We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic hotel - good location”
Review of Hotel Drei Konige

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Drei Konige
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Clean, basic hotel - good location”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We were uncertain about staying here because of a few negative things we read on Trip Advisor, but we found the hotel to be just what we needed and were pleased. We arrived in the evening on the Bernina Express from Italy and needed to stay one night in Chur before heading onto Germany by train the next day. The hotel is close to the train station. We took a cab because it was raining and we had luggage to deal with. I believe some rooms had a shared bath, but we had a bathroom which was quite clean and a nice size. The room was a nice size with basic furnishings and clean. Nice breakfast in the morning. Staff was very nice and helpful. Price reasonable for Switzerland. You do need to walk up a flight of stairs to the reception area which was an effort with the luggage, but doable. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a bath - not shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    50
    54
    18
    4
See reviews for
26
50
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thredbo Village, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

On our way from Como to Zurich I wanted my friends to experience the history and tradition of Chur and this hotel was in the perfect location for a walk through the old town and yet close to plenty of good shops.

Room Tip: Rooms were a bit basic but this was easily compensated for by the friendly staff and excellent locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paluski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before and my opinion still remains the same that it is a good quality hotel in a well positioned part of the old town with easy access to the bus and rail stations. Plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. My room was a double for single use: no view out of the window but the room itself was clean, light and airy with some nice furniture including two small armchairs, a desk and a full length mirror. The bathroom was small but functional, the bed was comfy and the duvet not too warm: the room was centrally heated. The main drawback for those with more than just a small suitcase is the fact that the reception is on the first floor with quite a few stairs up and no lift till you get there. The hotel restaurant was good but of course Swiss prices and the breakfasts were fine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, great breakfast and restaurant. Crapy internet. Really close to everything and short walk from train station. We only speak English and the staff was very Friendly and helpful, and they did speak a little English which was very helpful. There are a lot of local shops near by which has made the stay fun.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cbre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very good position in the centre of the old city. Nice staff, our double room was average size on the fourth floor with a Nice view on the mountains. Clean but no shampoo and very little -poor quality- soap/shower gel. Bathroom was very spacious. Nice big free breakfast. Free public parking during the night but no reservation allowed and you have to pay during the day (except on sunday). Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillPoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is well-located, in the middle of Chur and no more than 10 minutes' walk from the railway station. The staff are very friendly. The WiFi is free and reliable. Unfortunately, these are the only positive things I can say about this dreadful hotel.

The hotel is old and gloomy, and desperately in need of refurbishment. The walls are paper-thin, and it's possible to hear everything that goes on in the neighbouring rooms. You can hear your neighbours' conversations, you can tell which television channel they're watching, you can hear them walk about the room on the creaky floorboards, you can hear them trying to get the key in the lock when they come in late, you can hear them having sex. (And, of course, that means they can hear you, too). If your neighbour has booked a 5am alarm call then you will be woken up at that time too. The windows are old and the noise from the street can be considerable late into the night.

I had booked a room without private bathroom, as this had worked well at other hotels in Switzerland. However, at this hotel it was a mistake. Just one tiny shower room for the entire floor, a long way from my room, with no shower gel or shampoo.

On the night I stayed there was a large tour group staying for one night before taking the Bernina Express the following morning. They were extremely noisy in the corridors, showing no consideration for other guests. At breakfast they almost completely occupied the restaurant, meaning that there were very long lines for coffee, juice and the buffet. Other guests had to share tables: as it turned out, I shared my table with a very pleasant Canadian couple, but I would have preferred not to have to share a table at all.

The hotel was very cheap but I would not stay here again if it were free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chur hotels

Menton, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped here for one night on a journey from Italy back to the UK. Arrived late at night - guy at reception was friendly and helpful. Hotel is a littel tired / old in the common parts - but room wasOK.Good, central location. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't forget to order the parking voucher at reception if you leave your car parked on the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post Chur
Hotel Post Chur
#5 of 13 in Chur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Chur
ibis Chur
#3 of 13 in Chur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABC Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambiente Hotel Freieck
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Stern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chur
Hotel Chur
#7 of 13 in Chur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Drei Konige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drei Konige

Property: Hotel Drei Konige
Address: Reichsgasse 18, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Drei Konige 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Drei Konige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drei Konige Hotel
Drei Konige Chur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing