We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Hotel Franziskaner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Franziskaner
Ranked #1 of 5 Chur B&B and Inns
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I can only review the excellent Restaurant at this hotel, which was recommended to us, as we were staying at a different hotel. We went back on four occasions and each time we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. A real Alpine feel to the place, candles on the table and a lovely warm atmosphere. The waiting staff were very friendly, especially the waiter who spoke excellent English. Perhaps one of the waitresses would like to smile a bit more!
I can really recommend this restaurant, good staff, excellent food and a lovely atmosphere - what more could we ask for?!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBoxerDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Level Contributor
546 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

- located approximately 10 minutes walk from the train station
- polite, helpful stuff
- functional wifi
- clean shared bathroom
- tasty breakfest (ham, salami, fresh bread, cheese, müsli)
- it was very quiet during my whole stay, so I could sleep with opened window

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbbrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our trip to Chur, Switzerland was a little bit of a downer. Sadly, it was raining all day and since we were there on a Sunday, the Giger Bar (which I had wanted to visit desperately) was closed. Luckily, the staff at the Hotel Franziskaner helped make our Chur stay worth it! The rooms were clean, and they let us borrow an adapter so we could charge our phones that we hadn't been able to charge in days (Switzerland plugs are different from all of Europe apparently!). The nicest part of our stay was the little fondue place next door, which was owned by the restaurant. One of the staff members talked to us for a little bit, and he was really nice -- super delicious too! Later that night, he even offered to make us a packed breakfast because we were leaving earlier than the breakfast serving time the next day. So if you plan on making the trek to Chur, I highly recommend this place. 10 minute walk from the train station, and located in a cute little square across from an excellent chocolate shop, this place was very comfortable and accommodating!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed on a Friday. The hotel was clean and nice. But, unless you sleep thru anything, stay elsewhere. Bone jarring base music was shaking the walls from the animals partying in the street until literally 4:30 in the morning. After that it was only the occasional mindless howls of drunks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Churhaslotsofdrunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chur hotels

Bellflower, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I was surprise at the reviews that I have read about the Hotel Franziskanner. (FYI, we were there in May 2010). We were fortunate to have a room on the 1st floor (our 2nd), so no lift would be my only objection in returning. We had a room with bath and with hardwood floors and what I would call Danish Modern furniture. At that time, there was no problem with noise, as stated by some reviewers. Some reviewers have also commented on the staff's attitude. I don't know; we expect professionalism and courtesy and, of course, a smile is nice; but we don't expect anyone to fawn over us.

We arrived in Chur at 9 p.m. during a light rain and walked from the train station. We were very glad that the hotel had a restaurant because we were hungry! That was our only meal there because it was expensive.

During our one-full day in Chur, we rode the train to Filisur and then walked on the trail to the viewing platform to see trains on the Landwasser Viaduct, a UNESCO world heritage site. In fact the our train ran on the viaduct. Afterward, when we arrived back at the Chur train station, my husband spotted a train to Sargans and we decided to go to Liechenstein for lunch. Once in Sargans, we took the little green buses to Vaduz. The buses go to a very, modern touristy area. If you're thinking of going to Liechenstein for the day, I would advise going early and taking a tour. The Tourist Information office is on the site where the buses leave tourists. Or, you could drive. While we were there, we had a delicious lunch, but didn't get to see the real Liechenstein.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed one night, in the renovated rooms adjacent to the hotel. The rooms were spartan and clean, but the hotel failed its primary function: sleeping. The hallways sounded like a soundtrack from a prison movie, with incessant clanging, clomping, stomping and slamming. There was even more noise from the street, as you could hear party goers laughing and reveling into the morning. Beware of any hotel in which the cab driver tells you as he drives you to the entrance, "This is not a good hotel."

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzera11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
655 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel is in the pedestrian part of the old own. Not easy to find, but you can walk to it from the train station. The rooms are roomy, palin and clean. Some of the staff was far from friendly and every request was a bother. They booking services don't mention taht some rooms are in an annex across the street and in the back. The back rooms are over a back street. They have no hair dryers and no A/C. The breakfast was a good buffet. Room was expensive. The old town attraction and some nice restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: Get there early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Post Chur
Hotel Post Chur
#5 of 13 in Chur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Chur
ibis Chur
#3 of 13 in Chur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambiente Hotel Freieck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Drei Konige
Hotel Drei Konige
#9 of 13 in Chur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Swiss Quality Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chur
Hotel Chur
#7 of 13 in Chur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franziskaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franziskaner

Property: Hotel Franziskaner
Address: Kupfergasse 18, Chur 7000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Chur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Franziskaner 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Franziskaner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing