We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, outstanding food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Celerina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is composed of 4 old Engadin houses connected something that gives the establishment a very special and unique touch. The rooms are rather small but very nicely decorated and functional. The staff is very friendly and the location is perfect, 5 minutes from railway station and on the side of the Inn river. The real hit are however the two restaurants, in particular the Stüvas, offering local products and an amazing culinary experience. Why not 5 stars? Well, the room we stayed was just above the restaurant and suffered from the noise of the sliding door of the cuisine! Next time we will ask explicitly to avoid room 101 and increase the rating! It will be deserved!

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 above the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 403 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

A very lovely Swiss Hotal on the banks of a flowing river in the charming Engadina valley. There is so much to do here in summer - certainly not just a winter holiday place. The hotel is excellent, our room was a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen and was wonderful given we were a family of 4.

The staff were marvellous - every one of them. From the wonderful welcome at check-in on arrival to the lunch/dinner/bar staff, we couldn't really have asked for anything more.

Food quality is excellent. Breakfast a vast assortment of freshly baked breads, croissants, fresh fruit, cold meats, smoked salmon, cereals, jams, freshly made smoothies and pressed juices as well as cooked food to order...

Dinner is also a treat with a large choice of different steak cuts, thin-base pizzas, pastas, hamburgers, salads...and all of excellent quality.

The hotel is a pleasant 2 1/2k walk along the river to St. Moritz as well as easy distance to the cable cars / trains which take you up the mountains for the many hiking trails / mountain bike routes in the area. The hotel provided us with lift-passes to use during our stay which was a wonderful added extra. The hotel also offers good advice on where to go, what to see and has a room for bike storage as well as providing an area to maintain your bikes after a good ride. There is a bike shop a short walk into Celerina for any urgent supplies.

Frankly, if you are looking for something of an active summer break close to St. Moritz then you won't go far wrong if you choose to stay here. The only "negative" point is the lack of swimming pool but there is a sauna / steam room located inside the hotel.

All in all wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Upon our arrival, the staff was very helpful. They showed us a map of the area with tips of what to do and see. The room was nice and clean. And, the breakfast was delicious. Lots of hot and cold items to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunnerHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel is located right by ski. It is a beautiful 5 minutes max walk. The ski is great, but expensive. The room is the best part. But staff is not flexible to answer customer demands.
The Hotel is a great deal for skiers wanting to experience St Moritz, but with a less classy staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teemu8, General Manager at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Mr. ...

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

Compared to other premium Skiing Destinations in the European Alps, the value-for-money ratio at Engadin St. Moritz is absolutely fine. New in the 2012/13 winter season: Book two nights or more at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch and you can purchase a ski pass for just CHF 25.– per person/day for the duration of your stay.

Our staff usually is very flexible. Unfortunately we were not able confirm your wish of a free-of-charge early-departure for economic reasons. In this case we were not flexible to answer your demand.

We hope our tips and hints about the Engadin-Skiing paradise topped your expectations! We are glad to hear that you had great fun on the slopes.

Would be nice to have you back at our place for some more skiing soon.

Kind regards,

Michael Stutz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed out of season towards the end of October. Unfortunately the weather was bad, but the hotel on the Inn river is particularly charming. The staff both at the reception and in the breakfast room were very nice, helpful and friendly. We had a room with a balcony on the river. It also has a terrace from the breakfast room on the river. The room was small but fully furnished including a safe and satellite tv, free wi-fi on all the premises.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonbon55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Love this hotel, stay there every year in winter and hope to stay now in summer too. The location is splendid - just 5 minutes walk or a gratis bus to the slopes. Wonderful view on a small river from the windows. Comfortable two-floor rooms with a balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0_Shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teemu8, Manager at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear N0_Shu

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very glad you enjoyed your holidays at Hotel Chesa Rosatsch and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Have a great time.

Cordiels saluds

Michael Stutz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Situated in a quiet place on the Inn, lovely looking hotel in traditional and historical houses. Nice two-floor woody room. Good and pleasant restaurants. A little far from slopes by foot but direct transfer by bus and easy car parking. Lovely but expensive region.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smonnerot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celerina
0.3 mi away
All In One Hotel Inn Lodge
0.3 mi away
Cresta Palace Hotel
Cresta Palace Hotel
#2 of 8 in Celerina
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotelino Petit Chalet
Hotelino Petit Chalet
#4 of 8 in Celerina
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Donatz
Hotel Donatz
#1 of 5 in Samedan
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
Hotel Waldhaus Am See
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
333 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food

Address: Via San Gian 7, Celerina 7505, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Celerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Celerina
Price Range: $231 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The Hotel Chesa Rosatsch in Celerina is constantly gaining more friends, as it perfectly unites what guests love when they decide to spend vacations in the Upper Engadine. Hidden in the center of a world famous village, directly on the equally well known Inn River with an offer that leaves no wishes unanswered. As they work the hosts are mindful of the values which are highly appreciated by the guests: Authenticity and a guest-friendly ambience which amaze and create excitement. Each of the 37 rooms in the three historic houses and the ”Chesa al Flüm”, which has been added in 1996, is individually designed. Indigenous materials and love for details create a great sense of well-being. Small house – great kitchen! The restaurant “Uondas” and the restaurant “Stüvas Rosatsch” are receiving great praise from guests and reviewers alike. Home matured Engadine “madürà-meat” or surprising creations which are in accord with the principles of slow food – the choice is yours. Everything that is necessary to be all around happy. Small wellness, lounge with a fireplace and the InnBAR with smoker’s corner. An hommage to the U.S. “Speak Easy” – Bars during the prohibition of the 1920 and 1930. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chesa Rosatsch - Home of Food reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Celerina
Celerina Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing