breakfast was good and apparently served until 11am in winter. It's a pity the staff started to clear it away at 10.45am though.

The Seehof's location is one of its best assets. It's 2 minutes walk from the main funicular to the ski slopes, 5 minutes walk to Davos Platz railway station and the town bus (free with the guest card supplied at check-in) stops right outside the front door every few minutes.

Planned to dine in the main hotel restaurant on the first night but arrived to find nobody else in the restaurant at 8pm on a Friday night just before Christmas. I took that as a sign that the restaurant is not popular so chose to eat somewhere busier nearby.

At check-out I was told I had to pay a "city tax" of something like CHF 10 total for 3 nights stay which seemed bizarre. Surely the Seehof could build this tax into the rates it offers so I could have pre-paid this when booking (and paying in advance) with Expedia!

Overall the Seehof is still a good hotel and I would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is a good place to stay
big room , and very clean
A hint , if you can choose a room , choose the roon's with the view with the front of the hotel
the roons with in the back , you open the window and have a street in the same lavel as your room on the 4 th floor

Room Tip: rooms with front view of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassioaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had an Executive Twin room with two single beds joined together to make a king bed. The mattress was comfortable. The room was large. The furnishings and decor were somewhat dated but the pictures on the hotel website are accurate. The decent size bathroom had a tub and separate shower cabin that was really tiny. There was a nice private balcony with mountain views. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was very good.

Although the hotel is located at one end of the Promenade, there were plenty of restaurants nearby... probably as many as hotels in the center of town.

The lack of air conditioning was the biggest problem I had with the Seehof. It was hot in Davos during our stay and the room did not cool off until after the sun had set.

Davos is not a particularly pretty town...it actually bordered on ugly. If you are looking for a quaint Swiss village, this ain't it! We visted in late June/early July and things were mighty quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A lovely hotel in an absolutely fantastic location. We loved this hotel, the staff were polite and attentive and the rooms were comfortable and traditional. We particularly enjoyed the billiards room and lounge. The food was ok but not brilliant. Overall I would definately recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAMES H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Location right next to Parsenn ski lift makes it a great destination for the winter sport enthusiasts. On the other hand the center of Davos is a bit far out and going out involves bus or taxi. There are several restaurants in the hotel with the one in the lobby serving a very rich breakfast.
I got a room in the old building, which was a rather 3 star'ish with an old TV set and bathroom dating back to the 1970s. However, the manager was very responsive and upon first complaint proposed a reasonable resolution.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank anton1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Davos
Waldhotel Davos
#1 of 56 in Davos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ameron Mountain Hotel Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Davos Hotel
1.5 mi away
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seehof Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seehof Davos

Property: Hotel Seehof Davos
Address: Promenade 159 | 7260 Davos Dorf, Davos 7260, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Davos
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#6 Business Hotel in Davos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Seehof Davos 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest advantage of the Hotel Seehof Davos is the situation within the stunning Davos mountains with its skiresorts, but also the silent nature, the lively atmosphere in Davos and of course the situation of the hotel just next to the Parsenn ski lift. Davos is easy reachable from Zurich Aerport by train, taxi or by rented car. The trainstation of Davos Dorf is only 4 walking minutes away from the hotel. Davos also offers a large range of sport- leasure and nature facilities like hiking, mountainbiking, skiing and other snowsport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Seehof Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Sheraton Seehof
Sheraton Hotel Davos
Sheraton Davos
Davos Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing