We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bad news here”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Misani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Misani
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Celerina
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bad news here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

You do not get much here for your money. Ridiculously overpriced for student type accommodation. Basic, but admittedly clean, small rooms in an almost rabbit warren of a building with no lifts and no room telephones that rendered complaints or contact with the font desk a fair undertaking. A plea for a simple iron turned down without explanation although there was one in the house. Breads and coffee for breakfast minimalistic aware of the top dollar paid. The front of house were otherwise reasonably helpful. Would not stay here again unless I was charged backpacker rates. However having said that I suspect the hospitality industry in the whole town has a such a self inflated view of itself it charges what it likes for those soles silly enough to venture here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sisisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    56
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
19
86
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed here for a friends wedding. Hotel etc was ok. Bread & butter for breakfast fine (as you'd expect). We asked in advance for irons etc to be in our rooms as we had 4 outfits each to be done for the wedding. This was refused. We then asked to use their maid's facility. This too was refused but were told they would help us out in house for no charge. Our clothes were not returned to us until after the bus to the wedding was due to leave and after we left the hotel they charged us £75 for laundry. When I complained about this as one of the staff members obviously lied to us and said I did not authorise the payment from my card, I recieved a very rude email from the hotel & they charged us anyway. I would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liboir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

Actually we stayed there in December 2004 but I cant click that year here.
But really want to warn everyone: The Management is only greedy and not customer-
orientated.
We booked a standard room, which are all of different designs and look great in the web.
But after arrival we were shown to a small chamber of max. 10 sqare meters in an
adjacent building. Looked much worse than in a hostel and was surely an accommodation for staff.
The management obviously just wanted to cash in and take advantage of the many reservations for Silvester week.
We travel a lot, but this Hotel was my worst experience so far!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruibok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

Rooms:
Quiet, interesting styling, every room is different. (e.g. japanese, indian) Pretty small, especially the bathroom.
No TV available! No window shutter (gets bright early in the morning). Beds are extremly tiny, I measure 1.85m (6 feet) and couldn't avoid my feet hanging out.

Food:
The buffet is advertised as being open until 4 p.m. which may be true but is useless for the following reason: The buffet consists of bread and butter/honey/jam only. The bread is extremely tasty, but there are no fruit, no orange-juice self-service, no cereals, no birchermusli, not even toast, scramble eggs or bacon. This is without a doubt the poorest buffet I have seen in my life!

The food in the evening was delicious however! Although at 38 CHF overpriced.

Additional service:
There are a number of good ideas to entertain the guests, but they aren't thought through. E.g. there is a "fundus" where many things can be borrowed, but most of them are useless. For example, there is some sort of a guitar, with one string only (rest broken), a neck-roll, but no card games. You can instead borrow the hamster for one night (no joke!!!), or a track for car racing.
Parking costs about 10CHF per 24hours.
No swimming pool or any other wellness. No sport.

Completely overpriced!

  • Liked — Funny styled rooms
  • Disliked — Buffet was next to inexistent
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Critic08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

The Misani also has 2 BR/2bath self-catering apartments for rent. There is a separate rental contract. Perfect for a family or group of friends. Grocery shopping at various stores in the area is fun but bring your own bags and be prepared to recycle. There are laundry rooms with washers and dryers available. Bus stop is outside the hotel and goes to St. Moritz. Train station is within walking distance to take you to Pontresina, and other places for hikes/skiing. Front desk was helpful. We never did find any other suite acommodations during our Swiss trip.

  • Liked — Lots of space in the apartment and away from the road noise.
  • Disliked — One bedroom and bathroom were very small but 2 baths in Switzerland!!! No phone--they gave us a
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michy77ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2004

If you like design hotels, this is a must. Like anything in Switzerland, it is expensive and the standard rooms are small, but very clean (like anything in Switzerland). If you like design, it is probably worth paying a little extra for the design rooms which are bigger. The nouvelle cuisine food, very un-swiss, is excellent. The comfort is basic (the principle of the hotel) but the hotel has a particular nice, warm & friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Koen from Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2004

Stayed in August 2003 in a delux room - Theming was fun although the room was not that large there was no bath and you are expected to pay for extras like a TV...Food was however excellent both the evening curry and the huge and varied breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celerina
0.2 mi away
All In One Hotel Inn Lodge
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch
#1 of 9 in Celerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cresta Palace Hotel
Cresta Palace Hotel
#2 of 9 in Celerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotelino Petit Chalet
Hotelino Petit Chalet
#4 of 9 in Celerina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Brauerei Hotel-Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Misani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misani

Property: Hotel Misani
Address: Via Maistra 70, Celerina 7505, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Celerina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Celerina
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Misani 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Misani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misani Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing