We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stay in Chur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Stern
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Certificate of Excellence
Kent England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good overnight stay in Chur”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here overnight after travelling from Lucerne to Chur, purely to pick up the Bernina Express in the morning.

Staff very friendly and helpful on check in and had a very big room in the "loft" of the adjoining older building.

Hotel is very clean and a big plus was the roof terrace on the main older building to get some last few hours of Swiss sun on the sun beds as the day went on.

Breakfast was a bit limited but I think it largely caters for the people joining the early morning rush to the station for the train ride.

However, couldn't fault it , clean, good room size and friendly staff would recommend it for an overnight stay.

Churis expensive though so make sure you have plenty CHF.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeShaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    173
    58
    15
    7
See reviews for
42
184
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were looking for a traditional Swiss restaurant and found it! The menu included traditional and classical dishes, as well as dishes with a modern twist. The food was very tasty, well presented and the service efficient and friendly. Expensive but highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is typical European, and very good, great location (just outside of old town and down the street from the train station). it is expensive but they have deals during off peak months.

Room Tip: Avoid high peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverstarz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

What a charming little hotel, on entering the reception you are greeted with a smile and very welcoming. The hotel is a typical swiss hotel just what you would have imagined. We arrived late and the owner/manager asked us if we would like a drink he showedn us to the bar and then took our luggage upp to our rooms.
The room is clean and quite spacious with everything you need for a good nights rest.
This hoteis situated right in the centre of town.
Whe i next have to go n business i will again stay at the Romantik.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel was built in the 1600s and is well maintained and very clean. The staff is very helpful, and accommodating. The hotel does not have AC and the windows in our first room (a suite) only opened about an inch. We moved to a smaller room where the windows opened completely and were happier. We did hear noise of people walking down the hall and TVs from our room, as well as a lot of street noise from having the windows open. The hotel includes a nice breakfast and is in easy walking distance to the train station. I felt the linens were a bit worn.

Room Tip: Since there is no AC, ask about windows opening as this may be more of a concern during summer month...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGC_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked a "Superior" room from the hotel website, having noted it's location in the city of Chur, and the amenities offered. Upon arrival we were shown to the R5 "new" building which has no elevator, no tea making facilities in the room, and no Internet connection. We raised our concerns with the very pleasant woman who checked us in and we were immediately provided with a more spacious and comfortable room in the "old" building, which has an elevator, tea making facilities, but still no Internet connection.
The extras that come with this hotel all come at a cost, or an inconvenience. For guests needing a shower cap, you have to contact reception and ask for one. If you want to leave your baggage after you check out there is a cost of CHF5, to replace sheets on a daily basis CHF8, an umbrella on a wet day CHF8, and if you want an Internet connection the cost is CHF30 per 24 hour period. In virtually every other hotel we have stayed in over many years these extras are not charged for, particularly the Internet, which is today akin to asking a guest to pay for the water and electricity they used during their stay.
On the upside, the breakfast was adequate and would appeal to most appetites, and the room that we did spend our two nights in was clean and comfortable, the bathroom also clean with all amenities in good order.

Room Tip: Avoid the R5 section of the hotel which is across a small courtyard in another building, and clarify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCHMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice hotel between the quite busy 'new town & railway station area' and the old town. Layout of the hotel and the rooms are a bit quirky. Our room opened out onto the stairs and looked out over the small car park, but not a real problem. Part of a Great Railway Journeys tour so not directly of our choosing. Food was good and even though we were on a group tour of 41 people we were offered a choice of menu for each dinner. Breakfast was a good buffet, constantly replenished. Had a good restaurant on site but we were not able to try it being on a tour and our one night 'off' we went to the La Vita Italian restaurant almost next door which we can recommend. Suck your teeth at the price of wine, though in the hotel and in the restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post Chur
Hotel Post Chur
#5 of 13 in Chur
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABC Swiss Quality Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ambiente Hotel Freieck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ibis Chur
ibis Chur
#3 of 13 in Chur
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige
Hotel Drei Konige
#9 of 13 in Chur
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chur
Hotel Chur
#7 of 13 in Chur
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Stern

Property: Romantik Hotel Stern
Address: Reichsgasse 11, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Chur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome and thank you for your interest in our Romantic Hotel Stern. We would like to take you on a tour, so you can experience living history as a guest. Discover our house and let yourself be inspired to come and stay with us. We look forward to hearing from you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Romantik Hotel Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Chur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing