We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Polite staff, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cresta Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cresta Sun
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent! Polite staff, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here in late June for one night as part of a driving tour of the Alps.

The staff were very helpful and were able to shuffle rooms around when they realised that we'd booked one in the hotel and the other in the apartments (two separate buildings).

The rooms were fairly basic, but clean and comfortable (if a little warm)

We ate in the restaurant (4 courses) and enjoyed every course. The waitress did not speak english but we were able to get by using long forgotten GCSE German

Good location for a walk around Davos, approximately 10 minutes walk from the high street

Room Tip: Be aware that the studios/apartments and hotel are in two different buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
22
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not bad, just that apart from the bathrobes, the Nutella at breakfast and a nice presentation of the main course at dinner, it is not a 4 star hotel.
There is no 24h room service, no kids corner, no playground, rooms are not super clean and the pool area is freezing cold. Furniture should be renewed and breakfast should be improved! As for dinner, main course and dessert were always good ( meat was excellent), apero and appetizer need improvements.
We had to clean the parking space ourself from snow in order to get the car out and we had to specifically request the vacuum cleaning of our room floor (????).
All in all it is a good 3 star hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanielaEgianluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The service is good. Personnel was very friendly and accommodating since we had a 3 month old baby with us. The furniture is somewhat outdated, the mattresses too soft. The hotel entry is quite a steep staircase (not so much fun with a stroller) but then they have an elevator inside. Food was good and tasty. Overall the cost benefit was good but I would not go there for a longer period or if you want a truly four star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoroJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Cresta Sun while attending a 5-day conference in the Davos conference center. The hotel is just a 3 minute walk from the center and right about mid-distance between Davos Dorf and Davos Platz train stations. I believe it has just about 45 rooms spread over 3 levels. It has a tiny lift, which not many people seem to use, so its adequate.
We booked the room with half-board, so had buffet breakfast and a 3-4 course dinner each night. Breakfast had a bread table, cold cuts and cheese, cereal, yoghurt and fruit. There were also warm eggs and sausages, and a few other warm dishes that you could order. We had breakfast every day and soon got to know the wait staff well. They were friendly and always attentive. They seemed to be working all the time!
The rooms were small, but enough to stay in for a business trip. A small study table, many power point outlets and a good sized bathroom. Heating was good too. I was lucky enough to have a room with the view of a nearby mountain.. I wish I knew which mountain it was. But that room was the furthest from the lift. The rooms aren't fully soundproof though, I could hear my neighbour's tap and flush sometimes, but this didn't really bother me.

Our only issue was the very erratic WiFi signal. Some of my colleagues had no issue with the Wifi so we concluded that the Wifi signal was worse further from the centre of the hotel. I ended up using the WiFi from the conference center as it was much more stable.

Some of my more active colleagues stayed in the dining room till late at night having drinks, and the wait staff patiently served them until my colleagues were tired enough to go to sleep. Never were my colleagues asked to leave or to settle the bill earlier than they wanted to. Impressive service!

Overall, we had a pretty good stay, in what was a comfortable and efficient business hotel.

Room Tip: The last/corner room on each floor overlooks the main road, which is quiet, and have a view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpJump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at the cresta studios for a week in November 2013 while attending a conference. The studios are very clean, and functionable, bathroom is compact with a good shower, and there was plenty of room in the studio for storing clothes etc. i stayed in a downstairs apartment with a balcony looking out at the mountains and a park. The railway was also behind the studio but I didn't notice any noise. The studios have a tv, a cooker and utensils. If you telephone the hotel in advance they will send a courtesy bus to collect you from the train station (which if coming from Zurich you get off at the davos-platz station), which was great in the snow and the driver was fantastic, very helpful and friendly. I booked breakfast at the hotel which is a basic continental breakfast. The staff at the hotel were also fantastic, very friendly and helpful.

The main shopping and dining area in Davos is up the hill behind the conference centre (located in the middle of davos), the tourist office is near the sports centre opposite the co-op garage. About 5minutes walk from hotel cresta.

The hotel also gave me a pass that allowed free transport throughout davos, while I didn't have time to use it, it would be very useful in ski season. Davos is as expected expensive but the hotel cresta is good value with friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having actually lived in Davos opposite the Cresta Sun for several years it was a natural choice for a family ski week. Buffet breakfast: great. Reception help: great. Restaurant: good. Parking: sometimes difficult and costs extra. Bar: nice. Location - Central between Jakobshorn (Davos Plat and Parsenn (Davos Dorf) with free and plentiful buses from outside the hotel. Nice views (for Davos) across the Golf Course area to Dischma. The staff are extremely good and the maid called us once we left to say my son had left his ipod in the room. They then sent it to us. Very honest and very nice.

Because they had run out of rooms we were put in one of their appartments. They are several 100m away from the hotel. You feel totally cut off - all the hotel conveniences (especially in common winter temparatures of -12C or so) are a way off and the appartments were noisy (right next to the railway) or very hot (underfloor heating poorly controlled) depending if you opend the windows or not. No maid unless you paid extra, and not real kitchen (just a hot plate). Either insist on a hotel room or go and rent a proper appartment for cheaper.

In conclusion, as a hotel a recommendation, good value for Davos, but steer clear of the appartments to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Do not go for the appartments. My ratings are for the appartments, not the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenCZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A hotel that's worth it's 4 stars. Rooms that are well arranged and kept clean, an extensive breakfast buffet, and every evening a fine 4-course meal, with some options. The hotel is situated In the middle between Davos-Dorf and Davos-Platz, but the free busses, which drive with a swiss accuracy, compensate that fully. The hotel has also it's own shuttle-service to the ski-slopes. Wi-Fi, although paying, didn't function always as I wished. The parking-place near the hotel was sufficient, but when the hotel is fully booked, it could be too small. Fully recommended for those who want to ski in Davos or have to be in the nearby Congress Centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cresta
Hotel Cresta
#47 of 56 in Davos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meierhof Davos
Hotel Meierhof Davos
#32 of 56 in Davos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casanna
Hotel Casanna
#28 of 56 in Davos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Club Hotel Davos
Club Hotel Davos
#11 of 56 in Davos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunda
Bunda
#30 of 56 in Davos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cresta Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cresta Sun

Property: Hotel Cresta Sun
Address: Talstrasse 52, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cresta Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cresta Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing