We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for a Skiing holiday and took the dog she was as spoilt as us.
The food in all the restaurants was excellent, the staff helpful and a lovely resort.
We have stayed here before and every time had a good experience.
The hotel is relaxing and would recommend this hotel.
We have stayed at others in Arosa but this is undoubtedly the best.

Room Tip: We had a suite ...lots of room especially for the dog and a sunny south facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    35
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
106
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just came back from a wonderful week at the Kulm. Fantastic location - we had a south-facing room with balcony and an amazing view across a valley...we could see extreme skiers coming down an umarked track lying comfortably in our bed...Service is outstanding, the staff is extremely gracious and the management (Mr. Salamin) extremely competent and omni-present. Lovely spa with great pool and countless saunas, steam bath, kneipp parcours etc...We travelled with a three-year old, who did not want to leave the awesome (supervised) kid's club. Slopes right opposite the hotel, free ski-school for our little one...Excellent food in all restaurants (choice of more formal dining room, family-style restaurant, Thai or Stuva Kulmn across the road). Comparing it to the Tchuggen (where we also stayed a few years back), the atmosphere here seems to be more relaxed and family-minded. Can only recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Pinto_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel beginning of March 2013 and it was just perfect. The rooms are big and have a small balcony, the view is just gorgious. Service and staff are very friendly. Lifts and ski school are just across the street, the SPA is a blast. Food quality (as always in Switzerland) is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starshine8274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is our favourite mountain resort hotel. The experience of our recent stay however was somewhat tainted by the disappointing dining experience, both in terms of food and services. The new management (this is the third management team we experienced) introduced a “dine around concept” and claimed that it offers more options, we felt the contrary. While there is a different menu each evening, guests have only one other option for the main course if they don’t like what’s on the menu. Except for Friday when the main course is fish, the a-la-carte menu only offers one fish and one vegetarian dish. Further, all main courses (whether meat or fish) are served with the same side dish. I felt that the new concept is to limit the workload in the kitchen.
The service personnel in the restaurant seems untrained and dis-organised to us. Different servers asked us the same questions in numerous occasions. The worst is that many of them like to ask us questions when our mouth was full of food. Also, the servers are not familiar with the menu. They didn’t know what kind of vegetables would come with the dish, or the sort of sorbet / ice-creams available. I think this is quiet unusual for a restaurant of a five star hotel. I believe the management of the restaurant need serious improvement.

Also, we wanted to have fondue at the Piz Kulm which was advertised on their website. We were however told that the restaurant is only open when they have reservation for six guests or more. We found out from the management team that it was due to staffing constraints and hence they don’t really want to promote this restaurant. I noticed that this restaurant is not mentioned in their daily “Morning Post”. I wonder why they mention Piz Kulm at all!
The service at the bar could also be improved. The barmen seem not familiar with the drinks they offer and there were a few times when I had to show them the ingredients of a drink from the drink list.

We enjoyed the previous dining experience much more, it was more refined and elegant and more appropriate for a grand resort. That said, we continue to enjoy our experience at Ahaan Thai and Stuva Cuolm very much.

During our stay, there was a “fashion show” on one of the evenings at the bar / lounge area. We were “forced” to sit among the crowds in order to have a drink, as the Nosti-Bar was not manned. I felt that this is just another example of management trying to minimise effort, or perhaps there is really a staffing issue.

I still believe that Arosa Kulm is a comfortable resort overall. I hope that the management of the restaurant / bar will improve when we return next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalVeritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Kulm hotel in Arosa is a very nice hotel on a great location. Just across the street is a ski school and ski lifts. If you stand on the south balcony of you room you only see the mountains and the snow (february) and you feel you are in the middle of nowhere, but you in the middle of the lovely town of Arosa. Go to Arosa by train. The trip with the rhatische bahn is super. There is a lot of things to do for childeren in the hotel and the spa is lovely. Overall a very good 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buelach
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We are just packing after our 2013 winter holidays and are as ever convinced that this is one of the best winter sports hotel in Switzerland. The fact that we have been coming back every year since 1995 tells you already a lot ! The hotel has some significant trumps. First of all, its location closed to the slopes and the Tschuggen Lift makes ski-on and ski-off very easy. Then it offers all the amenities you can expect from a 5 star hotel, good rooms, various restaurants (no stuffy "dining room"), swimming pool and spa, sauna, fitness, kindergarten etc. etc.Above all I would, however, mention the very professional and extremely friendly staff. You come back after 12 months and find the same smiling faces giving you a welcome hug and going out of their way to make your winter holidays just as pleasant and memorbable as all the ones before. We shall certainly be back in 2014 !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eckertsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been coming to Arosa since 1980' but have usually stayed in Chur and taken the train to surrounding ski areas, including Arosa for day-trips during a weeklong stay in Switzerland often. This time, I brought several friends from the US and we stayed at the Kulm for 3 days. The hotel was really preferred by the entire group, especially after staying at a famous 5 star hotel in Zermatt for 4 days just before arriving in Arosa. Everyone thought the service was better at the Kulm, the rooms were more quiet and spacious, the bathrooms were modern and spotlessly clean, the beds very comfortable, the concierge staff and front desk clerks very well trained and attentive to our individual and group needs. We occupied rooms 156, 158, 160, and 256. All were very spacious and quiet. The price was a bit steep, and comparable to Zermatt, but the rooms were far better in the Klum, Arosa. We plan to skip zermatt next year and come back to Arosa and the Kulm in mid January with a larger group. The proximity to the slopes was also ideal. No complaints at all. Met the general manager on the train ride home,quite by chance. Very personable and experienced. He is apparently on the national hotel review commission and was enroute to zermatt to help rank several hotels there for their quality rankings, so is apparently a seasoned hospitality expert. He runs the Kulm with the same attention to detail, a true five star experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#4 of 34 in Arosa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#5 of 34 in Arosa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#21 of 34 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Altein
Hotel Altein
#19 of 34 in Arosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa

Property: Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
Address: Innere Poststrasse, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#2 Family Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa:charming. Since 1882 - Welcome homeThe charming Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa lies 1,850 metres above sea level, surrounded by the impressive Swiss mountain landscape in Arosa, Graubunden/Grisons. In its prime location on a slight elevation in the quiet inner part of the village and with its stylish diversity, the Hotel offers a unique Alpine atmosphere and is ideal for romantic weekends, family holidays or exceptional corporate events alike. 119 Rooms and suites, six different restaurants, two bars and six function rooms are inviting places for cosy moments, interesting meetings and culinary pleasures. There is plenty of sensuality and relaxation to be found in the alpinspa, a holistic place that embodies a unique and inspiring world of water and Alpine wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosa Kulm Hotel And Alpin Spa
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Arosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing