We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable & relaxing refuge.”
Review of Hotel Chur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chur
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A comfortable & relaxing refuge.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We drove up the Rhone Valley from Monthey in non-stop rain and climbed over the 2500 m Furka pass in driving rain and mist, but very aware of the lethal drop just inches off the highway. Having crossed from west to east of the country in constant rain, the sun came out as we approached Chur. We found Hotel Chur by chance and were delighted by the spacious and comfortable room and by the helpfulness of the staff. Excellent food revived us. Chur is Switzerland's oldest city and is a delight, being among the mountains but quite sophisticated as well. Hotel Chur is a family-run hotel, no bargains, not flash, but very comfortable, clean and friendly, with a safe ambiance. We'd go back with pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, meaning the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandlizhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    31
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
25
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is in a great location in easy walking distance to the old town. There are heaps of really interesting quaint little alleys and walkways to explore. It was great to have car parking for hotel guests. The breakfast was only average, but we had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was very good. We found it interesting that there was hardly anything open on a Sunday. We were also grateful that we had a room located on the front of the building, not on the river side because the river was in flood and very noisy.

Room Tip: Suggest not on the river if there has been a lot of rain and the river is in flood - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam and Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We checked into this hotel for a one night stay prior to a train trip through the Alps. Fortunately, I had stopped at the TI at the train station and had the attendant show me the hotel on the map or we would have been wandering for quite a while. The reception area is up one level from the street and the is NO LIFT. Our room was up another 2 floors. We were told that there was going to be a wedding dinner in the dining room. I asked if it would be a party too and if the wedding guests were staying in the hotel ans was assured that it was just a dinner.

Our room was quite small with sloping ceilings - it was a good thing that both my spouse and I are fairly short. It was clean and the beds were okay.

We had been travelling for a few days and fell into bed early only to be awakened to the sounds of a very lively and noisy wedding party at 11:30 PM that lasted into the wee hours of the morning. There was no one at the front desk and the wedding guests were just having a good ole time. Finally, one guest went down and yelled at the wedding party to leave.

The dinner at the hotel was average. The entire evening was very expensive. Our reservation had a non-cancelation clause or we would have considered not checking in when we arrived. When I said something to the reception desk in the morning about the party, etc, the woman said nothing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel was in a good location and the staff was nice.
The beds were the worst i have ever slept in. It was not as close to the train station as they say. Breakfast was bad, not much to choose from. Very very expensive for what you get.
It is on the river, but it is so loud you cant sleep with the window open. The internet was supposed to work in the rooms, it did not ! only in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habbenb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chur hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2010

The hotel is located in the beautiful old town and provides parking for hotel guests. Rooms should have been renovated 10 years ago and if you are visiting Chur a hot summer day, you will miss the air condition. It is not possible to sleep with open windows due to traffic but if the heat does not bother you, the windows are well isolated. Beds are comfortable and room in general clean.
Breakfast was not such a positive experience, the service was not sufficient and tables full of dirty dishes, tea only available upon request from a stressed young waitress. The coldcuts were all out and the options in general very standard. No fresh cut fruits or extras.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hotel Chur was a very average hotel. The young man at the reception assisted us through reservation and was very polite. The room was average sized, but clean. There was some problem with the heaters though, and they took time to rectify it. The location is not very great. Moreover, the staff didnt have enough informations about 'must visit' places.
The hotel;s restaurant was good and the breakfast was also good. Overall, it is an average hotel, not very great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhuvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Hotel Chur was by no way the best place i've stayed but it was reasonable. Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good. We arrived very last minute but managed to get a room quite easily & the young man at the front desk was helpful enough.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenLaaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Post Chur
Hotel Post Chur
#5 of 13 in Chur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambiente Hotel Freieck
0.4 mi away
ABC Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
ibis Chur
ibis Chur
#3 of 13 in Chur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Stern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige
Hotel Drei Konige
#9 of 13 in Chur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chur

Property: Hotel Chur
Address: Welschdoerfli 2, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chur 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Chur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing