We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, lounge hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb, lounge hotel”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Grischa is an absolutely fantastic hotel, and staying here was a super experience.
Location: downtown Davos, with only a 5 min walk to the Jacobshorn ski-lift and close to the train station.
Rooms: large, spacious, clean, large designer bathroom, and with a super trendy mountain-chick design feel.
Service: second to none
Ambience: cosy, mountain-feel.
Bars/restaurants: several restaurants located in the hotel and the bar, with its central fireplace is a great place to unwind after skiing.
Other: outdoor parking provided free of charge, with the possibility of indoor parking for a fee.
All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Grischa_Davos, Public Relations Manager at Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Chris2222

Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you have taken to write us. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grischa in Davos.

We would be very pleased to welcoming you soong again and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Kind regards
Corina Buff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    151
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
82
165
48
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Third time in a row for a 3 night- ski package at Grischa hotel, ideally located opposite the train station at Davos Platz. The hotel underwent a major renovation a couple of years ago and there is really nothing to say about the architecture that combines both modern and mountain designs and offers a very nice and cosy atmosphere.The rooms are spacious even for the standard double (suites are amazing!) and well decorated but overheated (this seems to be an ongoing issue). If you like soft mattresses (which I don't), then you will sleep well. Weirdly enough, there are no bath robes or cosmetic products apart from the usual soap/conditioner/body lotions. The room lighting is not always friendly (ladies will understand!) and you do have some "dark spots". I have seen the hotel expanding over the past years, especially in terms of restaurants. A spa would now be welcome, although there is some cosmetic and massage offering I have not tried. An issue I see is that the hotel is not ramping up in terms of staff so that the reception is chronically understaffed and restaurant staff (except for the Leonto gourment, see other rating) is really not up to the quality required for a 4* superior: overwhelmed waiters are not friendly, need time to take the orders and then clear the table (especially at breakfast). So a bit of a disappointment this year as the hotel does not keep its promise. Clearly one of the best hotel in Davos but investment is always needed to keep the first rank!

Room Tip: Look for packages
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Grischa_Davos, Public Relations Manager at Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Traveldine1

Thank you for your feedback and for taking your time sharing your thoughts regarding our rooms and restaurants. Such reviews are very important to us, it will help to improve our services. The relevant departments are informed and have to optimize and improve their services.

We apologize for the disappointment and hope to convince you from our qualities the next time. Hope to see you soon again!

Best regards from your Grischa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel Grischa. The staff were very helpful. Our room was quite large with separate living area and bedroom. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower and tub. There were also two balconies that would have been great in the summer!

As other reviewers have stated, the location across from the train station was convenient. My husband was in town for a course at the conference center, and there was a stop for the bus that went to the conference center right outside the hotel or it was a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownie_the_gateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Grischa_Davos, Owner at Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you have taken to write us. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grischa in Davos.

We would be very pleased to welcoming you soong again and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Kind regards
Maurice Parrée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would like to try and give a balanced view of the Grischa Hotel, we had a good stay, but we did have some issues. The hotel is new, with a great design and excellant high quality finish. The location is perfect for those arriving by train, its 100 meters from the station.

We are english speaking and the check-in went pretty fine, the level of english is no issue, although you do need to push a little for the staff to speak english!

The room was excellant, 3rd floor which is upper street level as its built into the side of the hill. The rooms are very very clean, great layout, warm and to be honest there are no complaints. For foreigner there are various new channels for example skynews, bbc and so on.

The breakfast was a little but of an issue. The restaurant is fine and basic buffet is ok, you can grab enough rolls, cheese, ham and salmon to keep you going! The language seemed to be a bit of an issue with the staff appearing to avoid the couple of non german speaking guests, however if you push them you can place an order for coffee and the various warm cooked (eggs) offerings.

We stayed a week with the ski pass (brilliant....great skiing, great ski rental, great ski storage...no complaints at all on this, both for ski school level and those who want to venture further up the mountain to red and black runs), and half board food.

We had massive issues with the half board! There are 3 or 4 restaurants at the hotel and we were pushed between two of them on various nights! We ended up one night eating in the bar despite the main restaurant being half empty! We asked for explanations on why we were not seated in the designated half board (main) restaurant but amazingly for switzerland nobody could explain! We also faced the issue that the half board menu was not in English in 2 of the 4 nights we ate in-house. The menu changed little from night to night and really it did not reflect at all what was available A la carte....for example how about 4 nights of croque potatoes....when the tables around you are getting Rosti....!

We decided to cancel the remaining 3 nights half-board and ventured out to Davos and found some great places to eat, really interesting, good food and not badly priced. The hotel did refund the days we cancelled the half board and were apologetic, it could well be down to teething issues as its pretty new.

Overall this is a really good, new, stylish Hotel in Davos (Platz). As a Brit with a Swiss wife (!) I would have no major problem recommending this Hotel. Its perfect for skiing and the skiing is so so simple compared to a place like Zermatt. The ambience is good, the rooms are excellant and the service is not bad. I would, as a non swiss, just keep an eye on the half board package, make sure you agree which restaurant you will be seated and try to confirm there is an English menu, but dont expect the same food as a A la Carte.

I think this is a rounded and honest view and hopefully useful. Cheers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank watkinsjpw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Grischa_Davos, Owner at Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you have taken to write us. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grischa in Davos.

Your review and the issues you wrote will be reviewed by the responsible staff. Thank you very much for the input, this is very helpful for us to continuously improve our services.

For any inconveniences we sincerely apologize!

We would be very pleased to welcoming you soon again and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Kind regards
Maurice Parrée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangar, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

When we booked for an extra bed, we were expecting a deluxe room but pleasantly to our surprise, we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite! That was the start of an excellent and luxurious holiday. The suite was very well equipped. Everything was spotless and complete. My family basically stayed in and enjoyed the suite while I went to work. Beds were soft and the comforters were heavenly. Hot water was uninterrupted and the climate control could be specified at the front desk.
The food was great. We ate at 4 of the 5 restaurants and service was commendable. Food quality and presentation were superb. We did not have to wait long for fine dining.
The kids room was the main reason we chose this hotel, and it did not disappoint. The DIY train tracks and Playstation kept our kids occupied and they had loads of fun.
We found our stay so enjoyable that we extended another night. Well worth our time and money. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJYeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Grischa_Davos, Owner at Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you have taken to write us. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grischa in Davos.

We would be very pleased to welcoming you soon again and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Kind regards
Maurice Parrée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visit this hotel as part of a tour related to the Adventure Travel World summit.
The place is beautiful and very well located. You could tell that the owner put a lot of effort to provide a great experience. The place is full of details and preatty well decorated. In has 7 restaurants that offer great food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelCotopaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Grischa_Davos, Owner at Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review and the time you have taken to write us. It is a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Grischa in Davos.

We would be very pleased to welcoming you soon again and wish you all the best in the mean time.

Kind regards
Maurice Parrée
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very stylish hotel with nice rooms. Even though modern design, still cosy and warm atmosphere. Single room was pretty small, bed too soft for me, but I felt very comfortable and at home.
Breakfast room is a little bit dark (nearly no daylight), but good choice of food and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Grischa_Davos, Owner at Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your great review and the time you have taken to write us. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We would be very pleased to welcoming you soon again and wish you all the best in the mean time. Best regards. Your Grischa-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
0.4 mi away
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
#1 of 4 in Davos Platz
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
0.8 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
1.5 mi away
Hotel Seehof Davos
Hotel Seehof Davos
#8 of 56 in Davos
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos

Property: Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos
Address: Talstrasse 3, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Davos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Davos
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
#2 Business Hotel in Davos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 100 metres from the Jakobshorn Cable Car and 200 metres from the centre of Davos, the 4-star superior Hotel Grischa offers 5 restaurants. The Davos-Platz Train Station is across the street, and the congress centre is a 10-minute walk away. The Grischa's spacious and individually decorated rooms are furnished in an elegant Alpine style. Enjoy free internet access in the hotel. Guests of Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos can enjoy Chinese cuisine in the Golden Dragon, grilled dishes in the Monta Grill, and exclusive gourmet cuisine in the Leonto, awarded 14 points by the Gault Millau guide. Regional delicacies prepared with local ingredients are served in the Pulsa Bar & Lounge Restaurant, while traditional fondue and raclette dishes can be enjoyed in the Pulsa Fonduestube. The Grischa also features a cigar lounge, a wine cellar, and a sun terrace. Massages and beauty treatments are available on request. Guests can benefit from the Davos Inclusive Card in summer, comprising the free use of cable cars in Davos and Klosters. In summer, guests can enjoy daily activities organised by the hoteliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grischa - DAS Hotel Davos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Davos
Davos Best Western
Best Western Bahnhof Terminus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing